We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely decor in the hotel and the rooms. 5 minute walk to Matthew Street, Albert Dock, and shopping, restaurants, etc. A quiet location with a nice night's sleep, even on a Saturday night. Parking discount given for Liverpool One. Overall, really pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizcam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your staff with us overall and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    482
    123
    27
    15
See reviews for
111
895
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend on a Monday evening, for one night. It came to £27each for our room which I thought was v reasonable but I guess it's because it was during the week. For that price, with such a central hotel, I thought we may find a few issues. That was def NOT the case!

The reception area is small but don't let that fool you. It seems q a big hotel once you get past reception. The staff were lovely and allowed us to keep our bags there before check in and after check out.

The room was clean with excellent facilities and air con. The bathroom just had a shower rather than a bath but so do a lot of hotels. The bed was comfy and I would def stay here again.

We did not pay for breakfast but I understand it's currently to be eaten off site in a cafe across the road. This wouldn't be an issue for me if I went back but could be for others. All Bar One is just across the road if you fancy a night cap :)

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontwell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed and positive feedback on Heywood House. I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and services offered within the hotel and your arm. If you would like a room with a bath for your future stay with us, contact our Reception Team directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddsville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a gem !!! Stayed for our birthdays and was not disappointed ! Hotel put Happy Birthday banners in the room and a card which was a lovely surprise. Room was a good size,Clean and well laid out, Dressing table with a mirror for the ladies, full size ironing board, safe, superb shower, air con and a Bose docking station ! 40% off parking in Liverpool ONE ! Staff were knowledgable of the area ! Whats not to like ?? Will deffo stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREWA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Heywood House for your special occasion. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your special day, including the extras our team placed in the room for you. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the services offered within it, so much that we can expect you to return to us in the future - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The smell was the first thing that got to me. it was like a damp, wet kind of smell, looking around i notice glade stick on air freshers so obviously they are trying to cover up the smell rather than get rid of it.
2nd thing was the noise of the fan or something in the room was so annoying, peace was just not peace, this was not the first experience with this
3rd The sink i think was faulty because the water didnt go down so as your trying to wash your face the water is collecting - disgusting! Also the bath water wouldnt go down so pulled the plug out only to find it was actually plugged in with a wall plug. i was shocked
Finally the dust in the room was bad kept me sneezing and itchy eyes, the speaker didnt work and trying to call reception about 3 or 4 times with no answer.

Wouldnt personally stay here again it is just a normal room nothing fancy dull and boring
only good point it is near the train station and near town center.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnyshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights booking through last minute but think it's still good value booking direct. Good central hotel in city centre. Rooms of high standard and good nights sleep thanks to great curtains and a comfy bed! Didn't have breakfast but there's a nice looking sandwich place opposite anyway

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greekbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Good Evening! Thank you for your positive review on Heywood House. I am delighted that you found our hotel good value for money and that you had a good nights sleep with us. I hope Heywood House is your first choice of hotel for Liverpool in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through top secret hotels for a really good discount on what is already a very reasonable rate for what you get. It's was a bit of a gamble but it paid off and wasn't that hard to figure out which hotel it would be prior to booking. Just do your homework. Location is excellent right slap bang in the middle of Liverpool City centre east walking distance to Liverpool one, Albert docks, west tower (Go to the panoramic 34 restaurant at the top. You have to book but you can go just for drinks.) and lots of fantastic bars and restaurants (recommend viva Brasil just round the corner - 241 onion ring voucher at time of writing). There's no parking at the hotel but they offer discounted rates at the q car park at Liverpool one. Cost £19 for 24 hours with 40% discount.
We had room 214 and I groaned inwardly when we located it right next to the lift but we didn't hear it once. Other people have commented on noisy fans. No problems there either. The room was a comfy double and it was! Bed really comfy. Everything clean and in pretty good condition. Room was quite small but not cramped. Bose iPod Dock (not set up for iPhone 5s old connection only). Good sized and wall mounted TV. Shower was incredible. Nice and big and very powerful and hot. We had mentioned it was our anniversary and they had left a card and made towel swans and put heart confetti on the bed (which got everywhere but that's another story!). No problem with noise from the bar next door but it wasn't the weekend so not sure how busy it gets.
Second night was noisy with street cleaners and other city waking up noises (including argumentative seagulls) from 4am and the roadworks at the end of the road started up just before 8. The explanation for the second night being so much noisier than the first is my husband only shutting half the windows. Traveller tip. Check the windows (which are triple glazed or thereabouts) are shut and don't believe your husband if he says he's shut them.

In short I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to other people wanting to stay in Liverpool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank linny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good Morning! Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed and positive feedback on Heywood House. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel and any concerns you had upon booking were quickly quashed once you arrived. I am also pleased to read that you found our location ideal and the services offered within your room ideal for your particular trip. At Heywood, we are always looking to improve, and we have taken on your feedback regarding our speakers on board to be raised at our next team meeting.

Once again i'd like to thank you, for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this establishment during our holiday in Europe. After an exhaustingly long day this hotel was just what we needed. Located on a quiet street within walking distance from Alberts dock it really is well situated.
The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was nice and spacious with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was nice with an awesome shower and a nice big old-style bath tub. All in all a good experience!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank urvi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Heywood House during your holiday travelling Europe. I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found our location idea for your trip. I hope that should you return to Liverpool in the future, we can welcome you back to Heywood House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
3,948 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing