We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - very restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Hotel right on the pier head - but still quiet. Couldn't believe it, but it was true. And parking available.
The hotel lived up to the hype, even down to the comissionaire on the door.

The pool/spa/gym is a real bonus.
The rooms were very nice (though I have stayed in larger ones). Very well appointed.

Only downside? it's a bit expensive, but on this occasion I wasn't paying!
Restaurant was good but the menu was rather restricted. Breakfast was very good - lots of lovely fruit to accompany my full fry up!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,240 - 2,246 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed for 4 wonderful nights with our teenage children & enjoyed every minute. The Hotel was spotless & our room was spacious with fantastic views over the water & Liver Building across the road. The pool & spa were great after a long day & the bar & restaurant served outstanding meals . Breakfast was truly amazing, never seen such a wide selection & very reasonably priced, great start to the day. The staff were all extremely helpful & very friendly ,especially the gentleman who ran the breakfast service during our stay, a real character & really nice man!. The location was perfect, close to city & Albert Dock area which was very pretty. Overall we could not fault at all, excellent service, location, facilities & staff. What more could you want?.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfield09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza for 1 night, the rooms were very large and comfortable, with nice beds and pillows. The staff were polite and very prompt in checking us in. The car park is £7.50 for the day which is quite a bargain compared with others in the city and the next day you can go shopping and pick up the car later as its not far from Liverpool 1. The breakfast is lovely, in my opinion 5 * and with plenty to choose from. We have booked to go back again this time with the 3 course meal included in our deal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareinnis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The Crowne Plaza Liverpool is an excellent choice when visiting this exciting and visitor-friendly city. The hotel is located in the shadow of the magnificent Royal Liver Building and is only a few minutes walk to historic Albert Dock and the city centre. The hotel is spotless; room facilities compare any 4star hotel, and the staff are friendly and professional. Robin the concierge even offers a brolly to guests walking to the city centre if it is raining - class!!

Also, check out the The Beatles Fab Four Taxi tour of places associated with the band. For just £45 you get a 2.5 hour guided tour by taxi with a guide who is very knowledgeable and interesting; he will also adjust the itinery to suit the particular interests of his passengers. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeourleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

For five years, we have been going to Liverpool for the annual Matthew Street Festival, which my husband plays at. We bring tons of luggage, equipment and a guitar. The staff of the Crowne Plaza are always warm and welcoming and helpful. One year, when we lost the key to the guitar case, they came up and use some metal clippers to snap it off for us.

The English breakfast buffet is to die for! It's quite a treat to be decadent once a year and a full fried breakfast every morning. And, when we get tired of that, there's plenty of fresh fruit and yogurt and cereals.

The rooms are always clean and quiet - we've never had a bad room yet. If you ask for the Merseyside rooms, you get a wonderful view. We saw the Queen Mary docked there one year.

The location is convenient to anything you want to do in Liverpool, as the center of town and Matthew Street are a 5 minute walk away, as is the bus station, and train station.

Oh! I forgot! They have a great pool, whirlpool, sauna and steamroom!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyVTNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

very good service, no problems at all. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Crowne Plaza in Liverpool last weekend. The location was perfect! Right next to the Liver building and only a five minute walk from Albert dock and the new Liverpool1 shopping complex.
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, very nice people.
Our room was pretty standard and nothing special. It was a standard chain hotel room with no added frills. The bed was deliciously comfortable though and the view was great!
Breakfast was good with lots of options and a good deal at a special price of £10 for two. The drinks we had in the bar were scandalously over priced, although that's pretty standard with hotel bars.
Overall we chose the Crowne Plaza because of its location and the secure parking they offered and we couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankeeInTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
1,957 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 99 in Liverpool
2,821 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £74 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing