We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay apart from fire alarm going off!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and loved the location on the Albert Dock. We stayed in a hotel last year near the centre and that suited us too, for different reasons.
Love how they have incorporated the hotel into the old building.Our room was very comfortable and overlooked the dock.
Reception staff were excellent- very helpful. We got a discount voucher to eat in a nearby restaurant and really enjoyed the meal.
If you wanted to walk into Liverpool One and the centre it wouldn't take long.
The only hiccup was the fire alarm going off very early in the morning. It was a false alarm but we never saw any of the staff as we stood outside in the cold to explain what was going on.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Pleased to hear that your found the reception staff excellent during your recent stay at the hotel. Whilst I can appreciate that the fire alarm activation was an inconvenience all fire alarms are treated with improtance and a full evacuation is carried out on each alarm activation for the safety and security of all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. Room was excellent quality, clean and well equipped for a budget range hotel. Long corridors meant a long walk and lift was too small and slow. Staff very helpful and pro-active sometimes hindered by by their IT (it couldn't cope with getting right names into multiple rooms on one booking- recommend their IT people look at the De Vere site for how to do it!). Breakfast poor - but staff were working hard again. I'd stay again but know its limitations

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel, I'm pleased to hear that the staff were helpful.
Breakfast is something which is continually under review at the hotel and by Holiday Inn to improve the breakfast experience for guests, your comments will be taken on board and reviewed.
With regards to problems with your group names on arrival, if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I can look into your specific group booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our second time staying in this hotel.Like last year it did not disappoint.The location is fantastic, a walk from everywhere,The rooms are a good size and offer a great view of the docks and ships.If you have kids then there are plenty of attractions within a stroll of the hotel and you are not stuck for places to eat in the environs.So the breakfast gets hectic, but that's what happens when everyone arrives at the same time and the staff do their best.The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly.
Will we stay there again?? you bet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gucks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Please to hear that you were pleased with your recent stay at the hotel. As a hotel we are proud of the positive customer service comments we receive and it is always something we continually try to improve on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed a few times in this hotel. Good location at The Albert Dock and close to everything. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast is continental and not much to speak about though. Wifi was awfully slow and needs to be speeded up. With all the new hotels popping up around the city centre this hotel has slipped down the pecking order.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knut1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

I'm not sure if the team at reception made you aware of the different WiFi options available to you at the hotel but we do offer dual speed internet access. The free WiFi has a limited bandwidth and can at peak times be slow, the premium WiFi access is charged at £5 per 24 hours and guarantees a high speed connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night during the 2011 Labour Party Conference, and I have to say I was most impressed.

Check-in was swift, the public areas clean and tidy and the room was huge for a budget hotel. This is a great example of how converting an old building (Docks) can be done well.

This hotel is next door to the Beatles Museum which also hosts a Starbucks if that's your thing, walking distance to many restaurants, bars and the conference centre. The city centre is a short walk away.

Would have no problems staying here again.

Room Tip: I always request a high-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your positive comments posted about the hotel. I hope you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and found the party conference beneficial - the hotel was certainly ideally located for your conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here at the end of January with my partner during a recent trip to Liverpool.
We absolutely loved Albert dock! Its an excellent location if you want a beautiful setting only 5 mins walk to the center of Liverpool One and the famous Mathew Street. There are plenty of bars/restaurants/nightclubs on your doorstep in Albert Dock too.
The Hotel itself was great value for money, the rooms are small but perfectly formed, the bathroom was a decent size containing a shower but no bath. The hotel is up two stories so all rooms have a view of Albert Dock or the Echo Wheel. There are two elevators and a stairs. The staff at reception were more than happy to help with any queries we had. A buffet breakfast was part of the deal at this hotel and was constantly being re-stocked so need to get up early to beat the rush. Hotel had a bar, wifi, a business centre and a place for left luggage.
The price we paid for all this for two nights was excellent! I would recommend this hotel to couples, stag/hen parties and familes just because there is so much for everyone around this area of Liverpool!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Dockside as its the opposite side to the entrances for all the bars and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel ideal and that the price you paid was value for money. I trust you enjoyed your stay in Liverpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Booked this hotel with lastminute.com at 11.30am for the same day, arriving at 2pm.

Twin room, bed & breakfast for 2 people £59.

Convenient car parking just outside the hotel, a little pricey at £15 for 24 hours. Apparently there is half price (£7.50) car parking in the nearby multi-storey car park for guests but I wasn't told about this on booking and had already parked and paid for my car when I found out. However I decided it was worth paying for convenience, as I've been unwell I didn't want to carry my bags any further than necessary and the car was close by if I needed it.

This hotel is on the Albert Dock and as I wanted to go to the Tate Liverpool art gallery (Alice in Wonderland Through the Visual Arts exhibition) the location was perfect. The large shopping centre is also only a short walk across the road and there are plenty of places to eat on Albert Dock and nearby.

The room was excellent - all you would expect from Holiday Inn - clean and very comfortable; very atmospheric and historical decor, lots of bare brick and steel girders; added bonus large window with a view over the marina and the boats, and the Liver buildings in the distance.

Breakfast was self service buffet - hot food only sausages and scrambled egg available (not very nice) but more than made up for it with selection of cereals, fresh fruit, grapefruit, fresh croissant, pastries, toast, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juices and hot beverages. Excellent value for money.

One cause for concern, the fire alarm woke us up at 8am and the building had to evacuated. There were no 'green man walking' signs to indicate the quickest route out of the building. Fortunately I'd worked out where the stair case was, but there was some confusion on the 3rd floor with people unsure which way to go. I will be passing on my concerns to Holiday Inn.

Overall, a pleasant, comfortable place to say; convenient for what I wanted to do an excellent value. Thoroughly enjoyed my time in Liverpool and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

As part of the Holiday Inn Group of hotels we do have to go through strict audits to confirm that the hotel not only meets and the service and quality standards but also that we are compliant to the comprehensive fire, life and safety standards. The hotel has always scored highly in all audits and fire signage has never been raised as an issued. We also underwent a through insprection by the local fire authority last week and again they were very satisfied will all aspects of fire safety within the hotel.
Please rest assured that the safety of our guests is paramount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing