We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nautical feel, right on docks by museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Clean bedrooms, clean bedding and a nice breakfast
Rooms have ship like windows, right on albert docks close to shops, beatles museum, liverpool museum eyc
Lots of restrsunts / bars nearby
Great stay would reccomend if visiting liverpool

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myagolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, the buiding is part of the Grade I listed buildings of Albert Dock which is probably why the hotel has a nautical feel. Good to hear tha tyou would recommend the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a lovely view overlooking the Albert Dock. Everything is fairly basic but comfortable and considering the cost pretty good value.
Parking a bit of a walk to their recommended discounted car park
but everywhere else has similar parking issues it seems.
Don't expect luxury but it 'does what it says on the box' and the location
is great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Pleased to hear that you found the hotel value for money and the location of the hotel. We really do have an amazing location here on Albert Dock. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is such a great hotel especially the staff and the location. Everyone at reception were extremely helpful with giving us parking info, city information and generally being nice. The room had a great view with big windows and for the price I was not expecting such a food hotel!

Although the free breakfast was edible it was not nice at all, this was the only downside of our stay. Every buffet breakfast should have bacon! (Might just be a Yorkshire thing) either way the sausages were shrivelled up and the eggs were practically in a tub of water. Apart from that great hotel and great staff!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannahbethanylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Great to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful - they do try and deliver outstanding customer service at all times.
Please accept my apologies if our free breakfast didn't live up to your expectations - as with all Holiday Inn Express hotels the hot options included on our buffet are sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my partner.
I had brought him tickets for the Beatles Story Exhibition was a 10 second walk away from the hotel.
Our room, 313, had a lovely view of the dock and the hotel as a whole as in a brilliant position with ease to city centre and many lovely resturants near by.
However the hotel decor is dated, the bare brick work is let down by the cheap and old fashioned curtains and furniture.
The breakfast is included however it is very small with very little choice. The plates are also too small!!
Overall we had an enjoyable stay and as we only paid £55 for the room it was value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phippophippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Pleased to hear that you found the hotel value for money and the view from your room. Fully appreciate your comments regarding the hotel, we use all comments constructively to further improve on our quality and service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Positives
The location is brilliant a few metres from the water surrounded by the life of the Albert Dock. We were facing the big wheel - all lit up at night, short walk to Liverpool museum and Openeye Gallery. The staff were all pleasant and helpful without exception.

Our room the last double available was a smokers room. We are not smokers and we will never take a smokers room again. Smell not pleasant despite being clean. Having said that we were told all of the rooms are being changed to non smokers in the coming weeks. We had a room with the smallest of windows so the long room was very dark eg sitting on the bed in daylight I could not see in my bag to find the swipe card - thats how dark it was. The duvet was heavy like a mat not a duvet, well past its date no life left in it.. The shower room/toilet was fine.

The breakfast was a real weakness here. The buffet bar was too cramped in a "U" shape and more effective use could have been made of the space. Hot breakfast was scambled egg in large clumps surrounded by water, not tasting of eggs, sausages that looked as if they had been boiled, very pale and baked beans which must have been extra cheap with several black baked beans and shrivelled baked beans. The croissant was cold and hard/chewy.Cup of tea was good. We have stayed in Holiday Inns in the past and not had this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms wth the larger windows
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. You are correct in saying that the smoking rooms are being converted into non-smoking rooms, the final four rooms are being completed this week.

As you will have noticed when you checked into the hotel, we are part of the Albert Dock buildings which is a Grade I listed building - we have tried to ensure that we kept as many of the origional features as possible when renovating the building - hence all our rooms are different sizes and shapes. If you chose to stay with us again please give the hotel a call and I'm sure the reservations team will be able to help with room allocations for you.

In terms of breakfast, I will pass your comments onto the team and we will strive to rectify these issues.

Should you wish to discuss any of your points further please do not hesistate to contact a member of the hotels management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were annoyed that the hotel didn't have parking which it didn't state clearly. We stayed for 2 nights so ended up paying £30 to park for 2 days in Albert Dock just next to the hotel.
Aside from that, the room was great with a very nice view over the water. Bed was comfy, room was clean and the hotel was reasonably quiet for a bank holiday so we got a good night's sleep.
A couple of points- the pressure in the shower was very weak so very difficult to wash your hair if it's long and the staff were a bit disinterested. I waited ages to check in and then when I did check in, the receptionist went off to deal with another customer before he'd given me my key and room number so I stood waiting and ignored for quite a while which annoyed me a bit.
In general though, a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Please accept my apologies for your check in experience, as you will see from the majority of reviews on this site the team generally excel at customer service.

In terms of parking the alternative car park is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel but does work out slightly cheaper over a couple of days. As I am sure you can appreciate with the location of the hotel being on Albert Dock we don't have the space for our own car park and as such use those available to us locally,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we do appreciate all comments and use them to further improve on our quality and service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and I were booked into the Holiday Inn Express Liverpool to attend a concert. When we arrived we found the booking firm we used had cancelled our booking that morning! The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to ring around local hotels to try and find us accommodation.
We have stayed here in the past and the were all excellent then but they were outstanding in this occassion.
We will be booking this hotel again if we need to stay in Liverpool. It is so convenient for the Echo arena and they offer discounts at local car park and eateries for residents.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Wonderful to hear that you found the team so helpful - glad we could be of assistance during what I know what a really stressful and diffcult time for you. I hope you all enjoyed the concert that night.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £58 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing