We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget but lacks in areas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #28 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Budget but lacks in areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

This is my second stay in 3 weeks at this hotel, the rooms are clean comfortable, could do with bottled water in the room in addition to tea/coffee. Pillow menu was great idea but they had trouble getting me a feather pillow and after being told I would have one in my room the second night I had to ask again. The food at dinner time is not the best and got fed up of the limited menu - due to stay again next month so a bit worried about where I'll eat as on my own although the restaurant staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you and even managed to rustle up chocolate fudge cake when it wasn't even on the menu :-) tempted to change hotels but will persevere once more as the location is fantastic

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopiecooperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear 'Coopiecooperson',

Thank you for taking the time to review your two previous stays at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.

We are currently in the process of developing a new range of menus for the hotel and hope to have these ready to launch in the next 3-4 weeks. If you have any suggestions of items that you'd like to see available then we'd love to know, simply let us know on your next visit.

If there is something that you would particularly like on your next visit, again let us know and we’ll do our best to accommodate. We have a great kitchen brigade that have a broad range of backgrounds, so just ask.

Kind regards

Simon and team

TIP: Our room rates change daily so and are cheaper when booking in advanced. For the guaranteed best available rates book at hiliverpool.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    495
    172
    51
    26
See reviews for
151
446
89
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel several times. The external views of the building are deceptive as it is totally different inside. The rooms are impeccable and are top notch compared to other Holiday Inns. The Food is brilliant and you really cannot fault the staff. On this occasion we were allocated a brilliant room on the 3rd floor. We could hear a constant white noise and thought it was probably just the sound of the city, given its closeness to Lime Street. However this noise continued all night and the double glazing did little to block it. We concluded it was the noise of the shopping centres aircon (the fans span the roof directly below the bedrooms)...it was something Id experienced before - we only stayed 1 night so did not complain. Please dont let this put you off...its a great hotel..one of the best but make sure you get a room as high up as possible!

Room Tip: Get a room high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandauForte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear 'LandauForte',

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre. We do work very hard to ensure that the cleanliness, food and service provided is to a consistently high standard and I'm glad to see that you have returned due to this.

I'm sorry to see that you didn't have the best night due to some background noise from the City. As stated the high floor rooms are quieter if you are a light sleeper and we are always happy to accommodate, simply let us know in advanced.

I'm glad to see that you recommend the hotel and would return again.

Kind regards

Simon and team

TIP: Spend over £15 on room service and receive a free in room movie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for only one night and on arrival I found the staff on reception to be friendly and helpful. (So helpful that one of the staff was going to the shop and asked me if I needed anything from it).

The hotel itself is directly across from Liverpool Lime St Train Station and from there you can explore the whole of the city. Queen’s Square Bus Station is also just around the corner from the hotel so its location is convenient for that also. It is easily within walking distance to everything that Liverpool has to offer, Shopping, Museums, Churches, Pubs & Restaurants and much more.

The room was clean and tidy and the Bathroom seemed small at first glance but it wasn’t a problem. It had a bath/shower.
The bed was comfy and I slept well, I stayed on the 8th floor and the views of the city were great and the noise was minimal. There was Tea/Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer and Iron & Ironing Board in the room. I found the room to be very warm but I left the window open and that solved the problem.

We had a few drinks in the Hotel bar The Lime Lounge on the night I stayed and I was surprised to see that there were some children running around playing in the bar area at such a late time at night it was 11.30 pm and there was a function on in the room next to the bar and they were from there, it didn’t bother me but one of the other guests complained.

I had breakfast which cost 7.50 and it had a good plentiful selection of food and the staffs were helpful. Check in/out was straight forward and easy.
I would stay at this hotel again when in Liverpool due to the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear ‘ David C’,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I’m glad to see that you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and would return on future visits to the City.

We have a great position within Liverpool and most of the main attractions can easily be reached within a few minutes’ walk.

I’m also very pleased to see that you found our team to be very approachable and willing to help, even offering to pick something up from the local shops for you. We do aim to go the extra mile for all of our guests and provide that real ‘home from home’ experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on future visits to Liverpool.

Kind regards

Simon and team

TIP: When travelling by car, use St John’s car park next to the hotel as we offer reduced rates of only £6 for 24 hours. Simply bring your ticket to reception to be stamped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is located in an excellent position,close to Lime station and to the main attractions fo the city.An ideal location for both those who are on holiday or a business trip.You can a lso enjoy a great view fromthe restaurant lounge in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear 'Gianluigi T',

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Holiday inn Liverpool City Centre.

It’s great to see that we met and exceeded your expectations when visiting the City. As stated we are in a fabulous position and offer great panoramic views across Lime street and St Georges Hall, a must see.

Kind regards

Simon
Tip: Always book direct for the best guaranteed rates at hiliverpool.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here on the 4th/5th oct 2012. Two double beds in room.Walk in wardrobe! and a separate sitting area with large desk and chair ,plus two easy chairs and coffee table. Did not expect this space in a city centre hotel! Had the full 'English' breakfast-plenty of choice,although there did not seem to be a great variety in the 'cold' breakfast.Impeccably clean and service 'spot on' We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear ‘YJoan’,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences from the Holiday Inn Liverpool City centre.

We are very fortunate to be central to all of the Liverpool attractions and boast some of the largest rooms within the city. A good tip is to book our twin double rooms as these have separate desk area and walk in wardrobes as stated.

I’m really pleased to see that you found the service and cleanliness ‘Spot on’ as this is something we all work hard to provide to all of our guests and it’s great to see we delivered.

We look forwards to welcoming you back on future visits to the City.

Kind regards

Simon and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is excellent located. On arrival the staff were polite and friendly. We were even given a map of the area which was a nice touch. My room was ok and functional but very dated I also found it quite expensive. The net curtain had a cigarette burn and the were very yellow... I did advise reception.This was not a smoking room. The air conditioning did not work so the room was stuffy. We only had breakfast but it was very nice and again the staff were polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear "Michelle1499"
Thank you for taking the time & trouble to provide your review following your recent stay in Liverpool; it is most appreciated.
I am pleased to learn that, on the whole, you enjoyed your visit and noted our polite & friendly staff.
With regards to the conditions you mention, we have taken immediate and appropriate steps to address your concerns.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool on may future occasions.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for the weekend as we went to see our son at the John Moores University which is only a stones throw away the location is ideal for all the town centre shops, it is opposite Lime Street train station you could nt be in a better position. The breakfast was all you can eat help yourself with fruit cereal yoghurt bacon sausage etc you can even ask for eggs to be scrambled etc the waitress who served us our coffee was called Cathy what a really pleasant and friendly member of staff she was nothing was too much trouble.
If you go by car and go in the multi storey car park have your ticket stamped at reception and you then pay £6 a day.
The rooms are nice with sky channels on them, but so much to do you wont have time to watch it Liverpool museum is great and free to go in they just ask you for a donation head towards Albert Dock

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear "Wendal23"
Thank you for your very positive review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.
We are extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. I have ensured that all our teams have received your kind comments, as they make the real difference. I have also personally thanked Cathy in our breakfast team for looking after you so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool in the near future and we also hope your son enjoys his time at John Moores University
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Johns Precinct, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing