We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

4 star ? Rooms with no safe, no trouser press, not what I expect when travelling.
I have been coming here often but am now realising how you overlook things due to good staff, but on this visit that has gone.
Business travellers I suggest you look elsewhere

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Droitwichrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest, we are sorry the room type you were allocated did not have a safe in, unfortunately not all of our bedrooms do, however we do have safety deposit boxes behind our reception desk for your personal belongings where you can access 24 hours a day with your own key. In regards to the trouser press, please accept our apologies for this. All of our room should have them in, if you could provide me with the room number I will certainly investigate into this. We thank you for your loyal custom and we hope you will return so we can demonstrate our excellent customer service skills. Should you wish to book to stay here with us agian, please contact me directly and I will make sure your room has a safe and a trouser press in.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a lovely stay here for Mother's Day. Lovely comfy, clean room with a river view. Very friendly staff on reception, in the bar area and in the breakfast room. Excellent breakfast. Stayed in a room with a river view. Loved it...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on such a wonderful stay you had with us on Mothers Day. I truly appreciate your comments and I am very happy see our friendly staff took care of you. I am glad to read how you enjoyed our ‘best breakfast in town’ in our lovely river view room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre on a Sunday evening, we had booked a suite which was very well appointed, good king sized bed, lovely bathroom with excellent facilities and huge bath towels. Both the receptionist and the concierge were charming and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was good and both food and plates were hot.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, being in a good location and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest, I cannot express my gratitude on how pleasing it is to read such a good comment regarding your stay here with us. It is always a pleasure to see how our guests enjoyed their stay and how much an impression our wonderful staff had on you. I will certainly pass on your comments to our reception and concierge team, and I do agree with you on our perfect location. We thank you for your recommendation on the hotel and I truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having tried a few other hotels in Liverpool in previous months, I opted for the Crowne Plaza this time. Hotel staff very friendly and check in was swift - always a bonus - room was fine but was a tiny bit tired looking and the bathroom smelt a bit fusty. However, the room was very warm despite what setting the temp guage was set at and the windows are sealed shut! My room was overlooking the road and quite ugly but no road noise from 4th floor.

Breakfast was excellent whereas the evening meal food was average and after only two nights, the limited menu was boring. Bar staff were lovely & friendly.

I used the gym, pool, sauna etc which were busy, but not too busy. All very clean & most importantly, everything was working which was great.

The free Wifi is VERY slow. Don't know what the paid for wifi speed is like but the free stuff is almost useless. Also, even though you can get over 70+ TV channels for free at home, Hotel only provide about 15 UK channels which was not great.

Hotel situated in a great area by docks with loads of bars, restuarants, attractions, etc and great to walk around.

I will stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the docks. I didn't but I should have as the other side overlooks a 6 l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I happy to see you opted for our hotel and found your stay enjoyable and I agree we are well situated. I am delighted to see that you found the staff to be excellent, as they are responsible for leaving our guests with a lasting impression.
However, I can also see your room was not up to our normal high standards, and the temperature was very warm please accept our apologies for this. All of the windows in the room do not open for the safety of our guests.
With regards to your view from the room, we do have waterfront rooms which you can book for the next time you stay with us. I happy to see you got to use our leisure facilities and everything was clean and working.
I am sorry for our WIFI connection being slow during the stay, our premium access is for anything higher which requires any downloading or video calling and you can purchase this at our reception desk.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is located adjacent to the Liver Building and is a short walk from all the major attractions. It was much better value for money than its nearest rivals. Liverpool, generally, is a walkable city, although a one hour tour on the open top bus is great for identifying the attractions and their relative locations. The hotel and its facilities are to the standard normally expected from four star chain hotels. It is comfortable and the service is good although the bar is very expensive. The rooms are a little smaller than comparable chain hotels although the bathroom was quite large. On balance; we were quite pleased with our choice and would return here if the prices continue to be competitive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review on your stay here with us at the hotel. I am very happy to see you found our hotel better value to other hotels in the city, and you enjoyed your time sightseeing. I personally recommend the hop on hop off bus as it’s a great way to see the city and all the attractions our wonderful city has to offer. I am also happy to see you enjoyed your stay overall and your comments on the bar prices have been taken onboard. With regards to our prices booking directly through us either on the telephone or online, we can guarantee the best price for you.
Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

First things first, the beds are really comfy. The bath towels are large and fluffy and they have facecloths too! The room was clean and a reasonable size. The staff too were helpful (especially Lydia in the restaurant), But the place does need a refurb. It really did not impress.

Although our room was clean the furniture had seen better days. There was even some sticky plastic stuff on the desk to hide the damage. And why do hotel rooms have such poor lighting?

As members of the rewards club we received a 10% voucher when we checked in. This could only be used once so we thought we would use it towards drinks over dinner.

The restaurant too was hit and miss. Clearly needed some new furniture. Our table was very scratched. The silver rail around the wall too, although it was clean it was tarnished and needed replacing. We had dinner here, we paid the supplement which was £50. What it didn't say was that it was towards the meal and not for the meal. We came in under budget because we didn't have a sweet (mainly because it was a limited choice) but we couldn't use that towards our drinks. I couldn't understand why.

I had a butternut squash and wild mushroom risotto that was nothing short of excellent. So I as salivating waiting for my main course; one of my favourites, belly pork This arrived as a well presented dish. But it disappointed in oh so many ways. The crackling was more rubber than crackle. The meat was tough and dry. It lacked that juicy melt in the mouth texture that good belly pork has; and the sauce, or gravy was wishy washy with little flavour. My husband had a goats cheese bruchetta to start which he said was short on cheese. His chorizo and pork burger was ok but wasn't subtly flavoured with the Chorizo as describeed but rather dominated it; but this was fine as he likes chorizo.

We had a bit of a mishap in the dining room as my husband knocked a glass of red wine over. I was covered. The head waiter was stood behind us chatting to some clearly more important guests because he just glanced around and handed my partner a serviette and carried on his conversation. But thankfully one of the waitresses (who I think was called Lydia) came to our rescue and helped us to mop it all up. The other gentleman did approach us after the important people had left and asked were we ok. But by then we were thanks to Lydias assistance. He did redeem himself later however by giving us some tips on where to go for a drink and he did arrange a taxi for us. We had a drink in the bar when we came back. My husband was a bit put out that the other tables in the bar at the time were offered snacks but we weren't. A small thing I know but .........

Which brings me to location. Not a bad spot but a little way out of the main city centre and a fairly reasonable walk to the nearby Albert Dock where there are restaurants and bars and some of the tourist sites. Tip: the red sightseeing tour bus stops outside the hotel the other one doesn't.

We tried out the pool and again there was a feeling that everything was tired and in need of a bit of a remodel. The ladies changing rooms are a floor above the pool area and you descend via a spiral staircase. Oh and wear flip-flops or something as the floors are lethally slippery. The pool is a nice length but like so many pools today very shallow. Only 1.3 meters deep. Why oh why don't they tell you that in the blurb. I like a deep pool.

Breakfast was good. There was a good variety of fruit and the usual choice of hot food (although I did have to ask for someone to attend to provide fried eggs which are cooked to order)

We drove and there is a £10 overnight parking charge but they kindly allowed us to stay in the car park after we'd checked out so we could do a bit of sightseeing.

Overall a reasonable hotel but doesn't quite make the four stars for mark for me - I felt a little let down by the rating. The wine and eggs issues are why I have marked down the service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtravellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear intrepidtravellerx2,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the condition of the room. I am also sorry that the food served did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hi, I stayed here on business a few nights ago. It wasn't my first choice but it was OK. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom facilities are clean. The breakfast was good and though I wouldn't rush back, I would stay there again if I had to. There are however cheaper available at this standard

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roastspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear RoastSpud,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and bathroom facilities clean. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,910 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £74 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing