We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Under-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Yes, the Adelphi is a little tired and the corridors smell of disenfectant and it's absolutely full of coach parties but, what a building. Here is a piece of Liverpool history and to be cherished for what it is. If you like the plastic of Travelodge then go there but here there is so much more. Grand reception rooms, marble lined corridors etc.
We had a room upgrade and it was vast - clean and quiet - still cheap by the standards of many of the boutique hotels around. The staff were courteous, there when we wanted them. The breakfast was a little tired but I've had worse in places charging twice as much and the service was excellent.
As a hotel I'd give it two/three stars but as an experience it deserves 4 - especially at the price.

Room Tip: To get the best rooms go for the upgrade - particularly the first floor at the back/side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Old007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Hello and thank you for your comments regarding the Adelphi Hotel. We pride ourselves in offering our guests great rates, superb food and excellent customer service.

There has been an Adelphi Hotel on this site since 1827. For nearly 200 years the Adelphi Hotel has been at the centre of the life of the city. The names of the Adelphi Hotel and Liverpool have gone together like peaches and cream and Lennon and McCartney.

From Kings and Queens to Presidents and Princes, dictators and Prime Ministers to film stars and pop stars the grand old Adelphi has seen them all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,126 - 5,132 of 6,210 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I stayed with a coach company and found the hotel comfortable and the staff efficient and polite. The rooms at the front can be noisy at night and early morning with the traffic.TV recption is very poor with limited channels.However, being so central made touring Liverpool very easy with all the attractions closeby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Hello and thank you for your comments regarding you stay here at the Britannia Adelphi Hotel. The Adelphi is a very busy City Centre 3* hotel offering good value for money and very popular with celebratory parties, travel trade guests, leisure guests, corporate guests and conference delegates.

I have always felt that our city centre location can be likened to a double edged sword as it can have both favourable and unfavourable consequences. To enjoy the proximity to the city during the daytime means one has to endure the sounds of the city at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My second stay here and I must say it was better than the first time. The food is very good, even though it takes a while to get in with being in a queue. The lifts to cause folks upset far too small for so many guests you have to wait ages for 1. My room was better.. but a shortage of light bulbs was a bit of a problem as 4 where not working, but at least the room was clean and bed linen clean and fresh. The language caused a bit of a problem at meal times.:(

Room Tip: Floor 2 seems ok near lift as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

It is most rewarding to read your report regarding the improvement in the service we offer.
It is only by customers apprising us of such issues that we are able to constantly review and refine our services and products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

After reading the dreadful reviews on T.A we were a little worried about what we were going to find at The Adelphi. However we had a perfectly adequate room with lovely crisp white bed linen and a clean, though dated bathroom. The hotel is huge! Much bigger than we imagined with hundreds of rooms and great long corridors - put us in mind of The Overlook in The Shining.
We were hoping we might meet one of the ghosts on our nose around the building and it certainly feels somewhat creepy late at night but none appeared.

Yes, as many other people have said, the hotel could do with updating in some areas but when you think of how many rooms there are you realise the cost would run into the millions. If Britannia have that sort of money to spend it would be a fantastic place to stay as the reception rooms are wonderful. As it is I would say it is a very good place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Liverpool (it is a bit noisy at night though) and want to stay somewhere a bit different.

Room Tip: I would stay in The Adelphi again but would ask for a room higher up the building and maybe at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to report on your recent visit to the hotel. I agree the hotel is a very impressive building; all of our 402 bedrooms and public areas were refurbished in the Capital of Culture year 2008 at a cost of 15 million pounds. The hotel is very busy and does suffer wear and tear, but our refurbishment programme is ongoing.

A little about the history of the hotel; most of the original features of the century-old Adelphi have survived. From its earliest original form the Adelphi has played host to the rich and famous. If ‘Hello’ magazine had been published a century ago it would have had a photographer permanently encamped in the entrance lobby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here over a Friday/Saturday night. Our deluxe room wasn't very deluxe and it wasn't worth the money we paid, but it was clean (if a little dated) and nothing appeared too broken or life threatening. A jacuzzi bath from the 1980s must have been what constitued a 'deluxe' room.

The breakfast was disappointing, not very good quality and not a great selection on the buffet really. Significant lack of tea spoons!

Upon check in they hadn't got us down for breakfast, so a good job I checked that. But no information forthcoming about where and at what time. So the basic fundamentals of reception training were lacking.

The lifts - ah the lifts - everything is true! They're a law unto themselves. Random floors accessed without wanting to go there!

Novel experience. Impressive in size.

Room Tip: I don't think you'll have much choice for rooms - there's loads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieBHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

I am most disappointed and concerned to read of your experience with us at the Britannia Adelphi Hotel, there can never be any excuses as for why any of our standards should fall so short of our own company requirements and our customer’s expectations. I have spoken at length with the members of staff concerned and we have fully discussed the points you raised in your letter.

The Britannia Adelphi hotel is a Grade ll listed building, built in 1914 and has survived two world wars. Many of the original features of the century old Adelphi have survived and these are evident in most of our bedrooms and public areas

The 402 fully refurbished en-suite bedrooms are beautifully presented with Edwardian style and plenty of character. It is the old world charm that many visiting the hotel enjoy, and this is a factor we promote in all our literature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

mum and i stayed oct 7-9th lovely twin room-- great old time bathroom -- very central hotel and omly 12 quid from airport with delta taxi. breakfast great -- even porridge and evening meal very homely with 7.95 bottle wine!! if u have room to front can b noisy at weekend with outside traffic etc,,, overall great stay and best hotel in centre livepool!special thanks to young guy in rest fri and sat nite -- great customer service!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Many thanks for taking time to report on your stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves on being great value for money and providing wonderful food and excellent customer service and it appears you agree with me too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was our third visit to the Adelphi and we were not disappointed. We checked in late, but there was no problem, a fantastic room with a wonderful view of Christ the King Cathedral and the colours on the side of Liverpool University, the view at night was magical. The room was huge and a seperate large bathroom was beyond our expectations.
We had one problem with a mattress but when it was mentioned at reception it was replaced as was the broken hairdryer, we cant fault the customer service at the Adelphi it was first class.
Although there was a large group in and a few evening parities the room we were in was quiet and we had the best nights sleep once the mattress was changed.
There was no entertainment, which was upsetting, we were told there was, but we didn't miss it. The meals were wonderful and well cooked in Jennies and the staff wonderfully friendly, especially to the children, a decent bottle of wine was provided free, as was fruit juice for the children, out thanks to Steve, who provided that much chocolate ice cream our children thought it was the best pudding ever!!!
We had afternoon tea in the ballroom and the staff were fantasitc, full of information and even gave us directions to the various markets being held over the long weekend we were there, and were happy to chat and suggest places to visit that would appeal to the kids.

Our thanks to the staff for the most wonderful long weekend and we hope to see you all again soon, our children loved the booklet on the history of the hotel, and even took it into school!

I dont think the Adelphi deserves the bad press it gets, as to us its one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Thanks again

Room Tip: When you book ask for a quiet room, its worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hereandthere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

I am delighted to read the account of your third stay with us recently; it is lovely to welcome back old friends.
As you have found we are a very family friendly hotel and our staff go that extra mile to ensure our guests get the best service possible.
I will make sure Steve gets to know that his ice cream was such a hit with your children.
I look forward to your return visit which I hope will be sooner rather than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,351 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 100 in Liverpool
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £36 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing