We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - avoid like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible - avoid like the plague”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Found most of the staff's attitudes to be terrible. 3 times another guest was given a key to our room, when this was complained about they couldn't have been less helpful or apologetic.

Hotel evacuated in the middle of our first night, 4 & a half hours before we could re-enter, told to go and wait in a nearby hotel (Ibis) who refused us entry.

Other customers initially told to go & book alternative accommodation which would be refunded by Hampton (luckily we couldn't as cards still in room) but when they presented receipts they were told that the manager had had retracted this offer as they were . Witnessed a couple arguing about this being told that police would be called if they didn't leave the hotel.

They had no warning signs in communal areas that were still wet from sprinkler when we were allowed back in, after slipping & complaining about this was told to "be more careful".

Serious concerns over their evacuation plans - no checks what so ever, I'd taken a sleeping tablet & managed to sleep through 20 minutes of their fire alarm, there was still guests exiting 10 minutes after we went outside while staff were more interested in arguing with customers who had come downstairs wrapped in duvets - trying to get them to leave them inside.

Still waiting on a response to 2 emails asking for refund.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Nelson M,

Myself and the Hampton Team would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for your co operation during the inconvenience that occurred during your stay.

This unfortunate situation was completely out of our hands but with a dedicated team and your support we were able to evacuate the hotel quickly and safely.

We were able to restore our hotel to full operation within hours and we would like to thank you once again for your patience and understanding during this crisis, a man was arrested for the criminal damage that was caused.

All of our guests were refunded for their stay, however, if your refund hasn’t been completed yet please contact me directly on 0151 702 6200 or louise.cross@hilton.com

Kindest Regards,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    1,091
    344
    101
    80
See reviews for
562
1,297
92
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

lovely room, would have preferred nicer view but had to pay for that. Think parking should be free for staying not £10 fee. Lovely clean room and bathroom Have to write 200 characters but not sure what else to put as only a one night stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank KJK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear KJK1966,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Liverpool.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback regarding our rooms, bathroom and cleanliness are greatly appreciated.

We do offer our guests the use of our underground secure car park, which is chargeable at £10.00 per day. We are pleased to also offer all of our guests a complimentary breakfast, free WIFI and access to our fitness suite during your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to inform us of your feedback about your stay as Customer Service is our number one priority and we do work extremely hard to ensure that we deliver a great stay for every guest.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The service we received was brilliant, our room was slightly delayed for booking in (my fault as I had requested an upgrade when we arrived and it wasn't ready) the receptionist was very chatty which put us at our ease and then the manager gave us a complimentary drink to apologise for the wait. I also have to mention the young man who works at breakfast time, he was very polite and asked us if everything was alright and were we enjoying our stay. For someone so young to take an interest when he was obviously so busy made our experience at the hotel even better. Would definitely recommend the hotel and we hope to go again when the weather is better. We stayed on the sixth floor facing the docks and it was very quiet. Internet connection in the room was good too, one of the best I have experienced from a hotel (without paying extra for it). Location was brilliant walking distance to the docks and to Liverpool one where all the shops and restaurants are. The hotel was built in 2010 so the decor are of a good standard.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear TraceyP,

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us in Liverpool.

It was a true pleasure for me and the team to welcome you to the hotel and assist you whilst with us; it is always a joy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us and even better when those guests become regular visitors that we recognise.

On reading your review it is warming to note that our staff assisted you with their outstanding customer service. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Liverpool City Centre and your thanks will be directed straight to the team, particularly the Duty Manager who assisted you and our fabulous Breakfast Assistant.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Staff Were very helpful. Rooms are modern and clean. Lovely Choice at breakfast and plenty of it. Added bonus was a gym. Super Location a stones throw away from the docks and a five minute walk into town.Would Defiantly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevondumplingsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear DevondumplingsDevon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback regarding our rooms, breakfast and cleanliness are greatly appreciated.

I am pleased that you found our location to be convenient and that the team assisted you with their outstanding customer service during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights Valentines weekend ( also my birthday) and was more than satisfied. Located at the Kings Dock which is next to the famous Albert Dock it is ideal for all the sights of Liverpool - all within walking distance. Albert Dock with it's many restaurants, Pier Head for the famous ferry, museums and the renowned Beatles Story are all here. Directly from here you can walk into the city and visit the Cavern Club - an absolute must! The L1 shopping centre is 5 mins from the Dock for those seeking a little retail therapy. Still within walking distance (approx 10/15 mins) we visited the beautiful Philharmonic Pub and Dining Rooms - again a must see. When we return to Liverpool we will certainly stay here. Along with the excellent location the hotel offers free hot breakfast, rooms well equipped and with a beautiful shower room with all your basic toiletry needs, a queen bed and a sofa and work desk. Excellent value.

Room Tip: We were on third floor giving us a fab view of the Albert Dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Janeds,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and their visit to our wonderful city. We are very proud of our location and it is fabulous to hear that you have been able to appreciate many of the tourist attractions that Liverpool has to offer.

Thank you for your comments about our complimentary breakfast and well equipped rooms. We are very committed to offering all of our guests the highest standard possible at the best value.

Once again I would like to personally thank you for your kind words about our Hotel and Liverpool, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked to stay at this hotel on the 13/02/14 and have to admit that it is a quality hotel for the price. The room is spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The buffet style breakfast is fantastic with lots to choose from. Will stay with this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for business in February 2014. The hotel is of a great standard, extremely modern, good size room with a comfortable bed. It is centrally located for the echo arena, Beatles story etc and has many restaurants just over the road on the docks. The underground car park is £10 per night and you can take the lift direct to your room from it.
Breakfast is a good quality with a large selection of hot/continental/fruit etc.
Wireless internet is free and included in your room although I was in room 633 which was right on the corner of the building and the signal was a little weak.
I used the gym which was small but there was never anyone in it so it was absolutely fine. A few cardio machines, free weights and a trx machine.
Liverpool One is only a 5-10min walk from the hotel so a great location.
The only thing I would say is the views from your room will not be great - I had a river view and I could see it, although there were numerous buildings and a large road in the way. This didn't bother me but don't go expecting a fab view, it may not be worth the extra money if you are staying for leisure.
Would 100% recommend to business and leisure travellers alike.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leila249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,509 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Property: Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Address: 7 Hurst Street | Kings Dock Mill, Liverpool L1 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location at Kings Mill Dock in the "Baltic Triangle" area, the Hampton by Hilton™ Liverpool City Centre hotel puts you near it all! We're close to Wapping, Salthouse, Canning and Albert docks, as well as the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. The Lime Street and James Street train stations are all less than three kilometers away, while Liverpool John Lennon Airport can be easily reached in minutes by car or coach transfer from Lime Street Station. Take a short walk from our Liverpool hotel and you'll experience the stunning architecture, exciting museums, world-class attractions, abundant nightlife and excellent dining this great city has to offer. If shopping is on the agenda, Liverpool ONE, a 1.65 million square-foot complex, is just steps from our Liverpool, UK hotel. The name "Liverpool" is also synonymous with football and we have two Premiership clubs, Everton and Liverpool, about five kilometers away. We're also just minutes from Aintree, home of the Grand National horse race. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool hotel puts world-famous attractions at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing