We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't fault it, very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“can't fault it, very nice”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for one night in july and this was my second visit to the hotel. Lovely welcome from doorman and friendly reception staff. Rooms very nice and beds and pillows are soooooo comfy. Great location opposite the Liver building on the river front and surprisingly quiet. Not far to walk to the centre of town but only a few pounds in a taxi if wearing heels! Can't fault it, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

I am glad you enjoyed your time spent with us and where able to take advantage of our wonderful city’s attractions.

Thank you again for you kind words and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    799
    257
    83
    49
See reviews for
467
876
74
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room was really nice and very clean. Bed was soooooooo comfy. The pillow and pulse mist was a nice touch too. View very good, our room looked out onto the Mersey and Liver Building. Walking distance to Albert Dock, you could walk into the centre but not a good idea in heels (maybe a little far for that). If you book breakfast at check in its cheaper (be sure to check the price before you book though as there was some confusion with this when we paid the bill). The breakfast is great, lots and lots of choice and all freshly cooked. Bar and Lounge area really nice too. The pool looked great but we didnt have time to use it. They even allowed us to check out an hour later on the sunday for free. Only negative i would give is the church bells are a little annoying at times. All in all a good weekend. Parking is £10 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

It is always so nice to receive such positive reviews and I have made sure to share your comments with all our employees. We often boast to having the ‘Best Breakfast in Town’ so I am very happy you had the opportunity to enjoy it.

Once again thank you for your time, I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Spent 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool last fall. Had a wonderful stay and the hotel rooms were very clean and large in size for the UK. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and it was handy the downtown shopping & restaurant area and a 10 min walk to Albert Dock area.

The breakfast available in the hotel restaurant each morning was amazing...so much variety for all food tastes.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for business or casual travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happybluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are very fortunate in our location to be so close to the city’s many wonderful attractions. We also have a 24 hour reception team who will be more then happy to help you plan your stay and arrange for you to see what our great city has to offer.

Thank you again for your time and kind words of recommendation. I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Have stayed here a few times now and its a nice friendly place to stay. Breakfast is buffet style and you can eat as much as you like and they will cook you something special (i.e omelette etc) while you wait. We had a twin double bed room on this visit as we went with our son, room was nice spacious and view over the River Mersey was a nice bonus.

My only complaint was when we made the reservation we were not told about the £50 per extra person in a room when the person is over 12 years old, but we did not pay this time round. I have checked the website and it states when you book a family room children must be under 16 - no reference to this surcharge.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanesra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

I am very sorry to hear of the confusion that took place during your stay. There is an additional charge when adding an extra adult to a bedroom however this charge does not apply to children. If we are fortunate to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel please feel free to contact our hotel directly and they will be able to clarify if an additional charge would apply to your booking.

I appreciate your time and am grateful for all your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Everyone we encountered in the hotel from the wonderful doorman , Frank, to the desk staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, it was a delight!!! The room was clean and comfortable and the location fabulous for enjoying Liverpool's wonderful waterfront and the city itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillyfivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
I appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

I have made sure to pass along your kind words concerning our employees, including Frank. They were all very pleased to hear their dedication and hard work had been appreciated.

I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Arrived and was promptly checked in, Room wasnt ready as we were early. Took our mobile number and called to say that room was ready. Great food at breakfast, good leisure facilities nd rooms were lovely and clean. Great onsite parking as well. Would definently go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

It is always nice to receive such positive feedback and I am happy you enjoyed your time with us.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

At half the price this hotel would have been acceptable; at £160 it represents staggeringly poor value for money. For £80 there were numerous faults that I would have tolerated; but at this price, when a hotelier levees a four star tariff, I’m going to expect four-star amenities, comforts and service. Unfortunately the Liverpool Crowne Plaza simply does not meet these standards. It is a three star hotel, and a mediocre one at that.

At check-in, the polite, well-mannered receptionist struggled with the task of handling a multiple-room reservation. I suspect this was less down to a lack of technical skills on his part and more down to the hotel’s reservations system, which seemed unable to cope with this (surely not very unusual) situation. He then issued the room key cards in tacky, plastic receptacles - a piece of advertising for a Shrek movie. Guests at the Crowne Plaza are expected to retain these Shrek adverts as proof of residence when utilizing the hotel’s services. Call me old fashioned, but I prefer to be a guest, and not a walking advertisement.

In a further affront to taste and decency (not to mention four star hotel standards) I was refused the right to charge a tab to my rooms. The Crowne Plaza operates a pay-as-you-go system: guests must credit their room from their bank/credit card prior to ordering a drink at the bar or dining in the restaurant. Even the in-room minibars are locked, stocked only upon request, no doubt on a pre-pay basis.

Who are they expecting to come to stay? Thieving scallies? Con-merchants? And is it acceptable for any hotel to show such deep mistrust and cynicism towards its guests? Not to mention such poor business acumen.

On top of all this the rooms are corporate and uninspired, the health club is in need of modernisation and the bar does not serve any decent beer (no real ales, no imported lagers).
Breakfast was good but served in an unclean restaurant, the reason being a lack of anywhere near enough staff to cope with the volume of residents and guests.

Check-out was a similar experience to check-in – a £500 room charge even though I had prepaid through the website, as well as an (unfounded) accusation that I’d had more than two people staying in each room (£50 extra per head please).

It’s just not good enough. Not even close.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillJMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing