We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for the second time on a business trip to Liverpool. The great thing is that its right opposite Lime Street station very convenient if you are on a late train from London.

Excellent comfortable rooms with great views over Liverpool from the upper floors. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner, but it has a spectacular view over the Victorian buildings and is a wonderful place for breakfast. Breakfast is tremendous value and unusually for breakfast buffets is very hot - marvellous.

Liverpool is genuinely fantastic city that throbs culture. When I come back for leisure or work I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Ian
Thank you for your great review following you recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre; it is most appreciated.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that you are hoping to get the opportunity to visit us on leisure in the near future, so that you may have the chance to experience all that our great City has to offer.
If, in the meantime, I may be of any further assistance to you please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

2 day conference at Holiday Inn. 9th floor room was newly refurbished to a good standard and fantastic views to Liver Buildings and beyond.
Superb location opposite Lime St station in city centre.
Food was OK but nothing special, staff were very friendly and helpful

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank peterw373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to complete your favourable review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our refurbished bedrooms and that you experienced a good level of service during your visit.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool on many future occasions.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed Saturday night and could not Fault this Hotel!Best Holiday inn I have stayed at so far.Good Value for Money good Breakfasts and Great Location next to Lime St Train station,Shops,Restaurants,Pubs etc.Again made my visit to Liverpool a memorable one.will stay here again if I am back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Del4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear 'Del4430'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool; it is most appreciated.
We are extremely pleased to learn that we are the best Holiday Inn you have had the pleasure to stay with and we certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on many future occasions.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Having arrived by train, I found that the hotel was immediately across the road from Lime Street railway station. Also it was very close to St George's Hall, the Walker Gallery and the museum. In the other direction from the hotel was the start of all the main shopping streets of the centre of Liverpool.
The hotel was clean and well kept and all the staff were very helpful. The bedrooms were as expected in a Holiday Inn, basic but clean and comfortable, and everything worked. The bar area was a bit sparse and lacking in atmosphere, but when we used it, there was nobody else there. The restaurant had a very adequate buffet breakfast with attentive service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSTE176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear ‘CSTE176’,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre. I am glad to hear overall you had enjoyed your stay and were looked after by the team. We are too are very lucky with our location as it is so convenient to get around the city.

We appreciate all of your comments and indeed will use them to further help improve the service and standards in which we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool and the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were visiting Liverpool for the first time and after spending a night out we loved it too much not to stay another night.

Our first night we stayed at the Britannia hotel and it was awful so my mum recommended we stayed at the holiday inn. And wow, what a difference! It was really good. The customer service was great and made us feel very welcome.

For £65 a night (including breakfast) we stayed on the 6th floor which had an amazing view of the landscape of the city centre. The guy on reception was very helpful and polite giving us the option of two rooms to choose from.

The option of a late check out at 2pm was very useful especially if you were out during early hours in the morning at a casino!

Room service was tasty and quick + if you spend over a certain amount you get a free movie to watch and lifts were fast and spacious.
The room was very nice and neat. Beds were so comfy as well and there were useful facilities like an iron, tv and hot drink items.

The room sometimes got a little warm even when the air con was on and the window only opened a little bit. But apart from that, loved it and couldn't complain friendly staff, local to pubs and shopping centres and was lovely to sleep in. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody. Also the car park is right next door and the hotel discounts the price of 24 hours parking from £14 down to just £6.

Stay here, wish I could of stayed another night!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ces101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear 'Ces101'
Thank you for your great review following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.
Needless to say, we are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will be in a position to plan a return visit sometime in the near future.
I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we thank you for your recommendation to others.
Best wishes for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as I stayed there 30 years ago and wasn’t that impressed then. I booked a last minute deal just after Christmas via booking.com for £138 for two nights room only. The room was well appointed in all aspects located on the top (9th floor) with fantastic views of the city, the river and beyond across to the Wirral peninsula.

The front office staff were very friendly and helpful on both the day and night shifts. I asked about disabled parking to be informed I could park right in front of the door (space available). This was not mentioned on the booking.com website. Public parking is right next-door in the multi-storey car park for just £6 per day. A lot cheaper than other hotels in the city.

This hotel is in a really excellent part of Liverpool City Centre opposite Lime Street station with lots of shops, pubs, and a huge selection of eateries all within walking distance. The hotel is located over St John’s market and is literally a 30 second walk from the hotel entrance. The market has every possible shop and eatery one could wish for. The hotel has a nice friendly quiet bar / restaurant on the 1st floor.

The nice thing about this hotel is they have smoking rooms. This is becoming more of a rarity in the UK these days and I like the idea that they cater for all. I suppose the only downside was the water pressure in my room (920) if you like a power shower. I mentioned this on checking out and feel sure matters were put right.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and hope to stay there again soon. I would definitely recommend it. I also gather you can book direct with the HI website for comparable rates to booking.com

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on one of the top floors with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Kevin
Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay with us in the centre of Liverpool.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your visit back to see us again. We sincerely hope, however, that you don't wait another 30 years for your next stay.
Best regards for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights at NYE, the guy Steven was excellent he was friendly and helpful! He helped us and searched the club we were meant to go to and told us about another good club to try if we could. On checking out at 12 he let is keep our bags in storage as our train wasn't until after 2.
Rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were very comfy. Right across the road from like street station and only a 10min walk from the docks. Would stay here again when visiting Liverpool!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear 'Louse M'
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us in Liverpool to welcome in the New Year.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time in our great City and that you are looking forward to a return visit.
Within the hotel we have an employee incentive program which rewards the fantastic service offered by members of our team.
The compliments you give to Steven will earn him a well earned incentive for which I know he will wish to thank you for.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool on many future occasions.
Best wishes for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,328 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime Street, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £60 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel is ideal for both Premier League football teams; Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison Park, and for Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have free Wi-Fi and views of the city and the fabulous surrounding architecture. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE shopping and entertainment centre. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the newly refurbished restaurant, bar & lounge with fabulous views over the St. George's Quarter. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents and there is free wi-fi in all areas. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent St. John's shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing