We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Staff were friendly, professional, helpful and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We stayed for two nights as We were at a wedding and it was our first wedding anniversary on the same night. They made us feel special and gave us a lovely card and little treat left in our room.
The beds were very comfortable and we had a fantastic nights sleep. The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice.
The swimming pool was nice, water was warm and the showers private with proper doors. Robes are provided in your rooms and towels and separate towels are issued at the pool.
The hotel is clean, tidy and welcoming and if we go back to Liverpool, we will stay here again as it was a perfect location for getting around and parking on site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for posting this comment on your stay here with us at the hotel. Your kind words on our staff are excellent making you feel special. I am glad to see you enjoyed the little treat left in your bedroom for you both. Thank you for your comments informing travellers what to expect when staying at the hotel are greatly appreciated, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best Wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    824
    267
    83
    51
See reviews for
484
927
76
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a lovely stay here we had one little problem and it was sorted out quickly and the staff where more than helpful. The breakfast is 2nd to none and has it was my birthday I got a beautiful slate with happy birthday and chocolate brownies and strawberry with a birthday card in the room a lovely little touch. The beds are so comfy. Can't really think if anything to complain about really. We had a lovely relaxing stay in a lovely hotel which is I. A great position for shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze-Wonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a great review on your recent stay here with us. I am so happy to see your little problem was resolved quickly by our staff and you enjoyed your breakfast. I am also delighted to see you were pleased with the cake in your room from me. We hope you will return to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nice hotel, that is well situated close to Liverpool centre and at the harbor. Very friendly staff and good service in the restaurant. Breakfast on top level, you can find all that you want. Fresh. The room was spacious and clean. We hade an nice stay for four days and can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear former guest, please allow us to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. From reading your comment, you have scored us 4 out of 5, is there anything we could have done to make your stay a 5 star review. We are truly grateful for your feedback and hope you will return in the near future making your post a 5 star.
Best Wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here recently with teenage son on a short visit to Liverpool. Ideal location for getting out and about in Liverpool. Staff very smart, polite and welcoming. Room clean and comfortable, if a little "tired". Bathroom was spotless & plenty of toiletries and gowns. Pool was very pleasant, although having to go up and down a flight of stairs to the ladies changing rooms was a bit unexpected. There was also a distinct lack of locker keys in either male or female changing areas. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. After checking out, I was able to leave my travel bags at the hotel reception for the day before catching the ferry home. Overall a very pleasant stay if a little pricey..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieH894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. Your observation on our staff is very much appreciated. Your feedback is vital to us at the hotel in order to continually improve our products and services. Once again thank you for your time and please be assured we will act upon any responses accordingly. We truly hope you would return to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

If you're after luxury, this ain't the place to go. No beverage menu in room or safety deposit box, bathroom shabby, bedroom badly needs revamping, lift dodgy, need separate showers at pool, there's 3 or 4 with a flimsy "see-through" divide between each of them. My son didn't feel comfortable sharing with older men and in the world we live in today this is quite a concern!! The worst was the set dinner menu, great if you like fish but not enough variation on anything else. They had a horrible lamb burger but no hamburger! We ordered the only chicken dish there was and it was terrible. Rubbery, dry and the vegetables and sauce looked like they were reheated. The chef who prepared this obviously doesn't care what state his food goes out like. There's also an issue with the children's portion sizes, my 12 year old son(who they class as a child-"13 and below") was given a portion size of a 5 year old!! On the second night of our stay, we ate in the bar which had a far nicer menu. The only good thing about this hotel is it's staff. They are outstanding. Can't do enough for you and always professional, friendly and courteous, as we found with all Liverpudlians. Very friendly people. The hotel lacks the finer details and it's such a shame 'cause it could be amazing. Great location but it doesn't take a genius to see all the little details that if implemented, could change this "dull" hotel into something quite luxurious. I honestly can't say you should not visit this accommodation but if you're after something "special" look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you book a waterfront view, make sure it's not the rooms being blocked by three very large tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear former guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on your recent stay here with us at the hotel. I am so sorry but we do not put drinks menus in any of our bedrooms; however our room service staff are more than happy to advise you of our selection we have to offer. With regards to the safety deposit boxes, we only have them in a number of rooms, but for the rooms we do not have them in we provide them behind our reception desk, you can assess 24 hours. Thank you very much for all your comments please be assured we will take them on board and act upon them according with any necessary retraining being carried out. We appreciate your kind words on our staff, I will certainly pass this on to the team. We truly hope in time you would consider staying here again in the near future for us to rebuild your faith in our hotel and provide our usual high standards of service.
Best Wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here on a reward night so knew what to expect.
Some areas in need of an upgrade especially the spa and pool area but nothing to put you off. Had a good treatment though so can recommend.
Check in quick and efficient. Room clean with good bathroom that looked fairly recently refurbished. Bedroom furniture needs upgrading as the dark varnish looks dated and chipped but again not really bad enough to put us off going again.
Club lounge didn't have the range of soft drinks available as in some other hotels but ok and continental breakfast was good.
Public areas were nice and restaurant looked ok but we didn't eat there so can't comment further. The location of this hotel is excellent, and as it's right next door to the Liver building you can always find your way back! Very easy walking distance of the docks and shopping area.
We have stayed in very many hotels in this group for business and pleasure and this hotel has the friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever met. Maybe it's just Liverpool people but this is the place they should send staff to be trained!!
Already booked to return in a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the dockside so nice outlook and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalikesdislikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here with us using your IHG rewards points. Firstly please allow me to thank you for your continued loyalty to the brand and thank you for choosing our hotel to stay. Your feedback to is very important to us and we take this all onboard for any improvements in future developments. With regards to the staff attitude and friendliness, it is a credit to raed and I will certainly pass on this comment on to make sure they are aware of this. Thank you once again for your kind words. We really look forward to welcoming you back in a couple of weeks.
Best Wishes
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llandudno
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed over the bank holiday in a family room,for two nights.The room was very tired could really do with decorating,was pretty basic but was clean to be fair.We used the bar downstairs for a little drink before going to our room but that we found very cold.Great position though just a short walk to the city and on the docks but over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmellanicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to express your feelings on our hotel. However I am very disappointed to see this 3 star review and to read how you did not enjoyed the stay here with us at the hotel. I am so sorry you felt the bedrooms were tired, and also how the lounge bar was cold, we will take your comments on board and I will pass this comment to the bar manager. Your feedback is vital to us in order to improve our products and services for the future. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in time.
Kind Regards
Kayleigh Judge
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,658 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,417 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
3,176 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing