We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good Hotel, worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel is situated right on the waterfront and opposite the Liver Building, could not be better for views, outdoor seating areas etc.

Car Park on site was a bonus, Check in was busy, but quite quick to get to room with bags. Room is not old or new, somewhere in the 1990s middle ground, pleasant enough for a one night stay.

We used the Club facilities for a drink in the evening, which only serves alcohol for an hour, hardly worth it, as most Crown Plaza hotels have a service for 2-3 hour in the evening. Still soft drinks and coffee were available all day. The room needs some sort of rethink, as it feels more like a Dr's waiting room, very sterile and not at all to the same modern standard of the main bar.

The gem in the crown for this hotel is that it has a gym and pool, with steam and sauna etc. However it is let down by the desk staff, who don't make eye contact, chat with other workers, and on our exit, simply ignore you. We had to ask for everything, considering we have never been before, we had to ask for towels and then go back for a lock for the locker.

The changing facilities need some modernisation, as they are a bit tired and a costume dryer would be handy.

Bar Staff on the evening were brilliant, very good, friendly service and a credit to the hotel. They helped us with directions, and at the end of the night chatted about the hotel and the city.

Overall I would visit again, however would not look at the Club Lounge as an option.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear traveller, please allow me to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here with us at the hotel; we truly value your feedback in order for us to improve our products and services. In relation to our club lounge, we do serve beers, wine and canapés betweens 5-7pm every evening. Thank you for comments on the room and we will make sure they are passed to management for any future changes to this room. With regards our harbour reception staff, please accept our sincere apologies for the standards in customer service, I will personally speak to the leisure management who will act upon this accordingly with any necessary retraining being carried out. As this is certainly not the standards of service we offer to our guests. However thank you very much for your kind comments on our bar staff which is very nice to read they assisted and gave you information on our city. We truly hope you would return to our hotel in the future as we would like the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We used this hotel as it is right next to the Liver Building and a nice walk from all the dock areas.

Special thanks to the restaurant staff who were brilliant at looking after our two young ones, i have never been to a more friendly hotel.

I use Crowne Plaza a lot for work and this was one of the best

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your stay here with us at the hotel. Your comments on our restaurant staff are much appreciated and I will make sure they will get congratulated for their hard work and good customer interaction with your children. That is very pleasing to see you found out hotel one of the best. Thank you once again and I hope you will come and visit us in the near future.
Best Wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

amazing hotel by city centre and river mersey good value for money, went for partners birthday, got a free upgrade for the occasion to business class, were we has unlimited drink! spa and pool was great service was fantastic will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHonestExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a fantastic comment on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. I am so happy to see you both enjoyed the stay and made use of the complimentary beers and wines between 5-7pm in our club lounge. Once again thank you for your time and we hope we will be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our visit to Liverpool this time was to join friends for the visit of the famous Giants ,it was spectacular. The Crowne Plaza was at it's very best despite dealing with 2 weddings and a full hotel, the staff never failed in their service and standards it was AS USUAL a great stay, visiting friends were amazed by the overall attitude shown by everyone at the hotel. We try to return to this hotel whenever we can. The hotel's policy of employing local people is excellent and adds to the overall charm.

Room Tip: River view room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza hotel Liverpool. I am so happy to read how you enjoyed the watching the Giants in our city. Thank you for your kind words on the service and the staff during the stay. It is an absolute pleasure to read this, with regards to the local employers we have working I agree it is great as they create individual and personal touches to every guests stay. We hope you would return to Liverpool and stay here with us at the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in Liverpool specifically for the Beatles museum. This hotel is within walking distance of the museum which is on the docks plus it's close to the city centre. Rooms were fine, standard hotel room. We decided to have breakfast at the many cafes/restaurants to save some money. Overall, staff were helpful and general atmosphere/cleanliness was good.
If you're driving, there is a small carpark at the front of the hotel which was a little disappointing as it rained the whole time. We were expecting an underground secure carpark with a hotel this size. The main road is fairly busy but you wouldn't know inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on your recent stay here with us. I am happy to see our hotel suited your needs as it was walking distance from the museums and the Albert Dock. I am also glad to see our staff were friendly and helpful towards you. However I am sorry to read how you felt our car park was small, but we have additional car parking spaces around the front of the hotel. We hope you would come and stay here with us again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thanks to Sue my painful knees and swollen legs are now better than I can ever remember them being. Not only from her wonderful massage and healing therapy but also with her helpful advice.
Sessions with Sue are also something to look forward to because of her interesting conversation and wicked sense of humor. A trip to the spa is not to be missed with so many treatments to choose from there is no excuse not to walk out feeling like a million dollars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Caroline, Thank you so very much for your kind words about Sue and the amazing work she has done for you and your legs. She is brilliant at what she does and she treats all her clients and all of our guests the same way, we are very lucky to have her work in the hotel. We hope to see you soon when you come for more treatments from Sue.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location on the river next the the Royal Liver building is very good, the rooms were not very large and the windows do not open, relying on the air conditioning is not that comfortable. On arrival our allocated room was changed after we complained of the smell of smoking (not the hotel's fault but the cleaning staff must have noticed this) The key cards needed to be re-set on each day. The hotel restaurant was pretty good for and evening meal and the breakfast was super.
On site parking was good. The restaurant staff were really friendly and a credit to the Hotel.

Room Tip: We were facing towards the city and the room was not that good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. I am sorry you did not feel the air conditioning system was not comfortable, as we cannot open the windows for health and safety reasons, however we do have maintenance team who can assist the air conditioning unit to be a suitable temputure for you. With regards to your first room smelling of smoke please accept our apologies we have policies and procedures in place to and signage warning other guest of the law no smoking, it is disappointing when they disobey this for our other guests in the hotel. Thank you for very much for your kind comments on our staff and your evening meal, we truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,911 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,376 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Hard Days Night Hotel
#26 of 98 in Liverpool
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £74 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing