We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of the Albert Dock, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great view of the Albert Dock, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

This was a reasonable hotel with nice clean rooms
They gave us a lovely view of the albert dock because we agreed to join their priority club
The breakfast was not very good though, not much chice, we expected a little more.
The service was good and liked the location but just thought the hotel could have a little more atmospeher as it is in the heart of a vibrant city
Not an unpleasant experience, just not the best

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneils08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    587
    224
    40
    33
See reviews for
286
550
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Albert Dock on bank holiday Sunday for one night - due to the bank hol and problaby the fact there were various events in Liverpool the room was fairly expensive (as was much accomodation in Liverpool this weekend) we paid £100 for a double for one night. This reveiw is based in proportion to the price we paid - we would have probably rated it higher if we had paid the 'normal' rate.

The location is perfect. great bars / restaraunts / site seeing right on the doorstep. All the buildings have that typical dockside convertion feel, very nice indeed.

The hotel building is superb, it is in keeping with the dockside style, exposed brick walls, big open spaces etc. The rooms was big and we had a superb view of the docks. We had a nice big flat screen t.v, the bed was comfy. Plenty of hanging space. We only stayed one night but the room would have been more than comfortable for a stay of a week.

The bathroom was fine with a good shower (no bath) & it was clean but there was quite a bit of mildew round the bottom of the tiles, this gave the impression the floor was dirty, though it wasnt. Its not what i'd expect for £100 a night.

The other thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast as mentioned on many other reveiws. It seems that because the breakfast is included in the room rate (i.e not an optional extra you pay for additionally) they seem to thinks its ok to have a canteen style scrum. The items are not replenished - we went down at 9am & there was no bacon left. So for 'hot' items all we had a choice of was sausage & scrambled eggs, luckily they had bread buns so I could make a sausage sarnie, The last crossiont was taken by the person about 7 places in front of us the the que and they wearnt replenished until we had nearly finished our breakfast. There was jam for toast but again once it had all gone that was the lot. Again this is not what I expect from a hotel experience we had paid £100 for.

Had we paid £60 - £80 for the room these small things would have probalby not niggled however for £100 you do expect a little but more for your money.

On the upside the staff were nice & helpfull. If you stay here & use the Echo Arena multi story carpark ( a five minute walk over the dock area) you can get a 25% discount voucher - just ask reception. The price of parking there is £10 for 24 hours without the voucher.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

The holiday in express is great value for money at just £60 per night for 2 people. I have stayed at this hotel 2 times this year in July 2010 and August 2010 once for business and once for leisure. This hotel is situated in a great location on albert docks and has very friendly staff in the hotel (shower wasn't working, they sent someone up within 5 minutes). And the rooms are very spacious with 2 double beds and a good range of tv channels. it is great value for money for a budget travellers who can't afford to stay in 4-5* luxary but i feel this hotel is 4* because of its value for money and gives the basics. However the showergel was watered down to actual water on my second stay) and the view from the hotel was really good andbeats paying £200 per night in a 4-5* hotel and getting around the same service but the rooms aren't as great, they are for £60! With a great continental breakfast and staff allowing to take food out as well very relaxed and laid back. Also there was discounts to local restruants which came in handy !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Plus points - great location, easy to get to, huge clean rooms.

Minus points - hot breakfast limited ie water scrambled eggs and bacon - not quite what I was expecting from the new advertising. No orange juice - machine out of order - when asked whether there were cartons available told that all there was were apple or cranberry (which i didnt want) - and that was that...... Oh, and because there was no-air con in rooms had to open window and it was a bit noisy outside....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bluecardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights 17th & 18th August. Cheap & Cheerful. Did what it said on the tin, room okay, staff friendly and pleasant except for Winnie, poor Winnie. If looks could kill when asking Winnie if any bacon was being prepared to refill the empty tray on the servery I would be 6ft under by now. Fortunately I wasn't in the line of fire that a tray she was carrying took is it was dispatched from her hand onto a trolley at a vast rate of knots when I dared to ask the question. Clever me, I kept out of the line of fire as the new tray of bacon was delivered by Winnie with more speed than a scrm half sending it out to the backs. I then had the audacity to ask if the empty milk jug could be replenished. Dead lucky this time, or did I bottle it, managed to speak to a younger male member of staff who couldn't do enough for me!! Might be best if Winnie doesn't work front of house. The guy on reception was also very positive and helpful and saved the need for official complaint being handed in at time of departure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve&Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed here during a trip to Liverpool to watch Liverpool games, the hotel was in a good location, about a 15 minute walk from the train station in Lime Street and about 5 minutes from the central bus interchange with bus 500 to the airport. Room was clean, lucky enough to get a room with a view of the dock and the water, overall good value for money. Only thing was no air-conditioning, but the weather wasn't hot enough for that to be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

I have been a great fan of Holiday Inn Express since they started. I love the Liverpool hotel with its cavernous (appropriately enough!) spotless rooms with their fantastic views: the river Mersey, the new Conference Centre or the historic inner marina. There are problems with the breakfast. Dishes are not replenished quickly enough. Nobody really bothers/notices until you ask them. What is needed is someone in charge standing in the restaurant getting the other staff moving. Perhaps the manager? Breakfast is the only service that everyone experiences. The layout and what is offered could be improved. There is congestion around the tea and coffee stuck in a corner. But the area in which one eats is great: light, airy and with a great view. I would not stay anywhere else in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BASILVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing