We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ugly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
1,168 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
“ugly hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

i paid 150 stg for a 2 stars room. the staff unpleasant. food and drink expensive and not so good

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 20 April 2010
Dear 'atontao'

Thank you for your review relating to your stay back in August 2007.

As you will be able to see from other, more recent reviews we have made significant improvements to the Holiday Liverpool City Centre and I am confident that you would have a very positive stay with us if you were book again on your next stay in our city.

To reserve your accommodation, please contact me directly so that I may have pleasure in making the appropriate arrangements for you. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    525
    181
    55
    27
See reviews for
170
472
94
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

myself and my daughter stayed in the holiday inn lime street for one night on march 16th.
we arrived at 11.30 in the morning no problem leaveing bags till we could check in at 3.
when we got our room it was great a small seating area off that two double beds great size.it cost 70 pounds for room only.that night we got room service no tray charge irish hotels take note.
the hotel is so near every shop great for droping off your bags.the only small fault i have the double glazeing wasent great you could hear a lot of noise if groups on the road.
we got a cab back to the airport 11 pounds.
leave plenty of time for going through sacurty they are very slow.
we went with ryanair they made every one put their hand luggage int their gage beware theirs is much smaller than other airlines.if it dident fit people had to pay 35 pounds but the mading thing was you could then bring it on as hand luggage it is a money racket.
their staff are so rude to people you would want to get your ticket for half nothing to put up with their rudeness.when you arrive get number 500 bus it will bring you to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammycorkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, following your recent stay.

It is pleasing to know that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your time in Liverpool and we look forward to welcoming you on many future visits. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Can't fault the hotel for location and service. Staff were all very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast also very good with lots of choice.

Only one thing to watch out for, we stayed in a room overlooking the air conditioning units on top of St Johns which wasn't a problem until we tried to get some sleep. Terrribly noisy. We reported this in the morning and they did know about these rooms being noisy and I did wonder why they put us there in the first place. They did give us a reduction in the room rate but I would rather have had a good nights sleep.

I would definitely stay here again but would ask for another room.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Dear 'Jessnet'

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are most encouraged to learn of your positive experiences in relation to our customer service and quality of breakfast; your comments have been forwarded those involved.

I am concerned to learn that the overall enjoyment of your stay was tarnished by noise from air conditioning units of the shopping centre next to the hotel. Your feedback will be used productively to drive forward improvements for future guests. We would also be pleased to fulfill your requirement for a quieter room on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Stayed at Holiday in weekend of 5th March with large hen party from Ireland, I cannot praise the staff highly enough, nothing too much trouble, breakfast was great and in an ideal location in central Liverpool.
Special thanks to reception staff, Lovely to see smiling faces,
Thanks again, and well done Manager for running a lovely clean friendly hotel

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaurafLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, it was a pleasure to learn that we had helped make your stay in Liverpool memorable for all the right reasons.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our City on many future occasions. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Stayed here from the 19th to 21st february with my husband and kids aged 11 and 14. The room was fab with sofa bed in seperate room with interconnecting door. One of our kids is on regular medication which has to be stored in a fridge, this was no problem to the excellent staff at the hotel who stored her medication in the fridge for her as there wasnt any fridge in the room.The rooms themselves had two flat screen tvs which was great as the kids could watch what they wanted and so could we.There were tea/coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board and an ensuite bathroom. We had booked prepaid with breakfast included and we werent dissappointed with the variety on offer, friut, cereals and full english breakfast with croissants and it was a buffet so you could choose what and how much of what you wanted it was delicious. We also ate at the hotel for dinner which was also delicious and very good quality you can get 3 courses for 15 pounds well worth it. The location is ideal as its only a short walk from the Liverpool One shopping area and st johns shopping centre is on your door step.We were so impressed that we will be returning again on June 27th for 2 nights. Oh I should have said that we live in Cork, Ireland.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkBensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide a fantastic review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, with your family.

It is always a delight to receive such favourable comments and it means so much to our teams who work hard to look after our guests during their time in Liverpool.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to us in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We stopped for 2 nights in this hotel, after much deliberation over which hotel to actually choose in liverpool and we were more than happy with our final choice!!

Check in was smooth (and room was ready 2 hours early) and we were upgraded to a larger room on arrival - on the 5th floor and had some great views of the city.

You cant fault the hotel at all, it was clean, well equiped and has fantastic comfy beds!!

The hotel is in a great location - right opposite Lime St station, within walking distance of all the shops bars restaurants etc. The car park is easy to find and you get a discounted rate of £5 per day through the hotel.

We paid for breakfast our first morning but at half price (£7.95 each) we found it to still be expensive so visited a local Lloyds bar the following day and had a similar meal for a total of £5 :o)

Can't stress how much we enjoyed our stay in Liverpool and how fantastic this hotel was - should we return we would'nt consided staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Dear 'Laurr456'

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to provide such positive feedback from your stay in Liverpool. It is always good to know that the service we provide adds to the overall enjoyment of our City.

From your review I am confident that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre on many future occasions. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevielittle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend and coundn't fault the palce. We arrived early so our luggage was kept for us with no problems. We got a suite room on the 6th which was very nice and gave a bit of a view. The breakfat was also good, and was like most buffet breakfasts, help yourself and as much as you wanted. The location of this hotel is great, just across from the Lime Str Station and in walking distance from Liverpool One, and Albert docks etc. Overall I would recommend this hotel and its value for money is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevielittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Dear 'stevielittle'
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I was particularly pleased to learn that you felt that you had received brilliant value for money from your stay. In this way you could experience a great time in Liverpool without it leaving a hole in your pocket!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: Lime Street, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel is ideal for both Premier League football teams; Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison Park, and for Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have free Wi-Fi and views of the city and the fabulous surrounding architecture. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE shopping and entertainment centre. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the newly refurbished restaurant, bar & lounge with fabulous views over the St. George's Quarter. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents and there is free wi-fi in all areas. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent St. John's shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing