We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Fantastic Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Fantastic Position”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night as we were at a family wedding in Liverpool. We booked two rooms, a double and a double double. This was arranged by telephone, the advisor even contacted the hotel to make sure that a family room would be set up for us. Both rooms were very well furbished and generous in size especially the family room. The rooms were immaculately clean and beds were very comfortable. Nice deep long bath and very powerful shower. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic. Tea and coffee served at table and the food was self service, fantastic selection of hot and cold food. Hot food was repelenshid every few minutes, nothing stayed "under lights" for very long.

This hotel is directly opposite Lime Street Station, perfect for anyone arriving by train. Two minutes walk away from shops and bars. Less than five minutes to the Adelphi where the wedding reception was.

We got back to rooms quite early as we had little ones with us so the hotel bar was very welcome. Prices were excellent as was the service.

We are back in Liverpool in October and will be booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 'scarysam'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very kind review following your recent stay with us in the heart of Liverpool.
We are so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.
In the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    510
    177
    54
    27
See reviews for
158
457
92
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just the 1 night after our booked hotel The Marriot had over booked.
A little disappointed but it turned out to be ok. Staff were all welcoming and friendly. Room was modern clean and spacious.
The hotel is in an ideal location, in the city centre right opposite train station if you happen to be arriving by train.
We were on the 6th floor but it was still very noisy In the early hours. From outside the hotel I might add not inside.
Only ate breakfast but it was superb. A great selection and hot!
Although not our choice of hotel I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 'sharonmc88'
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your complimenting review following your stay with us in June.
I am naturally very pleased that we proved to be a more than suitable alternative to your planned stay at your originally booked hotel.
We hope and trust that your experiences on this occasion will encourage you to stay with Holiday Inn again in the near future.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed in the Holiday Inn opposite Lime Street Station for a weekend to attend a friends wedding reception. I looked at a few hotels but for our budget we chose this one. On arriving in Liverpool we could see the hotel but not sure on how to gain access to the car park as the hotel front is on a main road. Just before the traffic lights you need to indicate right and you will see the entrance to the car park almost double back on yourself to go into it (bit confusing).
Upon checking in we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who gave us the option of 3 different floors. We opted for the 9th, which gave us a great view across Liverpool. The room was very clean as was the whole hotel. We had read on recent reviews that breakfast was a bit of a nightmare so we were expecting the worse, but we were pleasantly surprised as we walked into a friendly, organised restaurant where the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was very good and as much or as little as you wanted. We did use the bar facilities as well one evening. Prices are what you would expect in a hotel so again no nasty surprises.
I wanted to write this review as I feel that this hotel can sometimes be given a bad press. Excellent location, very clean with very friendly staff, what more do you need in a hotel. We will definitely be back and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher floor as the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieb925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 'deddieb925'
Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.
Needless to say, we are very pleased to learn that enjoyed your time in our great City, attending your friend's wedding reception.
As you rightly say, it is sometimes easy to criticise, so it is lovely to receive your review that reflects the standards of service to strive to achieve.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the very near future.
Best regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although in a busy part of the City and above a Shopping Centre this Hotel is great, a part of the City but you can be apart as you people watch at Lime St Station. The room was spacious and clean. The Reception staff excellent and helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your positive review following your Birthday Weekend in Liverpool City Centre.
We appreciate your compliments of our location, breakfast, cleanliness and, importantly, customer service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.
Best regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location for the station/centre/Empire Theatre.
We received a warm welcome on check in and were able to check into our 3 rooms early.
Nice spacious clean room. Great views over the city centre.
Extremely comfy bed and pillows!
Modern rooms but the bar/restaurant could do with a bit of a spruce up.
Standard buffet style breakfast. Cooked items were a tad bit greasy (eggs still sitting in the grease when they were served under the hot light)
Bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath. Sink leaked.
Price wise you are paying for the city centre location. We wouldn't usually entertain the idea at £120

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 'LKPAA25'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your stay with us in Liverpool.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us, complimenting our location, warm welcome and provision of early check-in to help you make the most of your visit.
Naturally, we shall use your constructive feedback on breakfast quality to make appropriate improvement for future guest.
Thank you, once again.
Jonathan King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently spent 3 weeks at the Holiday Inn opposite Lime St Station in Liverpool while I was attending a course at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. I was booked in by my Company and I had no say in the selection of the hotel. When I looked it up online I was unimpressed by the exterior, the nearby shopping centre and the Chinese Buffet. How wrong I was, the interior was clean, fresh and clearly well looked after. The Bar and restaurant were fresh, spacious and had a good selection of Bar food which was well prepared and very reasonable in price. The room was one of the best city centre hotel rooms I have stayed in this year; I have stayed in probably 8 or 9 hotels in the UK so far this year.
The jewels in the crown however are the staff, I value good service but this was good service without being intrusive or OTT. The staff were universally friendly, smiling and engaging, always ready with advice and if they couldn't answer a question they found someone who could. They also helped with urgent printing that I needed done out of hours for my course. The breakfast room was busy but no-one looked harassed and the range and quality of food was good, there always seemed to be enough staff for the job. Bill, Matt and Monika(?) re-set tables an dispensed coffee with a cheery efficiency whilst giving each customer the correct level of individual attention. Ajay and the reception staff (Clare, Carina, Rob and all of the others) were superb despite at times being presented with some challenging guests. The bar was very good and Natalie was extremely helpful with her local knowledge. The gym is small but well equipped although the TV could be upgraded.
Overall my initial concerns were unfounded, three weeks allowed me to observe the staff over a prolonged period and I was deeply impressed by their genuine friendliness. They made a rather pressured course much easier to cope with by their very helpful and caring approach, Jonathan King should be proud of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear David
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive review following your 3 week stay with us. I and my team appreciate your kind comments and feedback and, yes, I am very proud of the high levels of genuine customer service we aim to provide to all of our guests.
I have ensured that your comments have been forwarded to all those involved.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on many future occasions.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great hotel for those travelling by train as it is right at lime St Station. It is also across the road from the main cultural area of the city and just a short walk to major shopping precincts and sights such as the Cavern Club

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 'Jude550'
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind review following your recent stay with us earlier in the month.
We hope and trust that you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and we look forward to welcome you on your future travels.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Johns Precinct, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing