We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable Stay in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Stay in a Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is the second visit to this hotel and I found it just as comfortable. The hotel is clean with spacious well appointed rooms and an unique atmosphere - how often does one stay in a converted warehouse I ask?. The rooms facing the Albert Dock have a stunning view. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were a little unimaginative with the only hot items being sausages and tired scrambled egg. However do not let this deter you as I recommend it highly and will certainly ask for room 406 again on my next visit. The hotel is well situated and will certainly be less nosiy than those in the city centre itself.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 -409 and others close by have excellent views of the Albert Dock and beyond. Very quiet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHull73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    593
    227
    40
    34
See reviews for
289
559
55
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

stayed here on 17th March 2012 for one night, a very warm welcome by all the staff, very nice peopleindeed. Our room was no 310 it over looked the docks beautiful view the room was very big high ceilings with some original brick work still on the walls fantastic, the room was very clean indeed the shower was hot too and the breakfast was fine with quite a lot to choose from.
I would be glad to stay here again and would advise anyone to stay thanks for a fantastic stay

Room Tip: room 310 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We recently booked two nights at this hotel, being great fans of all that Liverpool has to offer. I really wanted to book the Crowne Plaza hotel, which is part of the same group, but was unable to find a good deal, so was more than happy to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, as we had heard good things about it.

Firstly, the location and view from our room was unbelievable, the Albert Dock and Royal Liver Building beyond it were lit up at night and looked absolutely stunning. The windows could have been cleaner, however! The room was very pleasant and quite functional, with a good quality TV and comfortable bed. No complaints there.

As regards the reception staff, we did not find them to be exceptionally helpful and they didn't offer any unsolicited advice or help. For example, we were not told about the discounted parking or discount on meals at the restaurant next door; luckily, we had heard about the discounted parking and asked which car park to use. Also, we had heard that Priority Club members were entitled to free wifi; however, the lady at reception said that this was not the case. She then told us that there was free wifi, but it was not very good. We declined to pay, but found that the Albert Dock wifi was perfectly adequate for normal use.

There has been much discussion about the breakfast and I have no problem with the fact that the hotel has to work within the 'brand'. What I do object to is poor quality and the sausages which were offered were arguably the worst sausages I have ever come across! Surely there is no excuse for this; it would be better not to offer sausages at all if they are unidentifiable as such. Apart from that, I didn't think the breakfast was that bad.

I did think there was an air of penny pinching about this hotel, reflected in the ungenerous supply of tea bags and coffee sachets and the fact that the only newspapers available were those selling at 20p! However, the pluses outweighed the minuses and I would stay here again, if a cheap deal were available, if only for the view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your detailed posting about your recent stay at the hotel Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room.
I would just like to clarify the WiFi information. The hotel offers free WiFi to all guests, we also a premium speed WiFi for an additional cost which our Gold and Platinum Priority Club guests get complimentary due to their membership status.
I have spoken to the team on the front desk about them not being overly helpful, customer service is something we pride ourselves on at the hotel and from the majority of reviews something that we do very well a lot of the time, please accept my apology for this shortfal in service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

A great location on the Albert Dock with lovely views over the river from our room .A comfortable room and the hotel breakfast was good although some bacon would have made it better! A lot of noise from the adjacent club on saturday night and taxis coming and going. Would return to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Pleased to hear that the location of the hotel suited your stay in Liverpool. Holiday Inn Express brand standards do determine what we can have on the breakfast buffet, unfortunately bacon is not one of the items permitted. The hot items we do serve are sausages, scrambled egg and beans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E. England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express On Saturday 10th March. I had read the comments on Trip Advisor and noted the adverse comments regarding the poor breakfasts and noise problems, creaking floorboards ect.
When I made the reservation I asked for a room in a quiet position overlooking the Albert Dock. We were very happy with the room which had extremely comfortable twin beds and was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed a very good breakfast with a first class choice of food. I don't understand how anyone could complain about the quality of the breakfasts!
In conclusion The Holiday Inn Express was value for money in a wonderful central location and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Albert dock as the river view is boring
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our first visit and it turned out well. A no-nonsense kind of place, all clean and utilitarian with lovely Liverpool-typical staff; all smiles and quips. There are two rather small lifts to get up there, and then the views of the inside of the Albert Dock with the Liver Building in the background are attractive. The windows do open, despite first impressions and our room was larger than the average hotel room. It had a lovely bathroom; the tiles were so clean you thought they were new, with a great walk-in shower. Make sure you ask at reception for car parking and do not leave your car outside. The Echo Arena, five minutes walk away, has a £7.50 rate with special HI discount; this is well situated for a day's shopping in Liverpool One or a visit to the two museums near the Liver Building; or an evening with Westlife at the Echo.The maritime museum, especially the basement displays, is worth spending hours in, all free.

Yes, the breakfasts are poor on the warm savoury side and the sausages are overcooked and the beans not-Heinz; but the cakes and croissans are fresh, so concentrate on them, with plenty of butter and marmalade. Coffee is good and there is a choice of teas.

When we arrived, we had tea in our room, using the two-only tea bags. When I asked for replenishment at reception, they replied saying that they did not have any. Take your own tea bags!

All the rooms are a mix of twin and double beds. My single bed was very squashy; I'd have liked it with more support. But room service was excellent, with fresh covers and pillow cases.

The location is what puts it apart.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and decide for a double or a twin; they have both. Some rooms, for the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwales_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your detailed posting. Pleaed to hear that you enjoyed the views from the hotel and made the most of your time in Liverpool by visiting some of the many attractions.
Only providing two tea bags in each room is a Holiday Inn Express brand standard however further tea bags are available from either reception or housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great rooms, nice views, very clean, pleasent staff, excellent location. Poor parking, for Holiday Inn standards the breakfast (sausage, eggs) looked like they'd been there from the night before, no soundproof in rooms, rock hard bed that had sunk in the middle

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob35t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Following your comments posted on Trip Advisor, I would like to clarify the parking arrangements we have at the hotel. Pay and display parking is available on Albert Dock which is chargeable at £15 per 24 hours and is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The more cost effective parking arrangement is to use the multi-storey car park at the Echo Arena which with our discount voucher works out at £7.50 per 24 hours.
I'm not sure if you spoke to a member of the hotels management team whilst you were at the hotel regarding noise, however if you would like to discuss this further then please contact one of the duty manager or myself at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing