We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spacious rooms with good service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Was surprised at how nice the room was. I got nice view of the harbour side and my room had a little sofa which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom decor was also very nice. The hotel is ideally located if you are going to the Echo Arena but it's not too far away from the centre either. It looks to be further really isn't. Service was good as well. They could possibly do better on the breakfast as the food seemed slightly sub standard but still nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Nat765,
Thank you very much for your review of the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the room design and the river view. As you mention in your review we are in a fantastic city centre location close to all central attractions. We hope you enjoyed our complimentary Wi-Fi.
Once again, thank you for your comments and staying with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.
Best Regards
Juan Soto
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break to visit the city
Amazing breakfast
Comfy Bed
Perfect central location
Staff very friendly
Very Clean.
Breakfast does get busy at peak times and tables get full quickly

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a room with a view its totally worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. On reading your review it is warming to note that our staff particularly assisted you with their outstanding customer service. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hotel is extremely clean, very quiet and comfortable. I suggest if you are traveling with friends that you do not share a room, as the rooms are an open plan design, that has a cupboard door that when slid open doubles for a bathroom door. This was my only negative thing about my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding the Hotel. It is pleasing to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as was seeing a show In tbe echo great location right across the road!!
Rooms were clean an fab provides everything needed for stay!!
Breakfast was good but does get busy an not much room to sit the same as any hotel at feeding time!!
Price was also good would definitely go back :-) x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We only stayed one night but staff were welcoming and it is spot on for location....room clean and breakfast is self serve but very well organised....only one criticism is the orange juice was watered down and I do love my fresh orange juice after a night out :-(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I visited this hotel recently with my partner and was somewhat disappointed with some aspects of our stay. To begin with, first impressions were not wonderful, as there was no 'Hello' or any other form of greeting, as we checked in. The Reception staff appeared totally indifferent as to how this came across to their paying guests.

The River View room we had booked into was lovely and beautifully clean and the bathroom was superb. The shower was the best I have ever used in a hotel. The only negative with regard to the room was lack of storage. When staying in hotels I always keep the room very tidy and it was inconvenient and annoying to have to keep certain items in the case all the time. Although there was hanging space, there were absolutely no drawers or cupboards to put things out of sight. I would imagine this could put people off, who were contemplating staying for longer than a weekend.

The worst part of our stay, by far, was the breakfast experience. The size of the room, number of tables, etc, is totally disproportionate to the number of rooms in the hotel. I wonder about the comment made by one of the Guest Service Managers, when she said, 'We have recently invested in our breakfast area' - I fail to see how! It is a soulless, uninviting space, reminiscent of a department store café. It was, also, such a stressful experience. Standing around, willing other guests to hurry up so you could make a grab for their table! It was awful, to have to watch and wait, glancing around the room constantly, trying to reach the vacated table before someone else snatched it away! The poor staff were rushed off their feet, amidst utter chaos.

When we eventually secured a table, one of us waited whilst the other went to the buffet area, otherwise, I'm certain, the table would not have been vacant when we returned. Here, chaos reigned again, with people trying to find plates, only to be told they had run out. They, therefore, had to attempt to fit a cooked breakfast onto smallish side plates. At one stage, the fork pot was empty too, as were some of the food dishes. The absolute worst element of breakfast, however, was the fact that the plates were stone cold. Because of this, by the time you returned to your table, which on the second morning remained cluttered with the previous diners dirty crockery, the food was tepid and completely unappetising. It really was awful, as was the cheap tasting fruit juice too. On the second morning of our stay, we decided to not even attempt to have a cooked breakfast and just had a bowl of muesli each (which was really nice). As suggested by the hotel staff, on this particular morning, we went down to breakfast earlier (8.45am), to avoid the scrum. However, it made no difference whatsoever. It was still like a bun fight. Who wants to go away anyway for, what should be, a restful time, only to get up early so you can, hopefully, get a table.

When we usually visit hotels, breakfast is one of the best parts of the stay. A lovely, relaxed, appetising experience, which we like to sometimes linger over. Several of the hotels we have stayed in have offered breakfast buffet style, as at the Hampton, but have managed to serve hot, delicious food on piping hot plates so, it is obvious, this can be done successfully. To be honest, in future, I would rather, either pay less and stay at the Premier, eating breakfast at one of the many cafes in the city or, pay more, to enjoy what one would expect from a breakfast experience in one of the many hotels in Liverpool. Any potential guests should read between the lines of many of these reviews and decide on hotel accommodation with utmost care.

To finish this rather long review, I would ask that, if a member of the management is going to respond to this, please don't bother, if you are going to copy and paste one of the generic responses, as has been done with many of the other reviews. This does not demonstrate true customer service or show your concern but merely displays a true lack of sincerity, therefore compounding our first impression of indifference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. it is concerning for me to read that you have felt so unhappy with your general experience at the Hampton By Hilton the most concerning to read is the level of customer service you felt we lacked during your stay we at the Hampton pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and interaction. We expect all our guests too be welcomed with a ‘Hello’ and I can assure you that we will be investigating the matter further to ensure this does not happen again. With regards to breakfast you are right in saying the dining area is limited this is why we open our lobby area at breakfast and also provide additional seating in the mezzanine floor to accommodate all guests at busy periods. Your comments regarding our rooms are pleasing to see and all other comments have been taken on board. I would like to apologies on behalf of the hotel and my team members and I hope this response restores your faith in us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was offered an upgrade to a river view room. My room overlooked a building of similar size and height, and there was no sign of the river. The complimentary breakfast was terrible - I didn't think hotels still served powdered egg. The room was quite small, with only a shower rather than a bath, although it was clean and well-maintained. The bed was comfortable. However, the whole place was not much better than a Travelodge, and I certainly didn't pay only Travelodge prices. Avoid!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Firstguy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsey g, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to see that you have had a less than satisfactory stay with us her at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre. We are a City Centre Hotel and our river rooms are usually well complimented upon by our guests so it is a real shame that you didn’t feel the same way. Regarding your comments about our complimentary breakfast It is our sincere regret that you felt it was not up to a high standard. We have taken all your feedback on board and will be discussed further as it helps us to improve all aspects of the hotel

Once again thank you for your comments, we appreciate your thoughts and hope that you will give us the chance to restore your faith in us for the future so that we may welcome you back to us again soon.

Yours sincerely
Kelsey Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 99 in Liverpool
1,962 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Address: 7 Hurst Street | Kings Dock Mill, Liverpool L1 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location at Kings Mill Dock in the "Baltic Triangle" area, the Hampton by Hilton™ Liverpool City Centre hotel puts you near it all! We're close to Wapping, Salthouse, Canning and Albert docks, as well as the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. The Lime Street and James Street train stations are all less than three kilometers away, while Liverpool John Lennon Airport can be easily reached in minutes by car or coach transfer from Lime Street Station. Take a short walk from our Liverpool hotel and you'll experience the stunning architecture, exciting museums, world-class attractions, abundant nightlife and excellent dining this great city has to offer. If shopping is on the agenda, Liverpool ONE, a 1.65 million square-foot complex, is just steps from our Liverpool, UK hotel. The name "Liverpool" is also synonymous with football and we have two Premiership clubs, Everton and Liverpool, about five kilometers away. We're also just minutes from Aintree, home of the Grand National horse race. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool hotel puts world-famous attractions at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing