We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good But Could Be Better”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

It's difficult to review this hotel because there are good and bad points. Let's take the bad first, and there aren't too many, but they should be noted. The area in front of the hotel's revolving doors is dirty and does not create a good first impression. Sweeping it doesn't clean it unfortunately. The Lounge Bar definitely needs a lot of TLC. The carpet, chairs, and especially the tables, are shabby and worn. We fully expected to find a safe in our room but this wasn't the case. This is very strange for a mainly business hotel. Finally, the staff at breakfast could benefit from further training although the "egg" lady was great!

On to the positive points. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds comfortable. We had a really very quiet room on the second floor and everything worked well. The small bottles of water on our table every day, as well as the mints and biscuits to have with our tea or coffee were very welcome and a nice touch. And, as a first for us, there was a curtain clip which is an idea to be copied by other hotels since most of the curtains we have encountered always seem to gape.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, no problems there, and the breakfast was more than acceptable with something for everyone.

We would definitely stay there again and, hopefully by that time, the negative aspects mentioned above will be ironed out so to speak.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are quieter since there is no main road or car park in front of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    824
    267
    83
    51
See reviews for
484
927
76
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I attended a wedding here. Good welcome at reception, they advised me of all the amenities. Large parking area. Room was large and modern, very comfortable for the price. Close to a fairly decent shopping centre. I would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toralkeshwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just returned from a super three night stay at the Crown Plaza and I have to say the hotel was very good. The staff on the front desk were very helpful, offering lots of advice on restaurants and places to visit. The gentlemen who escorted us into breakfast each morning always had a smile and made us feel vey welcome.

We had a river view room with two double beds, the room was clean and comfortable and provided us with everything we needed for our stay.

My only negative comment would be that the hotel could do with updating its interior as its looking tired and worn in the corridors also the location is a little bit further from Liverpool One and all shops then we had expected, approx 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlife62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Read a lot of good reviews saying how attentive the staff were, we didnt agree, Breakfast was very good apart from the old Guy running the front desk. He showed us to a dirty table, so I asked him to take away rubbish on table, he left cleaning spray on table and when he returned I asked him to take it, he looked very irritated to say the least! Room was ok, very small, for the price we paid was dissapointed. It was our wedding anniversary and a plate of desserts was deliverd to our room which was nice, nothing bad to say particulary but certainly not Hilton standard, stick with what we know I think.

Room Tip: wish we had upgraded but rate was ridiculous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjmwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for one night on friday for my husbands Birthday i had booked and requested a river view room, on arrival i was greeted by a very pleasant young lady who advised me we had been upgraded to club status due to it being my husbands birthday. The room overlooked the river and was spotless, we went for a swim and it was great nice and rellaxing,just afew other people there, i had a look around the treatment room and spoke to a lovely lady there who was very informative and very friendly.We got ready and went to the club lounge where complimentary drinkes and canapes had been provided for us for two hours again we spoke to a lovely young man who couldnt do enough for us.
We went for our meal but before then we where presented with a birthday cake for my husband i thought it was a lovely touch.The following day we where told we had a complimentary continental breakfast in the club room lounge but unfortunately i dont like croissants so i had the normal breakfast in the restaurant which again was brilliant service, we where made to feel special all the way through the stay at this hotel and we are definately going back christmas week with our children, we had a lovely rtelaxing quality time together after a bad year,where for 24 hrs we could forget our troubles and enjoy each others company thanks this meant a lot to us the staff went the extra mile always smiling and i think the bad reviews on here arent warranted and it seems they expect too much. would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I am a Platinum Priority Club member who, wherever possible, will stay at IHG properties. Stay at these hotels (usually Crowne Plaza or Holiday Inn) on average 80 nights a year.

Checked in here and was pleased to see some nice touches for Platinum Guests, a welcome snack to be delivered to the room - fruit kebabs etc; a choice of one of four other benefits (included free drinks at the bar, free internet for 24 hours etc.). I had requested a quiet room (the front of this hotel is on a six lane road) and this was acknowledged on check-in and was advised that this had been allocated. It went down-hill from here....

The room had two double beds but was immediately apparent that the room hadn't been hoovered as there were "bits" all over the carpet, dust all along the skirting boards, even bits of food when you moved the curtain.

There was a wedding on the Saturday evening and the music was audible until gone 1am, not just a quiet noise but the full beat and clearly recognisable tunes! I was on the third floor (there's only four floors) in a "quiet room" so this isn't good enough. At 06:20 I woke to the sound of a ringing telephone - it was next door receiving their wake-up call - the walls are that thin!

Used the leisure facilities, the gym is mixed, some great cardio equipment but very tired in places. The pool area was over-run with kids so think twice if you're thinking of a relaxing break, it's not just a small pocket of time they can use the pool, it's virtually all of the time.

Sunday evening came and another function. At 11:20pm with music equally as loud as the previous night, I telephoned reception to find out what time it would be finishing - midnight. So at 01:20 it eventually finished. This was 01:20 on a Monday morning when most guests at the hotel were staying to attend a major conference being held in the city. Totally unacceptable. No guessing what happened at 06:20 Monday morning.... so a grand total of about 4 and half hours sleep in my "quiet room"!

I complained to the Duty Manager who offered to move me to a different room but I didn't return until 11pm so was too late. After the two horror nights, the others weren't as bad, although shame you can't open windows. The rate for the first two nights is to be refunded, initially one night was offered but refused. The room rate that week was in excess of £200/night.

Internet is at £7.50 which is far less than other places but should be free like at some hotels.

As soon as rooms became available at Staybridge Suites I moved there, having not stayed there before, I thought it had to be better and it was - see my review of that property, 5 out of 5.

In summary:
- dirty
- noisy
- leisure facilities over-run by kids
- expensive
- terrible value for money

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting a quiet room as you'll not get a room free from noise anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattyc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A good internet deal for a Thursday night stay. The hotel has a great location down at the waterfront but convenient for city centre places. The fixed price dinner was good as was the breakfast although service in the evening was a little bit slow at times. The room was very comfortable and even though at the rear of the hotel overlooking the main road it was quiet. Check in and check out were very efficient although the reception was not busy at either time. The hotel is very close to Liverpool Moorfields railway station which is useful.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the waterfront which is nicer thanoverlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,658 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,417 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
3,178 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing