We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Amazing City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Amazing City.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is great. I have visited here many times with my friends and family and have nothing to complain about. The lounge area and function rooms and beautiful and have so much character. Admittedly some of the budget rooms could probably use a bit of a refurb. HOWEVER.... "you pay for what you get" could not be a more apt saying for this hotel.
I have always stayed in superior rooms, many of which have four poster beds and/or jacuzzi baths. These rooms are fantastic and provide a touch of luxury. They are well worth upgrading to.If you want a budget room then know that it will be budget... and don't complain about it!

The breakfast is amazing... a lovely buffet selection!

Location is fantastic.... right in the heart of Liverpool.... a great city, full of culture and an excellent place to party :-D

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I am most grateful for your encouraging report on your recent stay.
We know we are not the only hotel in the city so we work tirelessly to ensure our guest expectations are met.

The Adelphi has been likened to a grand old lady with the survival of most of the original features of the century-old Adelphi. However, what we lack in modernity we make up for in good old fashioned value for money, great food and excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    1,448
    1,278
    890
    1,346
See reviews for
671
2,119
284
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have just returned from a weekend attending a social function arranged by friends.

PLUS points
- excellent breakfast, restocked reasonably quickly, pleasant service
- newly refurbished room, albeit quite a walk away in the basement. Ask for an M room if you don't mind the walk.
- central location
- The Wave Bar - cheap drinks, great oldies music and a good atmosphere
- The main reception rooms. I last stayed here 13 years ago and the hotel's elegance was obscured by dire wallpaper and carpets, which had clearly been ordered by someone who was either colour blind or with access to job lots of technicolour soft furnishings. It is lovely to see the hotel approaching its elegant best.

MINUS
- Additional charges (hence the Ryanair comparison) - we spent the weekend avoiding being ripped off. £12 per night parking charge!! Luckily the car park was full and they offered us a space in the car park of a sister hotel, which was cheaper. (I still think residents shouldn't pay ANYTHING!)
- rip off number 2 - £2 credit card charge. We went to a bank to get the cash
- rip off number 3 - £10 charge for safety deposit box. You cannot be serious!
- rip off number 4 - drinks prices in the hotel. Why are they substantially more than in the Wave Bar? I presume it is the same product. We drank in The Wave.....

The above left a nasty taste in the mouth. Have Britannia Hotels been overtaken by Ryanair?
- no internet access - but it would probably have been extortionate if they had it!
- limited TV channels and very poor reception.

We WILL return, either for a function or just to enjoy the excellent Wave bar, but it did leave a nasty taste in the mouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Many thanks for your very factual report which I have read with much interest.
Firstly, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit.
I will endeavour to respond to the points you raised that you felt were less positive.

The car parking tariff; the Britannia Adelphi is a city centre hotel and as with any city centre hotel car parking space is at a premium and in the main is chargeable. However, the Britannia Adelphi offers under cover and secure parking for our guests at the rate of 12.00 for 24hour stay and 6.00 if the vehicle is booked out before 9.30am.

Credit and debit card charge, this is a cost which is paid to the bank for the privilege of using merchant facilities; however we are always happy to accept cash payments from our guests.

Safety deposit box, I think you will find this is a service which hotels nationally and internationally are offering; however, many hotels charge a daily rate which can become very expensive.

The issue you raised regarding the variation of drinks costs throughout the hotel is a timely one and I can now advise you that we have a single liquor price structure throughout the bars in the hotel

Finally, none of these charges are hidden from our guests, conversely all of these charges are identified on our website and publications and additional signs are posted in our reception area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night at my friends wedding in June 2011. We were a bit worried about what our room would be like as we had heard a lot of bad reviews about this hotel. When we checked in we were pleasantly suprised. Our room was very spacious, but cosy. The bathroom was huge, but very clean. It had a victorian feel to the hotel, but i loved it. The only bad side to the hotel was the breakfast. The room seemed far to small and there was a big queue for tables. The food wasnt up to much either although the wedding meal was delicious! I didnt use any of the facilitys in the hotel so i couldnt comment on them.

I would definitly stay there again! What a beautiful building!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to the hotel. I am so pleased that you decided to try the hotel for yourself rather than being swayed by the comments of others.

The Adelphi is a very busy City Centre 3* hotel offering good value for money and very popular with celebratory parties, travel trade guests, leisure guests, corporate guests and conference delegates.

I take onboard your comments regarding the breakfast and assure you my management team are in discussion with view to menu change

I look forward to seeing you and your party back at the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Central and has lots of character, stay here when ever possible on a trip to Liverpool - never had any complaints

Bar has happy hour too, Mc'd's and Wetherspoons are just across the road as is the station. It is a short walk from the main shops and Liverpool1

We had a room downstairs this time and it was as good any any other we have stayed in there

Cannot fault it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayAddict0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Lovely to hear from you and to know that the hotel has met your expectations yet again.
We look forward to seeing you back with us again, keep looking out for the fantastic mid-week and weekend breaks which are promoted on our Britannia Hotel website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N\W
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel recently with a party of friends who were arriving from different locations at slightly different times. Booking in was slow as the reception staff stick to a strict time policy and we were made to wait until exactly 2pm (where I do feel that common sense could have prevailed)
The hotel itself has seen better days BUT.... the feeling of spaciousness is fantastic. The almost palatial lounge area(s) more than make up for the tired, although spacious bedrooms.

Evening dinner was however a different matter. The starter (soup) was tasteless sludge, followed by leathery chicken portions and frozen vegetables....the sweet was a slice of fruit pie with pouring cream. Breakfast was the usual Britannia hotel selection, but by far better than the previous evening dinner. The hotel is situated very close to all the main attractions of Liverpool, so that was a bonus.
The bathrooms are dated but functional... BUT ours didnt have a frosted window and the toilet was next to the window so others across from us could see right in!! ugh!

Room Tip: You can update to a suite..... at a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worrascam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hello and thank you so much for your comments on your recent visit to the hotel. It is only through constructive comments and observations such as those that you have made that we are able to continually monitor maintain and improve our standards of guest care

I am sorry you felt the booking-in system was not to your liking; if the hotel has been full the night before it is necessary to delay booking-in in order to have the rooms ready for new guests. However, if rooms are ready then booking-in is brought forward accordingly.

All of our first floor rooms and public areas have wi-fi and we are currently installing the infrastructure to extend wi-fi to the bedrooms.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Jenny’s Restaurant, the restaurant is very busy and predominantly a self service carvery. We are always listening to our guest’s feedback and to that end Jenny’s menus are being discussed with a view to change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I was on a match trip to Liverpool with 2 other lads and stayed at the Britannia Adelphi. We were plesantly surprised as we had stayed here numerous times over the last 10 years and had found it to be run down and poorly managed. In fact, I would never have taken my family to this Hotel; I considered it barely good enough for a lads weekend.
However, over the last year or so they have redecorated and improved the appearance of the bedrooms, corridors and all the main rooms (reception, restaurant, ballroom, etc), and this has restored some of the grandeur to this magnificent building. The lifts still need replacing as they are too small to deal with the volume of people using the hotel. Although having said that, its a great excuse to use the magnificent carpeted stairwell.
The staff were friendly, and efficient . The breakfast was a typical hotel buffet of cereal, continental breads and a hot English fry.
We had a triple room, which, while dated, was clean and recently redecorated. It was a large room with with high ceilings and a spacious and adequate bathroom.
The price was steep for a 3star hotel, but that's typical of all Liverpool hotels on
on a match weekend. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back with my family.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room; Looking at other reviews, it seems the redecorating is not finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel_Gard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Many thanks for taking time to report on how the hotel has exceeded your expectations. In 2008 the hotel has had a major capital investment but the hotel is very busy and does suffer wear and tear, so our refurbishment programme is ongoing.
To respond to your grievance concerning the lift system, the Britannia Adelphi Hotel is a Grade ll listed building, and because this building is of special interest which warrants every effort being made to preserve it, English Heritage does not allow us to make structural changes to the hotel. Over the years we have only been able to maintain them rather than replace them for more modern systems
We pride ourselves on being a good 3* hotel offering good food great customer service and excellent value for money. We are mindful we operate in a very busy market so we work very hard to ensure our guests experience the best the Adelphi can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed there from 2nd to 3rd November 2011. The public rooms still have a certain traditional elegance to them, and the main lounge is very impressive. However my sixth floor bedroom was overdue a refurbishment and looked a bit worn and old, although the bedding was clean. I ate dinner and breakfast and found them satisfactory without being anything special, and the service was reasonable. I used the hotel car park which was a bit expensive at £12 for 24 hours, but the car park was covered, secure and managed throughout the day.

The hotel is well placed in the centre of the city, very close to the new shopping centres, and not too far from the Cavern and the new Docks area.

A price of £75 for dinner, bed & breakfast was certainly not expensive, but perhaps reflected the quality of the room and meals. This is not a top quality hotel, but you will get good value for money.

Room Tip: There can be noise from late night revellers outside, so try for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Hello and thank you for your comments regarding you stay here at the Britannia Adelphi Hotel. The Adelphi is a very busy City Centre 3* hotel offering good value for money and very popular with celebratory parties, travel trade guests, leisure guests, corporate guests and conference delegates.
The Britannia Adelphi hotel is a Grade ll listed building, and because this building is of special interest which warrants every effort being made to preserve it, English Heritage does not allow us to make structural changes to the hotel. Many of the original features of the century old Adelphi have survived and these are evident in most of our bedrooms and public areas. It is the old world charm that many visiting the hotel enjoy, and this is a factor we promote in all our literature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing