We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heywood House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Friendly staff on reception, let us check in early as we arrived early. The room was spotless and very modern in style so we could not fault it, the bathroom was again spotless with an amazing shower and a little rubber duck to keep you company. The bed was very comfortable so had a good night sleep. and all the little extras as well, the ipod docking station, iron with ironing board and hair dryer. Even enjoyed the hospitality tray as it had more then just tea and coffee on it, it had a selection of different teas and hot chocolate as well. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to any one wishing to stay in Liverpool. Also the location is great as it is very central and walking distance to almost all of Liverpool's major tourist attractions, shops, business district and nightlife bars and clubs. I can see why this hotel has won awards from Best Kept Secret twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Heywood House. I am delighted to find that you had a positive experience with our staff, found our location ideal for your particular stay and enjoyed the services we offer within our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    449
    112
    26
    14
See reviews for
100
841
44
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Bit of a strange hotel.

The hotel foyer is no bigger than a shoe box and you need your room key to get to stairwell/lift to the rooms. The reception guy was very pleasant and once you get beyond the foyer door the hotel is like any usual 4 star hotel. Whilst the room was compact it was fine and was really clean with all the usual room stuff BUT...although we booked room+breakfast, we only found out after checking in that the hotel restaurant closed back in January!!! Hence a very nice hotel BUT NO RESTAURANT! As a result no room service and breakfast is provided by a nearby cafe for £5.

If that is what you think you have booked then fine but just be careful that you are aware of this fact when you book. We will be taking appropriate action against the booking agent who sold us the booking but have no real gripes with the hotel other than having a 4 star hotel with no restaurant is very strange.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Heywood House on your recent visit. I am sorry to read that there had been some miscommunication between yourselves and your travel agent and I hope this does not reflect on your opinion of our hotel. At Heywood, we operate a room only business and would encourage all of our guests to explore the great city of Liverpool and all of the great quality restaurants right on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as we had come to see the Giants. We upgraded to a balcony room and we were not disappointed.
Room 306 is delightfully quirky with split levels, odd shaped windows and gable beams. The bathroom has a spacious and powerful shower, the towels are large and soft and robes were provided. The whole room was spotless and a request for more coffee was met with alacrity. It was a very hot day/night and we were able to make full use of the balcony: the view was limited but the different rooftops were quite fascinating and we were not plagued by seagulls because we had our own protection in the shape of a cement falcon on the roof! When we eventually went in, the air conditioning had kept the room cool.
We have visited Liverpool many times and have always been impressed by the friendliness of staff and level of service in the hotels. This was up there with the best of them and we will certainly return

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your positive and detailed review on our hotel. I am really pleased that you found one of our feature rooms to your liking and made full use of its balcony during the hot summer day. I would also like to thank you for rating us as one of your personal best hotels in Liverpool and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

if it would list itself as a 3-star hotel, OK, I would give it an average rating.
Now I just give a poor rating.
reception and lift area: grungy
service: adequate and friendly
room: OK, but very small. Cleanliness was good though
but: very musty smell in room.
Also, there's a pub next door, which got rowdy during our stay (weekend). So bring earplugs.
no good price-quality ratio

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cauchy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Heywood House. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I am interested to know more on this matter and I kindly ask that you contact the hotel directly to discuss this with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has been stylishly refurbished and is extremely clean and comfortable. The facilities are great, and the air-conditioning was very welcome during a very hot spell. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for museums, galleries, shops and restaurants and tours of the city. Despite its central location, there was no traffic noise to be heard in our room at all. The staff were professional, courteous, helpful and very friendly. The car park in Liverpool One is a mere 5 minute walk away, and the discount given by the hotel for parking and local attractions is very welcome. I would certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
<span style='line-height: 115%; font-family: "Calibri","sans-serif"; font-size: 10pt; mso-ascii-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-hansi-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family: "Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font: minor-bidi; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-ansi-language: EN-GB; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;'><font color="#000000">Thank
you for your positive review on Heywood House. Myself and the team are
delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Liverpool. I am also
pleased to read that you found our location and services offered ideal for your
particular trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.</font></span>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstenj9
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights in June. The hotel website advertsied a room with a picture of a luxurious roll top bath. I paid extra to book this room. We arrived late after a wedding into our room and it simply had a standard bath with a shower. I'm not sure what I paid extra for.
The room was a reasonable size with slippers and bathrobe provided and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was nice but there was dust along the skirting boards which is minor, yet for the price we paid I'd expect it to be properly cleaned.
Upon checkout we pointed out that we had paid extra for a roll top bath to which the girl replied 'oh you should have said when you arrived'. We didn't arrive until 2am and so didn't really want to kick up a fuss at that time of the morning.
I sent an email outlining my disappointment and never received a response.
The hotel provide muffins and coffee in the reception in the morning.
Overall its a relatively good hotel in the centre of Liverpool, yet definitely not worth the price tag.

Room Tip: either a basic room or pay extra for a balcony to make it worth your while
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstenj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologise that your room was not as you had expected it to be and that we have failed to respond to your email. Due to the restrictions of the old building, all our rooms are slightly different in size and features, we have 3 main room types at our hotel, these are; Standard, Superior and Balcony. Our superior rooms, as you have pointed out have bathrobes, slippers additional toiletries, mineral water and are generally larger in size, the rooms also have a ‘feature’ which could be a high ceiling, pillar, large window or the stand alone bath. Due to the large demand that we have received for the roll top bath, we have since removed all images of this from all websites so as not to mislead any of our guests, this room is still available and can be requested on booking, we apologise that this communication was not clear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in a twin room with 2 single beds. Nice decor but I especially loved the big bathroom and bath. You can park at the nearby large underground carpark at Liverpool 1. Just collect a voucher from reception for a discount. It is at least a 10 min walk though (unless you have long legs!). There is a pub next door and although our room was on the same side I couldn't hear any noise once the windows were shut.

Found it very central and easy to walk everywhere. Except in heels for our night out, but the receptionist was super friendly and organised a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review on Heywood House. I am delighted to read that you found your room to your liking and peaceful, and that you found the location of the hotel ideal for your type of visit. I hope that we can welcome you back to Liverpool and Heywood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,776 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing