We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a quick stop”
Review of Sudley House

Sudley House
Ranked #46 of 208 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sudley House has been described as a hidden gem. Tucked away in leafy suburbs, Sudley is the only house of a Victorian merchant that still has its original pictures, including works by Millais, Turner and Rossetti, and with beautiful period furniture, carpets and wallpaper it doesn't feel like a regular gallery. There is also a childhood room, a small world room and a costume room, which often house temporary displays, and tearooms. Admission is free.
Langley
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The house and grounds are mildly interesting and worth a quick stop if you are driving but I wouldn't go out of my way to see it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    75
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little attraction.”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Not a huge place, but worth a visit. Staff were very pleasant and keen to help.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A small country house, once belonging to a ship owning family, tucked away in a parkland setting about 3 miles from city centre. A good art collection reflecting the life of the family and early Liverpool. Refreshments available. Its worth an hour or two so combine it with a trip to Speke Hall or John Lennon's house

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a beautful hidden gem of Liverpool's past.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I love this place-I have taken my grand daughter to many of the events- It is such a beautuful venue with wonderful staff -makes you proud to be a scouser and relish our great cultural past.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrasedmum54
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This little museum is such a treat. I worry about writing about is as I want it stay hidden and unspoilt ! It is only small but they say good things come in small packages and that is what Sudley House is . Just the right size for a morning or afternoon visit. We went in the morning had a wander around then a look in the gardens and a light lunch in the cafe . Really Really enjoyable.
And no entrance fees !!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank harrasedmum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sudley House also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Sudley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing