We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professional, friendliness,homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

stayed in this fantastic hotel in feb with my wife and two sons from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty from the receptionist to the housekeepers especially breakfeast manager daniel would highly recommend this hotel without hesitation will definitely visit again dominic o sullivan ireland

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skellig9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Management at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2009

skellig9,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments from your stay with us. It is pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We will pass your comments onto Daniel the Breakfast Manager who will be recognised for this mention. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

We’ve been here before and it still seems to be a good value place in Liverpool. Rather resent paying for parking but all the central hotels are like that.

We are Priority Club members but did not get upgraded, whereas we were upgraded in Birmingham recently – I don’t really know how it works, but a larger room would have been good (and the hotel didn’t seem to be full). However the Club Room here looked quite dark (no windows) and the one in Birmingham wasn’t that great.

Room was ok – not huge, but had nice views over the Mersey. Window did not open which I have a bit of a problem with. Rooms at the front of the hotel have a view over a terrifying eight-lane dual carriageway, and I would think they could be a bit noisy.

Room and bathroom spotlessly clean, comfortable bed though only four pillows. Not enough storage space – just a small, rather outdated looking wardrobe. No wifi but free high speed internet access which seemed good enough to us. Huge flat screen television with lots of channels. Only one packet of biscuits for a double room seems a bit mean.

We ate at the hotel the first evening and it was not great. They forgot to bring our olives and bread until reminded, and the crab cakes were best forgotten. Breakfast varied – lots of different fruit, but the cooked buffet was sometimes lukewarm. We felt it was overpriced at £15.95. However, breakfast was very well organised with an efficient middle-aged man in charge. Tea/coffee arrived instantly in pots/cafetieres and used plates/glasses were taken away within seconds.

Enjoyed visiting the Albert Dock and Tate Liverpool. We also ate at the Olive Press in Castle Street, which was good, as was Gusto at Albert Dock.

If we come to Liverpool again, we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My Husband and I stayed here last weekend, a chance to celebrate my Birthday in my home city. Overall the hotel and staff were excellent the one area that let it down was the housekeeping. Our room was serviced while we were at breakfast on the Saturday. It was hard to tell whether anything had been done, pillows in a heap, bed not remade just tucked in at the sides. The housekeeper came to inspect and called the maid back and helped her to re-do the room. To be fair it was slightly better but the soap dish was still full of hard dry soap from the previous users( we had pointed it out earlier), empty crisp basket on bedside table and later that night we found pj"s in a ruck under the sheets at the bottom of the bed. To be fair, the maid was very young but I was surprised that the Housekeeper had also done a half hearted job. Breakfast was very good, reception staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. The concierge on the front door was charming and always had time for a few minutes chat whenever we came in or went out
Would have preferred being giving the option to tip in the bar, pre set service charges can offend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZZY07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My partner and i stayed at the Crowne Plaza for valentines day in an executive club floor room and from the very first contact ( which was with the doorman) the weekend was perfect! The receptionist welcomed us with service you'd normally get in america, took us through all the benefits the room offered (free cocktails and breakfast) and invited us to eat in the hotel restaurant that night. As it was valentines day they had a special couples menu (with amusing names for all the dishes) and as we had already failed in finding a decent restaurant with space in liverpool we agreed and booked a table for later that evening.

The room itself was a more than generous size with desk and chair, large seat and foot rest, 32" TV with an average amount of channels and a huge, comfy king size bed. The room was spotless with a great AC unit, the bathroom a good size and again completely spotless with a good range of toiletries.

The restaurant itself was large, well decorated and the service again amazing. They treated all couples as if it was a 5* restaurant and made valentines evening even more special. Menu price was very reasonable, £50 per couple for 3 courses and food very nice, although my partner found the scallops strange tasting.

We cant comment on breakfast as we over slept but did use the facilites in the room for a quick morning cuppa and was very disappointed that no sugar was provided, ohwell it is bad for you afterall :0)

Parking cost £7.50 per 24hr, however was very secure and they would even let you leave your car in the carpark after checkout if you wanted to go and explore liverpool.

Deffinatley stay at a crowne plaza in the uk again

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed here when we were attending the Liverpool 2008 Captital of Culture Closing festivities. It is a great location - right on the pier head. Make sure you ask for a riverside room - the cityside rooms can sufer from road noise all night along The Srand. Our only real complaint was the state of the changing rooms at the leisure facilities - they were filthy and never cleaned during our stay. We decided to shower in the room afetr our swim and then found we had no hot water. The management were not helpful in sorting our water out and we ended up changing rooms at 10.30 at night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Wife and I had a really nice weekend at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool. Receptionist were extremely willing to serve every guest all so well. And same goes to wonderful breakfast and the service personnel there. During the arrival we somehow got a room where the previous guest had been smoking heavily and it is fair to say the room was a bit foggy. Immediately went back to the reception desk and told about our experience, the receptionist truly seemed to be very sorry for the inconvenience (as the whole hotel should be non-smoking and this shouldn have been possible to happen.. but come on, lets face it, some guests just do whatever they like and hotel cant do much about it) and in few seconds we got new and really comfortable room. It was very efficient how that situation was handled.

It was our first time in Liverpool, so have to a bit disqualify my comparisons to any other hotel in the city. But as far as I have quite many times visited in England and sorry, no offence meant, but in England you can sometimes be unlucky and find sometimes really crappy hotels. This Crowne Plaza is a sure bet for anyone traveling in Liverpool. Its modern and very clean, facilities are absolutely fantastic. You really get value for your money and get treated like special guest throughout the organization.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel had nice comfortable rooms and bathroom and was tastefully decorated as per 'Crowne Plaza' the parking for the weekend was included and the service between hotel and airport was included in the price. The walk from where the minibus dropped off and picked up was at least 400 Mt's from the terminal, thankfully it wasn't raining.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,838 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,471 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 98 in Liverpool
3,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £79 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing