We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There were positives and negatives here. Pros: Fantastic huge rooms, good service, held our bags for us and great location. Cons: No WiFi, little unorganized and the bottom few floors didn't have a working elevator but there were no signs to let anyone know or anyone to help with bags. I probably would stay here again just for the convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelstaff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Hotelstaff 1234,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay.

My apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the issues with our lifts. I have shared your comments with the Front Office team to ensure we are better organised should this happen again in future.

We do hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

If I may be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

To start with the positives - we arrived earlier than check in which meant that we couldn't get into a room, this was no problem as we wanted to go and get our bearings, the check in staff were excellent and took our baggage to a holding room to keep safe. On returning after watching the excellent Lion King we were quickly and efficiently checked in and given our room keys. The room was immaculately clean and spacious. We didnt eat an evening meal at the hotel but the bar looked smart and the food looked good, we did however have breakfast the next morning, which was excellent, lots of choice and excellent service. On leaving we were again allowed to use the holding room which allowed us to explore some more of Liverpool.
Now the bad points - we were on the fourth floor and both of the lifts were not working, which was a pain carrying the bags up to the fourth floor. The room although clean and spacious was like a sauna, which was made worse by the fact that the air conditioning was not working, on checking out there was a long list of complaints about the air conditioning. Over all the location was excellent just a short walk from the train station, the theatre and liverpool one and matthews street, just the little things like the lift and air con let the hotel down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacamac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Pacamac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool. I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the staff at the hotel looked after your bags at both check in and check out.

I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the issues we experienced with our lifts however we did have an engineer on site who rectified the situation that same evening. I was disappointed to read that the reception team did not offer any assistance with your luggage and will share your comments with the team.

Your comments with regards the air conditioning has been shared with the maintenance team as this was an isolated incident and impacted only a certain amount of room. With the summer fast approaching we are checking all rooms to ensure these issues not re-occurring.

We hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting our great City again, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

No complaints about this hotel, well designed, nice rooms, very clean. Front desk always available for questions. I stayed here two nights during a tour of the UK. I won't pay the going rates for Holiday Inn's in the states as I feel they are overpriced so this was a nice treat. Location and cleanliness is more important to me then decor. This Holiday Inn was perfect. For those traveling without a car the location could not be better. Not only lots of shopping nearby (many stores close 8pm) but also 10 min walk to the Cathedral's and the University area. 15 min. walk to the Cavern area and the Albert Docks. Plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby. I often travel alone and being in an area that is walkable and safe is important to me. My room had a good view, but there was some sort of continuous noise from compressors or a large motor, even with the window shut it would drown out any noise from the hotel, but it was bothersome, ask for a room away from the car park side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park as the noise from compressors on the roof was bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear 'mrmisrule'
Thank you for placing your very kind review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool City Centre.
Naturally, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that we added to the overall enjoyment from your visit to our great city.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you, once again, in the future.
Yours faithfully.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and would say don't think we will be going back. On check in the reception was not that welcome, asked us if we wanted a quiet room which we said yes, 5 mins after checked in we realised the TV in our room wasn't working only a note in the room to say there is some technical problem that wouldn't be fixed until the next day (sure they could have told us on check in). We went back to reception wanted to move room as it was close to the room on our floor and the heating wasn't working. The fact that we were given the option at reception initially now we were told we can't be moved as the hotel is FULL (why asked us if we want a quiet room on check in?).

On the second day we asked for blankets as the room was cold the gentleman told us they don't have blanket but he would look at the heating, up this hour he didn't say whether it would work or not. But it didn't in the end. We had to sleep in lots of cloths. On check out we were only asked our room number (not even how was your stay). Was too upset to raise all these points then. Only plus was breakfast and the server Kathy which was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear 'Shalom83'
Thank you for placing your review following your recent stay with us.
Naturally, I am most concerned to learn that we fell short of your reasonable expectations on the levels of service you expected to receive.
I have spent time discussing your concerns with my Management team who wish to be associated with my apologies to you.
On a positive note, I was pleased to learn that Cathy at breakfast was able to present the levels of service we usually pride ourselves on.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the near future. If, in the meantime, I may be of any further assistance to you please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here a couple of weeks ago as we had to travel from Devon to take our son to the Royal Liverpool Hospital. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows. It was like a suite with an extra room with a desk and an armchair. Our room was on the 8th floor and the view from the window was amazing and we could see for miles. Likewise the restaurant had a good view. We had both evening meals and breakfasts in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed them all. We didn't realise how much Liverpool had to offer....Rob, the concierge was very helpful giving us a map and pointing out places to visit and he recommended the Beatles tour in a cab, which we did just before returning home. Great!! Thank you all for making our stay so very pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for stunning views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Val
Thank you for placing your very kind review following your recent stay with your family at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that all our staff went out of their way to help and assist you during your visit, with a special mention for Rob our Concierge.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the very near future to discover even more of what our great City has to offer.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

i stayed for one night, excellent location as it is just opposite Lime Street Station, very friendly and efficient staff, nice room which had everything that is needed, extremely clean and i had a great sleep. i also had a good breakfast in the morning. i would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Louise
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn for your recent stay in Liverpool City Centre.
We are naturally very pleased to learn of the good customer service your received throughout your visit and that you would stay with us again on your next visit to our great City.
We look forward to welcoming you on many future occasions.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

was they one night with national holidays very good eveing meal all very good and hot the chef was serving I had the cottage pie as main course starter was good and the sweet , this morning breakfast very good was full also your staff are very smart and helpfull

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwithernwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear John
Thank you for placing your very kind review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool; it is most appreciated. I will ensure that your compliments are forwarded to all involved in making your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you on may future occasions.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime Street, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £64 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel is ideal for both Premier League football teams; Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison Park, and for Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have free Wi-Fi and views of the city and the fabulous surrounding architecture. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE shopping and entertainment centre. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the newly refurbished restaurant, bar & lounge with fabulous views over the St. George's Quarter. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents and there is free wi-fi in all areas. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent St. John's shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing