We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location...and amazing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #22 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My partner and i stayed at the Crowne Plaza for valentines day in an executive club floor room and from the very first contact ( which was with the doorman) the weekend was perfect! The receptionist welcomed us with service you'd normally get in america, took us through all the benefits the room offered (free cocktails and breakfast) and invited us to eat in the hotel restaurant that night. As it was valentines day they had a special couples menu (with amusing names for all the dishes) and as we had already failed in finding a decent restaurant with space in liverpool we agreed and booked a table for later that evening.

The room itself was a more than generous size with desk and chair, large seat and foot rest, 32" TV with an average amount of channels and a huge, comfy king size bed. The room was spotless with a great AC unit, the bathroom a good size and again completely spotless with a good range of toiletries.

The restaurant itself was large, well decorated and the service again amazing. They treated all couples as if it was a 5* restaurant and made valentines evening even more special. Menu price was very reasonable, £50 per couple for 3 courses and food very nice, although my partner found the scallops strange tasting.

We cant comment on breakfast as we over slept but did use the facilites in the room for a quick morning cuppa and was very disappointed that no sugar was provided, ohwell it is bad for you afterall :0)

Parking cost £7.50 per 24hr, however was very secure and they would even let you leave your car in the carpark after checkout if you wanted to go and explore liverpool.

Deffinatley stay at a crowne plaza in the uk again

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,294 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed here when we were attending the Liverpool 2008 Captital of Culture Closing festivities. It is a great location - right on the pier head. Make sure you ask for a riverside room - the cityside rooms can sufer from road noise all night along The Srand. Our only real complaint was the state of the changing rooms at the leisure facilities - they were filthy and never cleaned during our stay. We decided to shower in the room afetr our swim and then found we had no hot water. The management were not helpful in sorting our water out and we ended up changing rooms at 10.30 at night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Wife and I had a really nice weekend at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool. Receptionist were extremely willing to serve every guest all so well. And same goes to wonderful breakfast and the service personnel there. During the arrival we somehow got a room where the previous guest had been smoking heavily and it is fair to say the room was a bit foggy. Immediately went back to the reception desk and told about our experience, the receptionist truly seemed to be very sorry for the inconvenience (as the whole hotel should be non-smoking and this shouldn have been possible to happen.. but come on, lets face it, some guests just do whatever they like and hotel cant do much about it) and in few seconds we got new and really comfortable room. It was very efficient how that situation was handled.

It was our first time in Liverpool, so have to a bit disqualify my comparisons to any other hotel in the city. But as far as I have quite many times visited in England and sorry, no offence meant, but in England you can sometimes be unlucky and find sometimes really crappy hotels. This Crowne Plaza is a sure bet for anyone traveling in Liverpool. Its modern and very clean, facilities are absolutely fantastic. You really get value for your money and get treated like special guest throughout the organization.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel had nice comfortable rooms and bathroom and was tastefully decorated as per 'Crowne Plaza' the parking for the weekend was included and the service between hotel and airport was included in the price. The walk from where the minibus dropped off and picked up was at least 400 Mt's from the terminal, thankfully it wasn't raining.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This is the Best Hotel in Liverpool. I travel to Liverpool quite a lot for work and have stayed here before. I am normally booked in via work and have stayed in practically all the hotels in Liverpool. I wish they would book me into this one more often unfortunately it is not the cheapest. This last stay was part of a winter break touring around the North West. Why do I like it?, The friendliest staff they are all very helpful and polite plus they greet you with a genuine smile. The Hotel is of a very modern design and the rooms are all very comfortable well equipped and cleaned to a high standard. The location is very central right next to the Liver buildings by the Mersey within easy walking distance of Albert Dock and the shopping centre. It also has the best swimming pool. If staying for businesses or pleasure this would be my number one choice of the many hotels within Liverpool it is hard to think of any areas where they could improve apart from maintaining these high standards.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed here twice in a week on business.

Couldn't fault the room or breakfast - both great.

When I went to drive away the first morning I had a problem with my car which meant I had to leave it, grab a taxi, call the AA etc.

Why am I telling you this ? Because I had to throw the keys and the problem to the concierge desk (Peter) to resolve - and he did everything and more to help, leaving messages, chatting to my wife over the phone because I was tied up in meeetings and so on.

I travel extensively and have had this type of problem before (e.g at the Old Course Hotel in St.Andrew's) and have found staff unsympathetic and unhelpful, particularly once you have checked out. So thanks to you Peter, I will stay again.

So why only four stars for me - simply because the evening meal was a disappointment - very bland and uninspiring, and I couldn't recommend it, nor would I eat there again at night unless the menu gets a bit more exciting.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Management at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2009

Aluakea,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure when guests write to tell of situations where staff go the extra mile. Peter will be thanked and recognised formally by the hotel.

Your comments regarding the menu will be shared with our chef.

Thank you once again - Crowne Plaza Liverpool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

As a much travelled business user I make a point of comparing hotels with the same name. In this case Crowne Plaza. Many people will not know that most of the hotels use the name as a franchise. Intercontinential hotels have strict standards to meet to ensure that the product name is protected and levels of service and comfort are met.
However, when it comes to policies concerning upgrading and treatment of priority club members this is very open to the management of the individual hotel. I cannot go into all the detail here, but on my trip recently I noticed significant changes for the better for the loyal customer and I believe the casual customer.
The is much competition in Liverpool and new hotels such a Malmaison and SAS Raddision are nearby.
Although CP charges to park it is at least at the hotel which is an advantage over the competition.
Good improvement Crowne Plaza, if you could get your restaurant to be as lively as the Bar & Grill restaurant in Liverpool you would be on a real winner.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2009

Dear Guest
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post this review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. Priority Club is a great way to recognise and reward our regular guests and I am delighted the changes we have made meet with your approval. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Stephen Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,970 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 99 in Liverpool
2,825 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £74 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing