We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked one nights stay to celebrate my birthday. I booked through booking.com and requested a quiet room with river view.
Check in is 2pm, we arrived about 1:45pm but were checked in as room was ready. I was not given a river view and pointed this out to the girl on reception. The hotel was very busy, I told her it was my birthday and she upgraded us to an executive room 126 with a view at no extra cost.
The rooms are not massive but they are adequate with good storage. I read reviews saying hotel was tired, yes it could do with an update but you only noticed this if you looked for it.
Our room was clean, the bed was comfy and lovely pillows.
The staff were lovely and very polite, from the reception, cleaners and waiting staff. We unpacked and went off out, when I got back there was a birthday card, and lovely piece of cake in the room, so thoughtful. We had the early bird dinner, two courses for £11.95 I think. This was very nice and all tasted home made.
Wine was pricey, but then it is a hotel. When we arrived back from dinner the bed had been turned down and two bottles of water and two chocolates were put by the bed.
Breakfast was ok, some bits were raw or undercooked like the bacon and black pudding but there was a fair choice of food. Sadly we did not get chance to use the pool as there was so much else to do. The rooms had bathrobes, toiletries iron and hair dryer, also a fridge, coffee etc.
Overall lovely stay, friendly helpful staff., I would stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    776
    252
    80
    47
See reviews for
449
839
74
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely hotel, great location. a wonderful place to relax after a busy day.
Facilities are great, Changing rooms for pool\sauna are a bit cramped.

Parking cost is quite high for the area, There are cheaper options close by but just need to balance convenience with cost. next time I would not park in the hotel but next door where its £3 per day.

Room Tip: Lower floors, closer to the pool and bar areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -Baz-Stastic-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

4 star ? Rooms with no safe, no trouser press, not what I expect when travelling.
I have been coming here often but am now realising how you overlook things due to good staff, but on this visit that has gone.
Business travellers I suggest you look elsewhere

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Droitwichrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest, we are sorry the room type you were allocated did not have a safe in, unfortunately not all of our bedrooms do, however we do have safety deposit boxes behind our reception desk for your personal belongings where you can access 24 hours a day with your own key. In regards to the trouser press, please accept our apologies for this. All of our room should have them in, if you could provide me with the room number I will certainly investigate into this. We thank you for your loyal custom and we hope you will return so we can demonstrate our excellent customer service skills. Should you wish to book to stay here with us agian, please contact me directly and I will make sure your room has a safe and a trouser press in.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a lovely stay here for Mother's Day. Lovely comfy, clean room with a river view. Very friendly staff on reception, in the bar area and in the breakfast room. Excellent breakfast. Stayed in a room with a river view. Loved it...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on such a wonderful stay you had with us on Mothers Day. I truly appreciate your comments and I am very happy see our friendly staff took care of you. I am glad to read how you enjoyed our ‘best breakfast in town’ in our lovely river view room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgworth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre on a Sunday evening, we had booked a suite which was very well appointed, good king sized bed, lovely bathroom with excellent facilities and huge bath towels. Both the receptionist and the concierge were charming and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was good and both food and plates were hot.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, being in a good location and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest, I cannot express my gratitude on how pleasing it is to read such a good comment regarding your stay here with us. It is always a pleasure to see how our guests enjoyed their stay and how much an impression our wonderful staff had on you. I will certainly pass on your comments to our reception and concierge team, and I do agree with you on our perfect location. We thank you for your recommendation on the hotel and I truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having tried a few other hotels in Liverpool in previous months, I opted for the Crowne Plaza this time. Hotel staff very friendly and check in was swift - always a bonus - room was fine but was a tiny bit tired looking and the bathroom smelt a bit fusty. However, the room was very warm despite what setting the temp guage was set at and the windows are sealed shut! My room was overlooking the road and quite ugly but no road noise from 4th floor.

Breakfast was excellent whereas the evening meal food was average and after only two nights, the limited menu was boring. Bar staff were lovely & friendly.

I used the gym, pool, sauna etc which were busy, but not too busy. All very clean & most importantly, everything was working which was great.

The free Wifi is VERY slow. Don't know what the paid for wifi speed is like but the free stuff is almost useless. Also, even though you can get over 70+ TV channels for free at home, Hotel only provide about 15 UK channels which was not great.

Hotel situated in a great area by docks with loads of bars, restuarants, attractions, etc and great to walk around.

I will stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the docks. I didn't but I should have as the other side overlooks a 6 l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I happy to see you opted for our hotel and found your stay enjoyable and I agree we are well situated. I am delighted to see that you found the staff to be excellent, as they are responsible for leaving our guests with a lasting impression.
However, I can also see your room was not up to our normal high standards, and the temperature was very warm please accept our apologies for this. All of the windows in the room do not open for the safety of our guests.
With regards to your view from the room, we do have waterfront rooms which you can book for the next time you stay with us. I happy to see you got to use our leisure facilities and everything was clean and working.
I am sorry for our WIFI connection being slow during the stay, our premium access is for anything higher which requires any downloading or video calling and you can purchase this at our reception desk.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is located adjacent to the Liver Building and is a short walk from all the major attractions. It was much better value for money than its nearest rivals. Liverpool, generally, is a walkable city, although a one hour tour on the open top bus is great for identifying the attractions and their relative locations. The hotel and its facilities are to the standard normally expected from four star chain hotels. It is comfortable and the service is good although the bar is very expensive. The rooms are a little smaller than comparable chain hotels although the bathroom was quite large. On balance; we were quite pleased with our choice and would return here if the prices continue to be competitive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review on your stay here with us at the hotel. I am very happy to see you found our hotel better value to other hotels in the city, and you enjoyed your time sightseeing. I personally recommend the hop on hop off bus as it’s a great way to see the city and all the attractions our wonderful city has to offer. I am also happy to see you enjoyed your stay overall and your comments on the bar prices have been taken onboard. With regards to our prices booking directly through us either on the telephone or online, we can guarantee the best price for you.
Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#33 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing