We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heywood House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveller rating
1,043
561
149
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
561
149
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrubber duckbalcony roompub next doorlovely hotelq parkalbert docksnight porterlovely decorcentral locationcar parkair condiscount vouchercavern clubcavern quarterminute walkgood size
Filter
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here 10th May over night for my boyfriends 21st. The location was perfect for doing anything we wanted... shopping, sightseeing and nightlife. On entering the hotel it was clear to see it was a well maintained hotel. As it was my boyfriends 21st that weekend I requested for there to be 21st decorations in the room for when we entered, this was a suprise for him and they did an excellent job for the money (£5!) As I got the room for the night through Trivago it was a brilliant offer. The room was beautiful and very clean and tidy, as well as the bathroom being really modern! Overall a great stay in a good location and friendly staff! I have rated the fitness and swimming pool average as we didnt use them but if they are anything like the room we stayed in im sure they would be very clean and nice to use.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on our Hotel! We are pleased to hear the location was ideal for your sightseeing and that we could be a part of making your boyfriend’s birthday enjoyable for you.We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a groupon deal with my boyfriend, the hotel itself was lovely. Very nicely decorated, lovely staff especially the night man. I live in Liverpool and had never stayed at this hotel before, definitely wasnt disappointed, great idea of having discounted parking at L1 car park as with a late check out no one wants to have to get up early to make sure not to get a parking ticket from the street parking. We also had a meal in the restaurant next door at the noble house, again never been before and the food was lovely, the place itself was also very classy, would be nice to go to for a special occasion. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate your comments on our team members and will forward your comments on for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great location, room was very clean with excellent facilities, We would without doubt stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was excellent and the staff we encountered were very friendly and polite. The hotel made our trip enjoyable and one to remember. I would without hesitation recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay should you visit Liverpool

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on our Hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we could be a part of making it enjoyable for you. We hope that we can welcome you back for hopefully another excellent stay next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Heywood House Hotel is a successful conversion from an old commercial building. It retains part of the old elegance, especially the staircase, and most of the bedrooms are spacious. Its location on a quiet side-street is perfect for easy walking access to the museums and heritage sites near Albert Dock, and the Western Approaches museum is just up the road. There is metered car parking across the road, with some disabled parking around the corner. There are several restaurants etc within a few minutes walk - Olive on Castle Street was a favourite of ours. The shopping & leisure complex of Liverpool One is 10 minutes walk away and the hotel has a voucher system to reduce the cost of parking there in the Q Carpark. Parking in central Liverpool is not cheap!

Our twin bed room was on the second floor, overlooking Fenwick Street with a lovely big window with a nice window-seat. It was warm and very quiet, and not troubled by any noise from the sinisterly-named pub next door (some rooms might be too close for comfort).

The hotel seems to have been expensively refurbished and the bedrooms are quite stylish. In some instances it is a triumph of style over common sense and practicality. The low-wattage light bulbs are encased in opaque black shades! We had some work to do in the evenings and even with two table lamps side-by-side on the dressing table it was impossible to read and work easily. Advice: if you have work to do, bring your own desk lamp with you! The lights are controlled by a multitude of interconnected switches. We eventually figured out which did what, though even the duty receptionist could not get the wall light to come on!

The bedroom and the en-suite bathroom were very nicely decorated and fitted out, and both kept very clean. There was a big TV screen, a radio (which we could not figure out how to turn on), a small security box inside the wardrobe, a telephone, iron & ironing-board, a hairdryer and the usual tea-making facilities. No refrigerator. The bedroom curtains were excellent and light-proof.

The bathroom was brightly lit - it was the only place where one could read easily by electric light! Again, the fittings were stylish, but seemed to lack detail thought. The only rail for part-used towels was inside the bath/shower enclosure, where they were likely to get accidentally wet. There were no hooks to hang things. The shower was good and powerful with a fairly constant temperature, but as the showerhead was fixed about 7 feet up, and only one disposable shower-cap provided, at least one member of a couple would have to have wet hair. Another surprising petty economy was that there was only one tablet of soap - which had to be shared between the basin and the bath/shower. However, a selection of shower gels & shampoos etc was provided, as well as a rubber duck.

A big problem for us, but which might not trouble others, is that we hate duvets and cannot sleep comfortably under them. I sent an email to the administration explaining this, and they confirmed that we could have sheets and blankets instead. When we arrived we found that our message had become garbled, and the duvets had been taken away, leaving only a sheet but no blanket. The receptionist did his best to find some for us, but could not - all that could be found was some additional sheets. So we slept under dry towels and overcoats, with a promise that blankets would be bought next day and provided. Alas, no blankets ever appeared, and we slept badly although the room was reasonably warm. We cannot understand how a hotel of this quality, with all the care given to smart decoration and fittings, cannot supply sheets AND blankets to guests who specially request them.

Room Tip: Bring extra lighting if you want to read.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffywhitehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear you had some issues during your stay and there seemed to be some confusion regarding the bedding in your room. We do not actually have blankets in the Hotel so I am sorry you were misinformed about this. We either have sheets or a duvet for the rooms. Also as it is a listed building each room is completely different so we do have some brighter rooms available. If you do choose to stay with us again if you give us a call direct we can ensure you are in a brighter room or have extra table lighting. We hope these issues have not put you off choosing to stay with us again and that it didn’t affect your overall stay with us. If there is anything we can do to make our guests stay better we are more than happy to help. We will take all your comments on board moving forward and hope that we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is in a good location within easy walking distance of the city centre shopping and the docks, close to the pierhead and not too far from Lime Street Station and the city buses. The building is interesting and in parts beautiful. But i do think that pink reception desk is a bit of a mistake and I would have appreciated some stronger lighting in the bedrooms. Generally, however, our rooms were very comfortable. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Our biggest complaint was instant coffee for Sunday morning breakfast. This lets down the style of the hotel and, while we had got a weekend? discount on the room, it is still too expensive for this kind of short changing of guests.

Room Tip: Not really worth paying the extra for a superior room. My daughter had a standard room and it was little different.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and that the location was ideal for you. As we are a listed building each room is different and some rooms are brighter than others. If you do choose to stay with us again just give us a call and we can make sure you are in a brighter room or supply extra lighting. We hope this hasn’t put you off from choosing to stay with us again and that we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews