We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart urban hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Smart urban hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Crowne Plaza is a decent enough urban hotel – we got a room with a water from view for about £80 which was pretty decent. The rooms are well furnished and the views really are superb – well worth the extra if you can afford it. Watching the lights of the other buildings from bed was wonderful. We only had breakfast which was vast – wide range of fruit (including things like lychees and mangoes!), everything cooked you could imagine as well as everything continental. It does what it does well – perhaps, in truth a little urban for us – but is not their fault – that is exactly what they set out to do

Room Tip: Pick a waterfront view - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this brilliant review of the hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and our amazing views of the city's waterfront, they are quite spectacular!

We pride ourselves on having the 'best breakfast in town', we do offer a large variety as you said, with great service, therefore I am thrilled that you experienced this whilst staying with us.

I hope you do return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    776
    252
    80
    47
See reviews for
449
838
74
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I use this hotel regularly for business trips to Liverpool, it is far enough away from the centre of town to avoid the noise but close enough to walk in if you want to.

Rooms are usually decent quality, good selection of TV channels, gym and pool very good, Bar food and drink selection decent.

Some minor negatives -

Have to cross a major road to get to it, there are crossing lights but sometime can take a while usually when it is raining.

The car park is expensive - but at least it has one.

They do have corporate/wedding functions - these can be noisy and spill out into the bar.

Room Tip: try and get one on the second floor or above to avoid the noise from functions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember05062064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback on the hotel following your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoy the use of our leisure club when staying with us.

The hotel's location is great and very ideal, as you said far enough so our guests aren't disturbed but close enough to walk into town and all the hot spots of the city.

With regards to our secure car park we offer a competitive rate compared to all the city centre hotels in Liverpool.

Hope to see you again in the future at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Reception and concierge so helpful and friendly.excellent customer service made our stay in this lovely hotel very memorable.a special thank you to Michael and Frank.great location,food and service.there was no problem checking in early and we could use the gym and spa after we had checked out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinejoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at the hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with our staff, Frank and Michael were very happy with your comments about them, its always a real boost for staff when they are highlighted for their great customer service.

I am very glad you were able to use our great leisure club here at the hotel.

I hope to see you and your party return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

we stayed here November 8th to 10th, our welcome from staff was friendly and professional, we were very pleased with our room overlooking the dock, spacious and clean with everything we needed and more, not that we spent much time in our room as we were there to enjoy the sights, pubs and food. it is close to city without being in the thick of it. ten minute walk and you are in the centre. albert dock is a short walk away past the liver building. we love Liverpool and would stay here again, we didn't have breakfast as we thought it was a lot to pay on top of room price, so we ate elsewhere, there is plenty of choice anyway just a short walk away. didn't use the pool as we spent all our time out but it looked lovely, our friend went for a swim and sauna on first day, he said it was clean and warm and not busy, I would recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring this wonderful city. can't wait to return.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking dock and not main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review on the hotel following your recent stay.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much and were happy with your room , cleanliness and location of the hotel.

Its always nice to see when our guests are so happy with the city as well, Liverpool is a great place with plenty to see and do.

Just like you cant wait to return, we cant wait to see you back here again.

Hope to see you soon at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South America
Level Contributor
453 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location close to Liverpool 1 and the Albert Dock. The staff were friendly and room was a good size. The breakfast while offering a good choice could be improved upon, a minor criticism that would not stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be in such a great location, we are very central to the hot spots of the city.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the choice of breakfast and while it may not have been to your standards, you would return.

It is always great to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay that much that they will come back here, its a real boost for the whole team here.

Hope to see you in the future at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Situated next to the Liverbird building in Princes Docks the hotel is ideally situated for exploring the docks and Liverpool city centre – both of which are a few minutes’ walk away – with the added convenience of being able to park your car on site for a reasonable fee (£20 for the weekend Fri – Sun).

The hotel has a modern feel and buzz to it and although the room (std double, room 325) had no ‘wow’ factor it had everything you need and furnished in a practical manner with plenty of storage and shelving. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the sound proof excellent (we were facing onto a 6 lane dual carriageway but heard no traffic noise) so we enjoyed a really good night’s sleep for both of our nights.

The breakfast was really good. The usual hot and cold buffet offerings together with hot porridge, but the quality of the food and the way it was cooked put it above other hotel buffets. “The best breakfast in Liverpool” boasted the sign – well I haven’t tried any others so can’t say whether it is true or not but the others would have to go some to beat it!

Unusually all the hotel staff seemed to be local with lovely thick Liverpool accents and all very professional and friendly.

All in all an ideal base for staying to explore what Liverpool has to offer.

I didn’t try the leisure facilities but the gym looked really well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for such a great review on the hotel from your recent stay.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay here with a really good nights sleep.

We pride ourselves on having 'the best breakfast in town', so its brilliant to see that you enjoyed the choice and standards that we provide for our guests.

The hotel has a great location, and I can see that you found it an ideal base while exploring our great city.

I hope you return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A group of us came here on a Saturday for a birthday and we had a great time. Friendly staff when checking in, they even let us check in earlier as we arrived early. The rooms and facilities were lovely, the breakfast was amazing so much choice! I was even able to order a sandwich to my room when we came in after midnight! we also relaxed in the pool/jacuzzi/sauna the next day, all part of the room cost! One of our group complained about a disturbance in the next room - some people were having a party through to the morning, although the staff dealt with the complaint right away and knocked money off the overall bill. Very good customer service, overall everything was brilliant!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Carly,

Thank you for this lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am so glad that you had such a great time here.

I do apologise that you were disturbed by noise of another guest, but I am happy to see that this was quickly resolved by our reception team.

Our guests comfort and overall experience is paramount to us and therefore we work hard to ensure this.

Hope you return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#31 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing