We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Shaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although in a busy part of the City and above a Shopping Centre this Hotel is great, a part of the City but you can be apart as you people watch at Lime St Station. The room was spacious and clean. The Reception staff excellent and helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your positive review following your Birthday Weekend in Liverpool City Centre.
We appreciate your compliments of our location, breakfast, cleanliness and, importantly, customer service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.
Best regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    509
    177
    54
    27
See reviews for
158
457
92
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location for the station/centre/Empire Theatre.
We received a warm welcome on check in and were able to check into our 3 rooms early.
Nice spacious clean room. Great views over the city centre.
Extremely comfy bed and pillows!
Modern rooms but the bar/restaurant could do with a bit of a spruce up.
Standard buffet style breakfast. Cooked items were a tad bit greasy (eggs still sitting in the grease when they were served under the hot light)
Bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath. Sink leaked.
Price wise you are paying for the city centre location. We wouldn't usually entertain the idea at £120

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 'LKPAA25'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your stay with us in Liverpool.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us, complimenting our location, warm welcome and provision of early check-in to help you make the most of your visit.
Naturally, we shall use your constructive feedback on breakfast quality to make appropriate improvement for future guest.
Thank you, once again.
Jonathan King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently spent 3 weeks at the Holiday Inn opposite Lime St Station in Liverpool while I was attending a course at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. I was booked in by my Company and I had no say in the selection of the hotel. When I looked it up online I was unimpressed by the exterior, the nearby shopping centre and the Chinese Buffet. How wrong I was, the interior was clean, fresh and clearly well looked after. The Bar and restaurant were fresh, spacious and had a good selection of Bar food which was well prepared and very reasonable in price. The room was one of the best city centre hotel rooms I have stayed in this year; I have stayed in probably 8 or 9 hotels in the UK so far this year.
The jewels in the crown however are the staff, I value good service but this was good service without being intrusive or OTT. The staff were universally friendly, smiling and engaging, always ready with advice and if they couldn't answer a question they found someone who could. They also helped with urgent printing that I needed done out of hours for my course. The breakfast room was busy but no-one looked harassed and the range and quality of food was good, there always seemed to be enough staff for the job. Bill, Matt and Monika(?) re-set tables an dispensed coffee with a cheery efficiency whilst giving each customer the correct level of individual attention. Ajay and the reception staff (Clare, Carina, Rob and all of the others) were superb despite at times being presented with some challenging guests. The bar was very good and Natalie was extremely helpful with her local knowledge. The gym is small but well equipped although the TV could be upgraded.
Overall my initial concerns were unfounded, three weeks allowed me to observe the staff over a prolonged period and I was deeply impressed by their genuine friendliness. They made a rather pressured course much easier to cope with by their very helpful and caring approach, Jonathan King should be proud of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear David
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive review following your 3 week stay with us. I and my team appreciate your kind comments and feedback and, yes, I am very proud of the high levels of genuine customer service we aim to provide to all of our guests.
I have ensured that your comments have been forwarded to all those involved.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on many future occasions.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great hotel for those travelling by train as it is right at lime St Station. It is also across the road from the main cultural area of the city and just a short walk to major shopping precincts and sights such as the Cavern Club

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 'Jude550'
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind review following your recent stay with us earlier in the month.
We hope and trust that you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and we look forward to welcome you on your future travels.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here while I was attending a conference in Liverpool, And I must say it was a fantastic Hotel. Firstly impressions where very positive. The Receptionist was so helpful and pleasant, and I am sorry I can not remember her name, but she had short hair. My room was immaculate, so clean and spacious, and roomy.
Breakfast was great. All in all I was very impressed with this Hotel. The only criticism would be the Wi-Fi wasn't good but this was not a problem as I was able to pick up my E-mail at conference. Would defiantly stay here again whether it was for business or a weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denandearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear 'denandearl'
Thank you for your great review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool City Centre.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future, so that you may have the opportunity to experience the great attractions our fantastic City has to offer.
Best regards
Jonathan King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Being right opposite Lime Street, the Holiday Inn has a great location if you're traveling by train
Staff at check in were really friendly which always creates a good impression.
Room was fine - clean and with no noise despite its central location.
Breakfast was a help yourself buffet with a good selection and a great view out onto the city streets a couple of floors below. Can't fault this place and will definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear 'M T'
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us in Liverpool; it is most appreciated.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you on many future occasions.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here from 06th June for four nights, on a leisure break, arrived by train (Lime Street Station) the hotel could not be any closer, just across the road, how perfect is this?.

Upon arrival we were greated by "Claire" who welcomed us to the hotel, however we were very disappointed to find that we couldnt check-in beacuse the rooms were unavailable, ok the check-in time was 15pm and we had arrived somewhat early (1230pm) however having stayed at other Holiday Inn / Crowne Plaza Hotels this has not been a problem, to give Claire credit she did try her very best to get us our rooms, no joy, Claire asked us to come back around 1430pm, which we did BUT this time only the one room was available, I then had to wait a further 90mins to get the other room, this is not acceptable in this day and age of travel.

Once in the rooms, which were the "Newer" refrubed rooms (4th Floor, Room 406/408) they were spottlessly clean, fresh and very comfortable.

We had various meals at the hotel and can honestly say there were no complaints, anyone ordering the Steak & Kidney Pie with Seasonal Veg you certainly will not be disappointed the same goes for the Chicken Steak & Penne Pasta.

The breakfasts were fine, Summer & Amber looked after us very well, only slight issue was no omelettes were available together with no scrambled eggs.

The location of the hotel is first class, Lime Street Station is across the road, the main bus station is not fair around the corner near to "St George's Hall", the Empire Theatre is just up the road and the shops are within walking distance, this includes the new "Liverpool One" shopping centre, a further 10mins down the road is "Albert Dock which is a must, also here is the Tate Modern + Beatles Museum.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room, great views of Liverpool, St Georges Hall, & The Liver Birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear 'GPTravel73'
Thank you for placing your review following your stay with us, earlier this month.
We are very pleased to learn that, in the main, you enjoyed your time with us benefiting from our great location, good food and good service.
I am sorry that you didn't get both reserved rooms by 3pm on the date of arrival. I know that Clare was trying to get you rooms next to each other. I shall also ensure that both brekfast items your required are avaiable, on request, at breakfast.
Thank you, once again, for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool in the near future.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Johns Precinct, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing