We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great venue”

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original Liverpool Philharmonic Hall opened on 27 August 1849, and was an acclaimed and integral part of the cultural life of Liverpool before being dramatically destroyed by fire in 1933.The present day art-deco Philharmonic Hall, designed by architect Herbert Rowse and built on the same site, was officially opened on Monday 19 June 1939. Today it presents on average 250 events each year, of which approximately 70 are concerts by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, and sells over 250,000 tickets annually.The venue has an illustrious tradition of bringing the top names from rock, jazz, classical, folk and roots, classical and contemporary music to Liverpool. The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Buddy Holly all appeared at the Hall during their careers. The Hall also hosts classic and blockbuster films and premieres, shown on the unique Walturdaw rising cinema screen with Merseyside's only resident theatre organist, Dave Nicholas, and houses the delightfully intimate and informal Rodewald Suite, with its own entrance on Sugnall Street, which, with its cabaret seating, in-house bar and rooftop terrace, is home to the popular After 8 series of jazz, roots and unplugged gigs. Liverpool Philharmonic has been working with schools and the community since the 1940s, and the Learning programme now offers a range of exciting and inspirational opportunities to get involved in live music-making of the highest quality for thousands of people every year in the Hall and throughout the region.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
838 reviews
463 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A great venue”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great architecture and ambiance. Fantastic acoustics. Very intimate venue for concerts.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    157
    33
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“classic building”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Philharmonic hall is one of the best concert halls in the world in a art nevou classic style it attracts super star acts and has seats for 1.700 people which are very comfortable and i am very tall,the bar area is a joy to be in with its Egyptian figures on the wall it is about to get a 5 million pound refurb mainly in the foyer and back stage,you wont be dissapointed with your visit,

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank redzorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saw Paloma Faith here, and Al Stewart a few years back”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Lovely venue, great views even from the back of the theatre, and we could pre-order our drinks for the interval. Quite comfortable for a theatre. Sound for Paloma Faith was great, not keen on Al Stewart myself but other half enjoyed it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank IrishRoverWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is my favrouite theatre in Liverpool. The sound is fantastic there and the venue is simply beautiful.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank manickpixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have been to the 'Phil' on and off over several years, starting as a child when 'forced' as part of a school outing to go and listen to 'a boring orchestra' - ok, I was young, what did I know! :P Fast forward a few years and I have been to a few concerts here and have loved every single one. I no longer live in Liverpool :( but came back for a concert last month and nothing had changed - it felt like coming home and the venue did not disappoint. Wherever you sit you have a good view of the whole of the stage which never happens in the other venues I have been to. The prices are reasonable, as are the prices at the bars and the downstairs bar and restaurant. I love how at intermission they still have people selling the little tubs of ice cream too! If you get the chance to go to the 'Phil', do go and enjoy the amazing acoustics and the fizzing atmosphere. Love it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hmmmmchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Liverpool Philharmonic also viewed

 

Been to Royal Liverpool Philharmonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing