We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Concept That Fits The Bill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nadler Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A New Concept That Fits The Bill”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The concept is great and in line with my requirements. The rooms are a good size and are well presented. They are modern and, most importantly, they have a small kitchen area so that you can get your own provisions without having to spend ridiculous money on hotel food / minibar.
There is no bar, restaurant or gym, but the idea is that, being located so centrally (a 3 minute walk to Liverpool One), you have every opportunity to go out and have breakfast / dinner in any one of the many eateries available a short walk away in the city centre.
Finally, the best thing of all was the tremendous friendliness and service given by the staff, We arrived on Christmas Eve, and Darren who was on duty could not have done more for us. Also, the guys who we dealt with over the following couple of days were great as well. A tremendous asset to the overall concept.
In summary, a great concept, nice place in an area that is developing, great people and, especially for such a central location, a great place. I thoroughly recommend to anyone this great hotel. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,912
    856
    137
    27
    16
See reviews for
539
1,630
325
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Base 2stay was one of the highest ranked hotels in Liverpool which lead to our choosing it. The pictures that you see on the website are identical to what is actually there (which isn't always the case). The room was large, clean and well appointed. The lobby and rest of the hotel was very modern and warming. Liverpool has had some troubled times in the past and wasn't recognized as a huge tourist destination because of it's "rough" reputation. Since 2008 the city has been given a huge face lift. The hotel is close to many of the main sites including a 10-15 walk to Albert Dock, world famous Mathew Street and the Cavern, the shopping district as well as the central train station. Staff was extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed in a 'Superior' room for four nights at the beginning of January. It's not a big place - just over 100 rooms and is a factory conversion. The hotel is about 10 minutes on foot from Liverpool Lime Street station and is perfectly located for shops, restaurants, etc. There's a Tesco supermarket at the end of the road and a Waitrose just over five minutes away.

The room was a reasonable size although nothing special. There was a fridge, a microwave, three sets of cutlery and crockery, and a sink. That was enough to make a decent breakfast. The room (324) was very quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff were young, friendly and, generally, efficient. I was a bit disappointed that many of the channels on the TV weren't working but the wi-fi connection was fine and everything else was working well. The receptionist told me that lower rooms are quieter than higher rooms and that noise from the many nightclubs can be a problem some evenings.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again. It is very good value indeed.

Room Tip: The receptionist told me that lower rooms are quieter than higher rooms and that noise from the many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Flat out: great location, nice, well-appointed rooms and reasonably priced. However, both staff and management completely unprepared when something goes wrong.

Rooms were not ready at check-in and I literally had a performance shortly after my arrival. They offered to hold my luggage until the rooms were ready but, I needed to change my clothing before my performance. Ended up playing a set and sweating through my travel wardrobe.
Got checked-in to my room after, drenched in sweat. I had reserved a double room and found out three days into my four-day stay that they had placed me into a single suite. Offered NO COMPENSATION WHEN I COMPLAINED. base2stay offered to move me into a double suite for my last evening? Hardly. Essentially switched my rate to the single room for the stay with no apology for putting me into the incorrect room.
Booked a non-smoking floor but the hallways perpetually smelled of cigarette stench.

Clueless.

Worth taking a chance on but appreciate that YOU ARE TAKING A CHANCE.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertarthur, Owner at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
I would firstly like to apologise for the errors and what appears to be uncharacteristically poor service that you received when you stayed with us in May 2011. I have been trying to establish exactly what occurred back then so that I can offer some explanation and ensure that we don’t repeat these errors. Whilst we always try to get guests straight into their rooms even when they arrive prior to our check in time, as previous reviews attest, this isn’t always possible. However, if someone needs the use of, say, a bathroom, we always try to accommodate that, and I am disappointed and sorry that we appear not to have done so here. I am also at a loss to explain why you were put in a smaller room type than that booked, unless it was because reception was trying to get you a room more rapidly, but apologise again. I have to confess to being surprised that you didn’t note that you were in a smaller room for 3 days. Whilst I would like to think that our singles, with 4ft beds, are larger than most, some reviews indicate that certain guests find them small, and I would have anticipated that this would have been noticeable if one had booked a double, but that doesn’t detract from the fact that you weren't been given the room type you booked, and should have been offered some form of apology or compensation. I am equally bemused at the comment about the smell of smoke. We are a non-smoking hotel, and whilst there will be rare occasions when guests smoke in their rooms (there is a cleaning charge if they do and the risk of fire alarms going off), it is the exception, and I can only apologise again if you smelt smoke on more than one occasion. I have tried to contact you and hope we can demonstrate to you that we do care about customer service above all else.
Kind regards, Robert Nadler CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for our 10th Wedding Anniversay.1st Class location, excellent service with superb rooms & cleanliness. We took an upgrade to one of the top room specs (room 007) and it didn’t disappoint. Plenty of shops, pubs, cafe's and restaurants on your doorstep (but not in your face) with a good independent cinema at the FACT Picturehouse just a few mins away. The situation of this hotel is on a quiet road adjacent to lively areas of town - It's surprisingly hard to imagine you're in a city centre once in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tupski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I always stay here when in Liverpool. This hotel would cost around 300 GBP/night if it were in London. Free internet. Only drawback is breakfast which is outsourced from a local shoppe and then delivered in the morning , thus if your order isn't in by 9pm the preceding night, no dice. Not a big thing for me though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetelodicofare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just spent two nights here and we were very impressed - excellent service from the friendly staff, really comfortable, large room, in the city centre near lots of bars and clubs and yet not a sound disturbed us and we were there on a Friday night after LFC won a match 5-1!
For the price you don't expect luxury extras but this really has all you need for a short stay: fridge, kettle, shampoo and shower gel, hairdryer, TV, free wifi and some welcome if unused extras like a microwave and safe. Maybe an iron, biscuits and some freeview chanels would make it even better but who wants to iron or watch telly when you're in Liverpool anyway?!
No restaurant but loads of excellent cafes just round the corner in Bold Street - the Bold Street Cafe our personal favourite - so no problem about breakfast and ditto for dinner - ttry the excellent Lunya, a Catalan tapas restaurant down the road where you get 20% discount on the food. Also ideally located for Lime Street station, Liverpool 1 shops and river front.
We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, young or old (we are in the 'mature couple' category, by the way) and it will definitely be our first choice when in Liverpool, which is quite often because it's such a great place to visit. Boss.

Room Tip: The superior double seems to be a good option - giant bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b2smanager, Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Frank
Thank you for your kind comments about base2stay Liverpool. I was very pleased to read that you felt the room to be comfortable and large. We don’t offer facilities guests frequently neither need nor use but rather pride ourselves on offering a hotel where the price you pay when you check out is the price you expected to pay when you checked in. We do in fact have over 40 Freeview channels, as well as films at only £1.95 each plus a free music library, games and internet (in case you don’t have your laptop with you) all on our HD TVs, as well as free WiFi throughout the hotel. Irons and ironing boards can be delivered to your room on request. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that Liverpool FC won impressively! I was also pleased that during your visit you managed to take advantage of the one of the many discount vouchers that are available from our reception for some of the top restaurants in Liverpool and I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to base2stay in the very near future.

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,317 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,046 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Liverpool

Property: The Nadler Liverpool
Address: 29 Seel Street, Liverpool L1 4AU, England (Formerly base2stay Liverpool)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nadler Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nadler Liverpool offers a unique combination of 4* comfort, design and service. All rooms offer A/C, mini-kitchens, free WiFi + free internet, music & games on HDTVs. Without a bar or restaurant, it’s ideally suited to the RopeWalks, Liverpool city centre’s vibrant design quarter. Enjoy exclusive discounts at some of Liverpool’s best bars and restaurants, with which this boutique hotel is surrounded and 30 minutes of free local & national calls per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Nadler Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing