We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My new husband and I would like to thank all the staff who helped us our wedding day on the 12th July, special thanks to Carly for helping us to plan our special day, Mandy for taking such good care of us and the guests and a big thank you to the chef for a fantastic wedding reception. The food was faultless. Would highly recommend this particular hotel for their hospitality, professionalism and great personalities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sarah
Firstly, many congratulations to you and Martin on your wedding on Saturday. On behalf of my team, we would like to wish you both the very best for your future together.
Naturally, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your special day and that we were able to add to the fond memories you will hold.
I have personally ensured that all those involved, including Carly, Mandy & Chef have received your kind compliments.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    503
    173
    54
    26
See reviews for
155
453
91
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel, right in the centre of things, ideal location for shows shopping and drinking!!!! Rooms top class and the breakfast buffet was first class. Will definitely use again. Handy for train station but has parking facilities too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Glen
Thank you for placing your great review following your recent stay in the heart of Liverpool. We are very pleased to learn that the service you received matched our fantastic location.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you on many future occasions.
Best regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at around 11:30am to book in and secure our rooms that were reserved and we were told that our party of 9 would be on the same floor with the proviso that some of us had to share. Myself and a friend offered to share a double and we were told everyone else would have twin beds. Fantastic. We then put our luggage in the room provided very helpful and went our way to Revs for cocktail making. Ace by the way!! We arrived back at the hotel around 5:30pm to check in and get changed ready for our evening out. Where we were met by a very unhelpful lady who said that we were no longer able to have rooms on the same floor and that everyone would have to share a double bed. Obviously we were disappointed as we had been told that we would be on the same floor especially the younger members of the party ie bride and friends. The lady told us this was no longer possible and offered no apology whatsoever. Even after us asking several times she gave out the room keys and there were rooms on the same floor available she gave 2 girls a room on the 4th floor then myself and a friend a room on the 6th then the mother of groom a room on 4th so we sorted the problem ourselves and swapped keys which we thought was actually quite petty of the lady not just to say "who wants to be together let's see what we can do!" So after sorting our rooms out ourselves and swapping keys we settled into our rooms which were actually very good and comfortable. I got a good nights sleep but was awoken in the morning by other guests slamming doors and being rather loud for 7:30am. Breakfast was very good and was replenished often with a wide selection of foods. Continental and English. Very good would stay again just a shame the customer service was lacking and no apology offered for upsetting the Bride!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyEade86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear 'AmyEade86'
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your group's stay in Liverpool City Centre.
Needless to say, I am most concerned to learn that we were unable to honour your request for rooms together for your party, especially as we had promised to do so.
I have spent time discussing your understandable concerns with my Reception Team and they all wish to be associated with my sincere apologies to you & your friends.
On a positive note, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed a good breakfast and I would encourage you to contact me directly prior to your next stay so that I may have pleasure in looking after your booking.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A bit busy for our personal liking but ideal for the theatres and the night life of Liverpool.
The rooms are great with easy access, however, the parking is up a concrete flight of stairs from the reception.
The food is of high standard and the breakfast was so good I wanted seconds.
We will book for our next theatre night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chimpanzee1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear 'Chimpanzee1001'
Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your recent theatre trip to Liverpool; it is most appreciated.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the very near future, when visiting one of the great theatres on our doorstep in the City Centre.
Best regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located, near the city centre shops and station.

Rooms are clean, freshly decorated, comfortable and the air con system is efficient and effective.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful but often only one member of staff was on reception. The lifts were efficient even if you are on one of the top floors. Also worth noting that the car parking charges are fairly low for a city centre hotel.

Breakfast was pretty basic, staff were friendly although there were not enough staff around.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Douglas
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay in Liverpool City Centre.
Needless to say, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope your experiences on this occasion will encourage you to visit us again in the near future.
With regards to staffing levels, I will personally investigate the matter for the benefit of future guests.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night as we were at a family wedding in Liverpool. We booked two rooms, a double and a double double. This was arranged by telephone, the advisor even contacted the hotel to make sure that a family room would be set up for us. Both rooms were very well furbished and generous in size especially the family room. The rooms were immaculately clean and beds were very comfortable. Nice deep long bath and very powerful shower. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic. Tea and coffee served at table and the food was self service, fantastic selection of hot and cold food. Hot food was repelenshid every few minutes, nothing stayed "under lights" for very long.

This hotel is directly opposite Lime Street Station, perfect for anyone arriving by train. Two minutes walk away from shops and bars. Less than five minutes to the Adelphi where the wedding reception was.

We got back to rooms quite early as we had little ones with us so the hotel bar was very welcome. Prices were excellent as was the service.

We are back in Liverpool in October and will be booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 'scarysam'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very kind review following your recent stay with us in the heart of Liverpool.
We are so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.
In the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just the 1 night after our booked hotel The Marriot had over booked.
A little disappointed but it turned out to be ok. Staff were all welcoming and friendly. Room was modern clean and spacious.
The hotel is in an ideal location, in the city centre right opposite train station if you happen to be arriving by train.
We were on the 6th floor but it was still very noisy In the early hours. From outside the hotel I might add not inside.
Only ate breakfast but it was superb. A great selection and hot!
Although not our choice of hotel I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 'sharonmc88'
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your complimenting review following your stay with us in June.
I am naturally very pleased that we proved to be a more than suitable alternative to your planned stay at your originally booked hotel.
We hope and trust that your experiences on this occasion will encourage you to stay with Holiday Inn again in the near future.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Johns Precinct, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing