We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Liverpool gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Liverpool gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Heywood House Hotel on July, 30th. I booked this hotel because of its location and price. It was as easy to get to by car as it was easy to get rid of the car by parking it at QPark, which is a fantastic option if you take into consideration the substantial discount off the parking fee with a voucher you get from the hotel. Although the parking vouchers are for the QPark at Liverpool One, when I told the staff that I had parked at the QPark John Lewis nearby, the told me that it wouldn't matter as the discount was also available for this parking.
The hotel is a few minute walk to the busiest streets of the city centre, Liverpool One, Albert Dock and other Waterfront attractions and one minute to James Street station.
Reception is tiny, but this is no problem at all. You don't stay at reception.
Access to the lift and staircase through a door that you open with your key seems a good security idea.
The rooms are good-sized, very clean, silent and well appointed. Good bathroom with a nice shower and a selection of amenities. The bed is big enough and very comfortable.
Complimentary coffee and muffin at reception rounds a perfect stay.
I recommend this hotel without hesitation, and will be my first choice in any trip to Liverpool in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and positive review on Heywood House for your July visit to Liverpool. I am delighted to find that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed all the services that we offer and took advantage of our prime location within Liverpool for your particular visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool and Heywood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    474
    121
    27
    15
See reviews for
108
881
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is in a central location and within walking distance of the Cavern Club. We arrived late morning but the room was ready so we checked in straight away. The room was very spacious and comfortable. There's tea/ coffee facilities and the shower was clean and worked properly! Tere's a rubber duck to brighten up your day when you have a shower first thing in the morning! The staff are knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review on Heywood House. I am pleased to read that you found our location and early check in time ideal for your visit. I am also pleased that you had a positive experience with our staff and I hope the team can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 1 night on 1/8/2014. I booked this hotel on-line after unsuccessfully looking to book a travelodge for the night. What an excellent and good value choice i made as this hotel is so lovely inside. The rooms have a very modern design and were spotlessly clean.
There is complmentary tea /coffee and muffins at reception as well as tea, coffee, hot chocolate making facilities within the rooms. There is a lift as well as stairs to all floors.
The staff were very helpful and you can leave your luggage behind reception after checkout if you want to ( no charge ).
I have to say though that what really shines is the location. its a 5 minute walk to the city centre attractions, Cavern walks etc... We travelled by train from north wales and got off at James Street Station, where its literally a 90 second walk to the hotel !!
We had a fabulous stay. Matthews Street was awesome.I would definately return to this hotel, ( the pub next door wasnt a problem at all ) and would recommend it without question.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welshmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Heywood House. I am delighted that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything from the room, price, location and the staff all to your liking. Thank you also for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've never really felt the need to write a review after spending only 1 night at that hotel. However, I feel the need now to feedback on what a fantastic experience we had at Heywood House. The location is brilliant for going to Liverpool One and the train stations.
We arrived at the hotel at around 10.30 am and asked if we could leave our bags there instead of lugging them around with us until check in at 3. Not a problem. We did the same after we'd left the next morning. We had booked a Balcony room, which I would definitely recommend. Room itself was fantastic. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackLFC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit. I am pleased that, although you do not usually leave feedback on your hotel experiences, your positive experience with us has enticed you to do just that. We appreciate this and I am delighted that you found our location, your feature room and the service we offer were ideal for your stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked deal with Travel Zoo for my husband's birthday as he is a big Beatles fan. The room was very comfortable and there were "happy birthday" banners on the wall as well as a card for him. Nice touch. The staff were very helpful with where to go etc. There was complimentary coffee and muffin in reception in the morning. We went to local restaurant for full English breakfast with a voucher from the hotel. The only slight niggle was that there is no parking at the hotel and we had to go down the road to the new Liverpool one Q carpark which was underground. When we left we were given a voucher for 40 per cent off the charge. We both enjoyed the couple of days that we were there doing the usual things like magical mystery tour and the Beatles Story. The Pier head and Albert Dock is a really nice area alongside the Mersey. We would recommend this hotel and a trip to Liverpool with a great shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiger096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to Liverpool. I am delighted to find that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, for his special occasion. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future as Liverpool has so much more to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Could not reccomend this hotel more I stayed last night with my 8 year old daughter and the hotel was perfect. Firstly yes the pub next door does slightly put you off but we walked past are real times and had no issue. I had rung and requested a room that was quiet and the staff were more than willing it accomadate this. Parking at Liverpool 1 is easy and the hotel will give you a voucher which makes parking very cheap. The hotel check in was great James was very helpful and also very friendly towards myself bad little girl. Now the room it was amazing very Boutique and as good as Malmasion down the road which I have also stayed in. Air con , power shower , iPod Dock, good TV and the beds were so comfy. Yes you get abit of noise ( even on the third floor ) but bare in mind it's a city centre hotel. I would not have been happy to be right above the pub though and in booking to come back again I would request not to be anywhere near the pub. The grab and go breakfast is cool and the muffins are very good. All the staff we encountered were so friendly and I felt totally safe alone with my daughter. I've told all my friends to stay here when they visit Liverpool as it's a great place to stay and I'm def coming back. Well down Heywood and staff .

Room Tip: Ask for high up or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Evening! Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on Heywood House. I am really pleased to find that you found everything to your liking, from your check in, the staff, to the services we offer within and outside of the hotel. Also I would like to thank you for recommending us to all of your friends and I am delighted to read that we can expect you to return. Give our reception team a call directly if you have any worries, we are more than happy to assist in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would NOT recommend this hotel there are much better, cheaper and centric options in Liverpool.

Customer service is the worst. Not only they charged us 100 pound without authorization but they didn't even provided any detailed cost and proof and hotel manager hanged up me on the phone when trying to solve the case.

About hotel, it is located in a street next to pubs, so you can't open the windows unless you want to hear noise and bed was not comfortable. Wifi signal is free but not fast enough.

Good luck if you decide to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Evening! As discussed with you several times, any damages caused to the hotel will be charged accordingly. I am disappointed that this decision has led to this review and you feel this is a reflection on our customer service ability, for which we are consistently noted and merited on in the majority of our reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,897 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing