We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience. Ruined my birthday weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

What a terrible experience. And a very rude staff! Where is the customer service? ? Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my birthday, we booked the queen size room on the top floor, with the so called view, I mean what view? A massive building site.the beds were just normal, we were mislead.we also found the staff very very very rude and unhelpful! We paid so much money with it been a Saturday. I do feel really upset and dispointed, absolutely they ruined my birthday. Never stay here again.and would not recommend it to anyone! And by the way lam still waiting for that £20 we have to pay on the top of everything else they haven't refunded it yet.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nablackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Nablackford,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre.

We apologise that your check in was not of the standard you would expect. We pride ourselves on our customer service and we regret that you did not feel our service was as prompt or as friendly as it could have been.

Following your comments we have spoken to the team member who assisted you that day and have organised additional training so that this situation does not occur in the future.

Please rest assured that all comments are dealt with fully in order to prevent the same types of situations presenting themselves in the future.

Many rooms of our hotel offer fantastic views of Liverpool’s attractions and we’ve been advised that Liverpool City Council have even more exciting plans for our city in the future, including the site near our hotel.

The £20 is a pre authorisation and not a debit to your account, I can confirm it was released by the hotel on check out and the release time from your bank is subject to your banks administration time period. I apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We appreciate your thoughts and hope that you will choose to stay with us when you next visit Liverpool.

Kind Regards,

Louise Cross
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed in this Hotel for the first time, so as to 'try it out' not my ideal hotel, as i have gotten use to 5 star treatment.

However.........
The staff, excellent, very efficient very attentive, very well trained,as good if not better than their sister hotels in the city.

Nothing was a problem

Rooms, basic, but very, very high standard of fittings, big enough, bathroom large size, plenty of towels!!!

Bar area, clean efficient, good staff nice atmosphere and not the normal hotel bar 'rip off' prices

Restaurant, good basic food, good value for money, breakfast good spread nice food, well presented.

Hotel manager very switched on.

location very good.

Get higher rooms for an historice view

Room Tip: Bookm higher floor rooms for good views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsey g, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Howie 999

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us in Liverpool
On reading your review it is warming to note that our Team Members assisted you with their outstanding customer service. Our attention to guest satisfaction is one of the key stone of the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre.
Also we are delighted to hear positive feedback about our hotel location close to all central attractions and our complimentary breakfast.
Regards
Kelsey Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was my second stay at the Hampton Liverpool, and though the first stay was good, I would say the standard is rising, the breakfast has improved in quality, staff are friendly and helpful, excelent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsey g, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a joy to hear guests have enjoyed their stay and even better when those guests return and become regular visitors that we recognise
I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service.
Once again I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre for your stay and hope to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely

Kelsey Gibson
Guest service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and we would stay here again. The price was excellent, and the hotel was very close to Albert Dock and the water. The walk to the centre of Liverpool was about 15 minutes, but we wanted a location closer to the water.
The room was quite a good size and the bathroom was spacious. The staff were pleasant. Our room had a beautiful view of Merseyside and the ferris wheel.
The included buffet-style breakfast was DELICIOUS, with many options for us, being vegetarians.
There was a slight problem when a staff member who gave us hand towels said she would come back and give us proper towels, but never came back, and the next day we were only given two towels, but this didn't bother us too much as everything else in our stay was very pleasant.
If you're staying here to visit the hometown of the Beatles, this hotel is in an excellent location to the Beatles Story and the departing point to see Paul McCartney's and John Lennon's childhood homes.
This hotel was excellent for the price, and would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Liverpool. We would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311 (for three people) and we had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Hampton By Hilton Hilton Liverpool City Centre regarding your recent stay.

It is wonderful to read that you thought so highly of our hotel, reflected by the high scores that you have given to us.

Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Liverpool City Centre .

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed two nights Friday to Saturday it was very busy we arrived in the morning and could not check in but we were able to put our car in the car park. We went a tour of the city and then checked it after 2. We had paid for a room upgrade to see over the Albert dock which we got, but straight in front of us was a derelict building site... it did spoil the view :( , also the room was very small, the door to the toilet/shower was a green frosted glass sliding door and you can hear the shower/toilet being used. the breakfast in the morning was hectic, not enough tables as said before and people were taking their food back to their rooms, We did have a drink in the bar and it was very expensive £4.85 for a Jameson Whiskey and that didn't include the dash of coke !!! £16 nearly for three drinks,,,, There is a wee pub called the Baltic just in front of the hotel its full of character and they brew their own beer... it was much more reasonably priced.
Overall we had a good time and the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emondo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel it is pleasing to see that you generally enjoyed your stay with us reflected in the scores you gave us.

All your comments have been taken on board regarding our rooms and will be discussed in our next meeting.

With regards to our bar prices all our spirits are measured at 35ml instead of the usual 25ml this corresponds in the price difference and is in line with the rest of the competition in the city.

Once again thank you for reviewing us and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for a business trip as the Hilton I normally stay at in Liverpool, was unavailable.

Arrived by parking in the secure car park, which I found to be very tight with many concrete pillars to be avoided. The signage in the car park is poor, (this really does need to be improved) I had parked when I was approached by someone to say I could not park where I was. The car park appears to be shared by other businesses.

On gaining access to the hotel, reception was friendly and efficient, I was particularly pleased to be given two room keys and a letter of introduction about my stay.

The hotel room was clean and modern, with free wifi, which I appreciate. However, the bathroom door was slightly odd opening sideways across the wardrobe, which is fine if your on your own, but not when sharing. I was also unable to locate a shaving point in the bathroom?

The main reason of why I have only given the hotel two stars is due to the inadequate restaurant provision. The hotel has no room service and only a very limited selection of meals, namely pizza, curry, burgers. I had fish and chips for dinner as I did not want to go out and was very disappointed with the quality.

Breakfast was equally disappointing, I was not overly impressed by the quality or the lack of fruit available.

To be fair I had a good nights sleep, but I would not stay here again, I will be going back to the Hilton. Failing this being available I have previously stayed at the Novotel and would rather go back there.

Oh they also charge you for parking in the hotel car park.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank hot70000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I was a bit nervous about staying here having seen some of the reviews. I shouldn't have been. The hotel's location is great, it's clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, we had no wait, but we are both in the habit of rising early so half past 8 was a lie in for us. We arrived early, our room wasn't ready but we were able to drop our bags off and went for lunch at the Baltic Fleet next door (go native, try the scouse and their real ales brewed on the premises), by the time we'd finished the room was ready. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Not much else to say really.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PDReviewr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsey g, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel as it makes us known that you enjoyed your stay with us. Check in is at 2pm and we do our best to give an early check in if it is possible but unfortunately on this day it was not available, we apologise for your wait. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future and hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kelsey Gibson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Address: 7 Hurst Street | Kings Dock Mill, Liverpool L1 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £49 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location at Kings Mill Dock in the "Baltic Triangle" area, the Hampton by Hilton™ Liverpool City Centre hotel puts you near it all! We're close to Wapping, Salthouse, Canning and Albert docks, as well as the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. The Lime Street and James Street train stations are all less than three kilometers away, while Liverpool John Lennon Airport can be easily reached in minutes by car or coach transfer from Lime Street Station. Take a short walk from our Liverpool hotel and you'll experience the stunning architecture, exciting museums, world-class attractions, abundant nightlife and excellent dining this great city has to offer. If shopping is on the agenda, Liverpool ONE, a 1.65 million square-foot complex, is just steps from our Liverpool, UK hotel. The name "Liverpool" is also synonymous with football and we have two Premiership clubs, Everton and Liverpool, about five kilometers away. We're also just minutes from Aintree, home of the Grand National horse race. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool hotel puts world-famous attractions at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing