We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Same old story! Read the reviews, then make your own mind up. We'd go back tomorrow, and again next week. All staff were most helpful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was all you could ask for (even the black puddings!). We were self-drive, sharing the facilities with four coach parties. Not a problem at all. Even the lifts behaved perfectly. The whole building is an experience to explore and enjoy. Maybe we were lucky with the room we were allocated. It was full of character and "history". Okay, it's not the Ritz, but it's a darn good second best. Hope you are as lucky as we were. If you can get a good deal (NOT the off the street rate), give it a go.
We avoided the weekend by the way, so it was all very quiet round about.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Hello and thank you for your very kind and positive comments regarding your stay at the Britannia Adelphi Hotel. The hotel is a grade 11 listed Edwardian building and I am glad you enjoyed the period fixtures and fittings, which we have retained, despite many refurbishments over the years. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Adelphi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,469
    1,306
    912
    1,382
See reviews for
685
2,162
292
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Hotel in dire need of a refurb
Reception staff very unhelpful on arrival, as rooms were not ready, and took over an hour and us complaining to our tour operator to provide a room for left luggage.
Not a good start.
Bedroom OK
Bathroom very poor, peeling paint, mouldy tiles, yuck
Food average, breakfast run out when we arrived, so had to wait 20 mins for restocking
Won't be staying there again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbloomfielduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Hello thank you for your comments following your stay here. I was most disappointed to read of your experience with us. All 402 bedrooms and public areas were fully refurbished at a cost of over 15 million pounds for 2008 Capital of Culture year. We are a busy hotel and do suffer some wear and tear, and have an ongoing programme for refurbishment. With regard to your comments re reception and breakfast it would be very helpful if you could write in separately, and we can discuss these issues in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I have no idea if the previous comments i have read have come from the hotel management because this hotel is far from clean, after changing rooms twice i gave up and left my conference a day early.
The rooms were dirty, my room had so must dust it must have been there since the hotel was opened, the bathroom floor was sticky and stained , the sink had spats of food in it and the bath was covered in peoples hair(not from there head either).
The carpets were so dirty i kept my shoes on.
I ended up sharing with a collegaue as it was so hurrendous and creepy. The heating was continuosly up and couldny be turned down. The conference dinner was like something from oliver twist. Every other one of the exhibitors complained and couldnt wait to leave. I will never step foot in the hotel ever again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aflisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Hello and thank you for your comments. I was most concerned to read of your experience with us here at the Britannia Adephi Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies. I am sorry you found our housekeeping to be below standard, i would be grateful if you could contact the hotel separately to enable us to discuss the Housekeeping issues in more detail and bring the room back to our usual high standard. Once again, please accept our apolgies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Had read mixed reviews, but heard good comments from friends who have stayed there. Yes, some of it may be a little dated, but bedroom and bathroom spacious, clean and plenty of storage.

We were at front of Hotel, with view of Liver building in the distance. No problems with noise inside or outside Hotel

Meals good, and plentiful, and as part of a National Holidays tour, there were several of us to serve at once!

Centraly placed, plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity, and most touristy tupe activities within easy walking distance.

Staff friendly and helpful throughout. thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will recommend if asked, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Hello and thank you for your very kind comments following your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do pride ourselves in being a good 3* hotel. All our rooms are double glazed and keep out most of the noise from the busy city centre. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Adelphi in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Wow, what a hotel. Although i originally come from near Liverpool i have never been to the Adelphi. I brought my young daughter to liverpool for a few days to see the sights and after a quick phone call to the Adelphi got ourselves a fantastic dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
Our room was lovely and clean, a small problem withthe toilet was sorted out quickly and efficiently.
The food was lovely, with a varied choice, including burger and chips for my rather fussy child, all done with a smile. The only downside i would say is the free bottle of wine was horrid, and that restocking of the food at breakfast can result in long queues for those wishing to have a cooked breakfast.
Entertainment wise, i cant fault the hotel, i bought a wristband for both myself and daughter and not only did we get a free bar but entertainment too, the hotel group were good but the pub singer was excellent. Bingo had cash prizes, although we never won and there was a quiz aimed at all ages.
It is a little noisy at night, that mihgt have had something to do with Liverpool playing a foreign team the night we were there, but it is a ctiy centre hotel and you have to be prepared for noise form both people and emergency services.
Yes the Aldephi is faded grander, but to me thats what the experience is about.
We had a fantastic time, the staff were helpful, problems were sorted out quickly and they hold your luggage even once you have checked out, which is great if you are planning on making the most of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessjen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Hello what a pleasure it was to read your kind comments and what a wonderful experience for you for your first stay with your daughter in the iconic Adelphi in your home town, hopefully there will be many more stays to come in the future. With regard to your wine we don't get many complaints with the house wine and I am so sorry you didn't ask for a replacement bottle. We are a busy city centre hotel and ufnortunately the hotel can get very busy, and I am sorry it was a bit noisey for you. Thank you again, for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Adelphi very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed in the Adelphi the 12th to 15th March, whilst we visited our son who is at university in Liverpool. I was born and bred in Liverpool, but have been away now for 30 years. Growing up in the 70's, I always wondered what the inside of this inspiring building must be like.
Yes, the Adelphi may have seen better days. But like a lot of our history, it should be respected and acknowledged. We were charged £30 a night each, for a large bedroom with a four poster bed. It was clean & tidy. Plenty of hot water. Room was on the side of hotel, very little noise. Whilst we didn't eat in the hotel, the rest of the service was efficient & courteous. We booked in early, advised the room may not be ready (it was), but we could leave our bags there in safety.
It is in a great central location, handy for everything.
We got what we paid for, a clean, pleasant hotel, with friendly staff and an oldy worldy charm at a reasonable price.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there is plenty of choice close to the hotel.
I would definitely return and recommend the Adelphi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Hello, thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay at the Adelphi, it was so nice to received positive comments for our wonderful hotel. Thank you for respecting our history, in 2014 we celebrate the Adelphi centenary we are all very excited and planning a very exciting itinerary of celebrations . Once again, thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Adelphi Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Had booked for a weekend stay. Very cheap rate and front page of the Echo should have said it all.

Good location and was handy for night out.

Room was very dated had probably not been decorated for over 40/50 years and not cleaned properly for just as long. Bathroom had no cold running water, all was luke warm, no shower!!! Carpet was filthy and stained, bedding felt dirty, windows did not open at all for air.
The worst bit was the smell of smoke, I dont think this was recent but from the days prior to the smoking ban, everything was engrained with the smell and was yellow! Woke up the next morning dying of thirst due to the smoke smell, no cold water to drink though!! Next morning met a friend and despite having a bath they said i smelt of smoke!!! I went back to the room and they had been no maid service at all, I tried to have a nap but the smell was too much giving me headaches & making me thirsty. Tried to speak to reception but they weren't interested so I booked another hotel and just left, took a few showers until I felt clean again after there!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Joe Reilly - General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Hello and thank you for your comments. I was most disappointed and concerned to read of your experience with us at the Britannia Adelphi Hotel, please accept our sincere apologies.
All 402 bedrooms and public areas were fully refurbished at a cost of over 15 million pounds for 2008 Capital of Culture year. We are an extremely busy hotel and do suffer a lot of wear and tear and have an ongoing programme for refurbishment, which is due again this year. However, I would be grateful if you could write in separately, of if you prefer, contact my secretary Sue Anderson so i can discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,382 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing