We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BAD SERVICE COST THE HOTEL £45”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE COST THE HOTEL £45”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I always stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotels mainly because of the type of rooms they offer. However, on this occasion, my wife asked for a toasted tea cake whilst waiting for the room to be ready. The waiter arrived 10 minutes later with some kind of bread on a small plate and dropped in on the table without any attention. It was a disgrace, and a lack of respect for the customer. After complaining to Eve (Manager) she apologised and offered us free dinner at the Brasserie as compensation. By the way, my wife had the sea bass which was drowned in butter (see photo).

I was livid and fuming at the lack of care by the incompetent and unprofessional chef. The staff at the bar are young and untrained with very little customer service skills. The hotel needs to do something about the poor quality and attention to service and the food.

I want to thank Eve for listening and trying to make our stay a pleasant one. I get angry to receive poor service at a hotel that I like and enjoy staying at. I am terribly disappointed with the poor service that this hotel offers at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest, we feel we give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of your comments regarding the service of the food and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests. I am happy Eve was understanding and helpful towards this issue. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for your time you have taken to post a comment on the hotel and we hope you will return to the hotel in time to receive a more relaxed and professional service which you expect.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    788
    254
    81
    48
See reviews for
460
863
74
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed for one night and this hotel is over-priced. In addition parking and breakfast were charged extra. The room was adequate, although the air conditioning was not working sufficiently well to air the room (window screwed shut).
The bathroom was dated - horrible shower curtain around the bath.

Breakfast was standard hotel fare - nothing special. Same with the service.

The location is good for the Liver building, the Mersey and the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel, we take all your comments on board to continually improve for the future. Our windows are closed for the safety of all our guests, as the position of the hotel is on the waterfront and the wind and weather conditions can be very severe. However we have air-conditioning units circulating fresh air at a suitable temperature. Once again you for your time and we truly hope you will return in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at crowne plaza Liverpool. Hotel is beautiful, spotlessly clean and all staff were lovely. Restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very nice. We had room 400 which gave an amazing view over the Mersey. Will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen100Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Karen form Glasgow, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a wonderful 5 star review on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. It was a pleasure to read how much you both enjoyed your visit to the hotel and how you will be retuning to stay here with us. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a mini break. Staff at the hotel were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Location was spot on. Breakfast was good with a decent enough variety of food. This hotel was in fact cheaper than the travelodge for the Saturday night!! My only minor complaint would be for a 5 star hotel rooms could be updated with perhaps walk in showers which is standard for most high quality hotels. This is only a minor complaint and I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HurstyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Visitor, Thank you very much for posting a brilliant review on your recent stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool City Centre. We truly appreciate the time you have take to share your views on our hotel with other travellers. We will certainly take your comments on board with regards and the shower and shower certain, as we are always looking at ways we can improve for the future. We look forward to welcoming you stay here with us again.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Crown plaza at princess dock in Liverpool and had a great stay.friendly and helpfull staff and our room overlooked the river Mersey .

Our room was number 400 and I would recommend this room to others going here .The bathroom and towels were luxurious as were the toiletries and our bed was really comfy as well .

Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of selection .The bar prices were very reasonable as well .All in all a great stay and will return again .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzaruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting a wonderful 5 star review on our hotel. It is always pleasing to read how much our guests enjoyed the stay with us at the Crowne plaza Hotel Liverpool City Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are visiting the city.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived on an early flight from Dublin and went to leave our bags in to the hotel as we assumed no rooms would be ready at 9am. The girl in reception went and checked and found us one which was great and unexpected. She advised it was street facing so might be noisy from the traffic but we weren't bothered.

The room was beautiful, nice comfy bed and a big bright bathroom with proper bath towels that wrap around you fully rather than barely cover you(easily amused). They provide free bottles of water and chocolates which are replenished every day. TV has sky sports along with all the standard channels which was handy

We were provided with a map of the city and shown where all the touristy stuff and shopping areas were. The girl was really helpful but i never caught her name. Nothing was to much for them from getting taxis to providing us local information.

Breakfast was lovely with loads of options and all freshly made. Staff were really nice and pleasant. The bar food was great but i thought a bit expensive but was filling and did the job.

We had an early flight when leaving and i asked could we have something to eat before we left and to the night managers credit he left coffee, pastries, pancakes, orange juice and fruit out for us which was really appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are better for scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for posting a fantastic 5 star review on our hotel. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your knowledge of the hotel and the city to other travellers looking to visit the city. It is lovely to read how we provided you with your room early and how our helpful reception staff was there to assist you showing you the best places to see and things do in Liverpool. I am very happy to read how our service didn’t stop there either, how our friendly night staff also provided you a packed lunch for your return journey which is brilliant. We truly hope you return to the hotel for a more enjoyable service and stay with us. We look forward to your return visit to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff are friendly and are happy to help it’s in a nice location. The food in the restaurant was very good with a wide selection and some nice wines available by the glass. The room was very comfortable but hot on arrival it took a long time to cool down if it had been a warm night it would have been an issue. Nice sized pool but the changing rooms need updating as they are old and grubby. I went for a swim at 6pm on arrival and after the towel return box was over flowing on to the floor, I swam at 8am next morning and whilst the pile of used towels was lower it was still nearly full so my towel ended up on the floor. The whole leisure facility needs an upgrade/update if this was done it would make it a first class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river as they are quieter and have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Martin G, thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay here with us at the hotel. It was lovely to read how you enjoyed your stay and your meal in our restaurant and you were pleased with the selection of wines we have on offer for all of our guests. Thank you very much for your comments on our leisure facilities I am sorry you had to experience this and I will certainly pass on these comments to our Harbour Club Manager who is always looking on ways we can improve on for the future. We truly hope you will choose to stay here with us again in the future, as we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing