We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Mirano, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent again.”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at and reviewed this hotel two years ago and am again writing to say how good it is.
We were given the same view as before - a big family room looking out right over the Albert Docks and got an excellent price by booking via the hotel's website.
I confirm what I wrote two years ago - great location, big room, friendly staff, even better breakfast and everything you need on the doorstep. Holiday Inn Express have got their formula just right, providing you with what you need at an honest price. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    614
    232
    40
    35
See reviews for
305
582
55
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Booked a last minute overnight stay for my family and we were not disappointed. While there is no onsite parking except for disabled drivers there is a multi story carpark not far from the hotel.We found the staff helpful and polite, our room was good and our view exceptional. it has to be said that I had the most undisturbed sleep that I have ever had in a hotel.
Breakfast satisfied my very fussy 4 year old and left us all ready for a day of sightseeing. I would, without doubt, make this our hotel of choice on our next visit to Liverpool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceypercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

As would be expected, this is a hotel which provides the essentials -- and no more. Our room was reasonably spacious -- with a view across the Mersey. The breakfast was a "bare bones" buffet effort. The staff were basically pleasant and helpful. Our only quibble is that the hotel is along the waterfront from a number of clubs -- and there can be a lot of noise on the weekend. Other than that, it was a decent enough place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This is our favourite hotel and we have now stayed here four times. The location is unbeatable (it's very difficult to get a bad view here - over the dock, over the river or over the street outside which is not too busy), the rooms are big, the corridors are enormous and the staff are generally great.

Unfortunately in four visits we have been interrupted on two of our four visits by cleaners letting themselves in to our room to clean it. It seems there is a real problem with rooms being marked as vacant when they are not (we didn't have the door locked as my boyfriend had just popped out to stick another parking ticket on the car - luckily this meant we were awake and able to shout out to stop the cleaner walking in).

Additionally today we swung open the curtains after dressing to find a window cleaner peering through our third floor window! Good job we had the curtains closed!

The breakfast also seems to have gone downhill slightly lately.. vegetarians have the option of pureed (microwaved) scrambled egg, toast, fruit and the tiniest packets of cereal I have ever seen. The croissants were at least 24 hours old if not older. When we had a quiet discussion between ourselves about this we were approached by a pretty abrupt member of staff asking what we were saying which I thought was a bit rude.

I would still completely recommend this hotel - it is our favourite in the UK after all - but I do think there are some areas where it could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank science_299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

After having a bit of trouble finding this hotel, we were thrilled by the room, the service, the location...everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djphysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

quite expensive for hi express paying for location hotel recommends park in arena car park 7.50 for 24 hours with voucher can park at pay and display opposite hotel but havr to keep feeding machine our room had brilliant view over albert dock rooms are very attractive with original features and exposed brickwork very cinvenirent for albert dock attractions and not too noisy even at night we came to do beatles attractions and very convenient for these new cooked items at breakfast were not a huge success egg was precooked and tasteless and dry sausages were beter but still dry otherwise good value

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Loved this hotel, the location was stunning, the hotel was an old warehouse grade 1 listed and it stood in a complex with other . hotels. Rooms were lovely. breakfast was help yourself buffet and they had just introduced hot buffet (scrambled egg /sausages)
staff friendly. 10 mins from town. Restaurants/Bars all round albert dock, loved Pizza
Express opposite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,582 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing