We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and efficient staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heywood House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I arrived at Heywood House with my friend and was impressed by the friendly receptionist, our room was clean and well appointed.Breakfast was from 7am to 12noon and was lovely, freshly cooked, and would satisfy the biggest appetite, in fact it lasted us until evening.The bathroom was so new it took us a while to find how to use the taps and the towels were large and thick. The downside was that the beds were small singles and rather hard,there was room for larger ones which are standard in a lot of hotels abroad.Also ,our second night was Friday and there was a lot of noise from the alleyway under our window, but on the whole it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you all your positive comments on our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on our team members. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and will forward your positive comments on to the restaurant team. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    451
    112
    26
    14
See reviews for
100
842
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Really great room, the location was great everything you need is close by (Liverpool 1, Albert Dock, Ferry etc) the breakfast was good and if you take the offer then good value. Our one down side was only one of the 4 receptionists were any good, they were all pleasant but didn't follow up on promised actions. The parking at Liverpool one is nearby and very secure so don't worry about the lack of parking!!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in our Hotel and that the location was ideal for your needs. We are sorry to hear the level of service was not to our usual high standard. We hope this has not effected your decision in staying with us again and we hope we can change your opinion of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location and given it's promotion as 'budgetique' hotel, I didn't see it. Rooms were excellent, comfortable and all the extras you would expect from a luxury hotel. Only gripe would be the price, slightly overpriced for comparable hotels in the area but I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are good, plenty of space to sit outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable. Our rates always vary depending on events in the city. I would advise if you would like to stay here in the future to give us a call direct so we can offer you the best deal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

second time i have stayed at the heywood,the hotel is in a great spot for shopping, echo arena and the albert dock, the the staff are very friendly and nothing too much trouble, the rooms are better than your "budget hotel" very clean and nice decor, i would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankuae2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us! We appreciate your comments on our team members; We try to offer the best level of service we can and are pleased this has been noted. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel for your third stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for just one night and were initially most impressed with car parking facility (after first missing the entrance for the Q park!) and Iocation (5/10 minute walk to the Albert Dock)....but this soon turned to disappointment when we arrived at reception. We had driven 150 miles and were tired but were told that our room wasn't ready. It was mid afternoon and this was not what we expected...nothing on our documentation about check-in times. We were left in reception for about 35 minutes which was too long. We had to remind them we were still there and waited another 10 minutes! Having got in the room, it was small but cosy! We weren't in the room a lot as went to concert that night etc but we were let down again when we ordered Sunday newspapers and they didn't arrive! Foynd out later they had been sent to wrong room! The breakfast was in lovely dining room and was fine...I'm not been picky and overall despite these issues, the hotel was clean, good location as I said and pleasant staff. I can see why it has had good reviews...we may well give it another try!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am sorry to hear that check in was not to our normal standard. Check in is from 3pm, We always try our best to have our rooms ready on time and I apologise for any inconvenience caused for you on this unfortunate occasion. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and that the Hotels location was ideal for your needs. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future and give you a more positive impression of our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Lovely old building, great location. Reception were really helpful, they could not do enough for you and accommodated all requests with great attitude. The rooms were fab and the shower was amazing, so powerful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that are team could be a part of making it enjoyable for you. Handy hint keep an eye on our website for our latest offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed just one night(a Friday) and was really expecting a rowdy night with little sleep-wrong! The Hotel may be a bit plain and simple from the outside and the foyer is small but the room(just a standard double) was good and the bed so comfortable. We heard no street noise at all and despite the hotel being full no noise in the hotel either. Really enjoyed the stay-and the staff are absolutely great-friendly and attentive. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room(2nd floor)if you book with lastminute and if they have space they will upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsicce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you found your room quiet and comfortable. We try to offer the best level of Customer Service we can and appreciate this has been noted. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing