We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GRAND HOTEL and GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GRAND HOTEL and GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel on a coach trip for 5 nights.The hotel is massive and grand inside! Our room was very quiet and comfortable.I did ask the very friendly night porter for an extra blanket for our bed at 1am in the morning and it was delivered to our room straight away.
I have read reviews about the cleaning of the hotel and all I can say is the Adelphi staff are doing their best.It would be a massive task and cost to keep this hotel spotless.The hotel is very old and in the centre of Liverpool City,so you have to expect some dust..I am pleased to report you do not need a dust mask,but if you are over fussy bring a duster with you.
The food was very good and the drinks very reasonably priced.The service was good in all the areas we used in the hotel.
Lime Street station is only a couple of minutes walk away,I checked the station out and you can visit Blackpool/Southport very easily for a day out.
Liverpool was a great place to visit,lots to do and see! we would have liked to have stayed for longer.
All the staff I dealt with at the Adelphi were very friendly and helpful..Only one thing I would like to add.. if you have a problem with walking up steps or stairs,I would stay on the lower floors or ask advice before booking.
We had a great time! Thank you

Room Tip: I think the inside rooms would be the most quiet,this is where we stayed and had no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    1,420
    1,238
    859
    1,285
See reviews for
643
2,065
272
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rutherglen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Adelphi, reminded me of the outlook hotel minus Jack and the charm.
Very dull corridors and small claustrophobic rooms do not help this tired
and dated old lady.
We(friends) spent one night there,more than enough to get a feel of the place,
In fact One hour would have been enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Right in city centre, Large well furnished public rooms. Food choice good, clean well furnished dining room, choice of upgrade £24 per person but we found menu and quality very good.
Bedrooms very large but tv old box type small screen all channels but poor reception lot of buzzing not easy to watch. Bathroom clean but dirt collected in wooden skirting and decorative wood panneling. Shower rose connected to taps but no means of hanging on wall, diificult to climb in bath to have shower also to try and hold rose, no slip mat. Wash basin and toilet almost new. Bingo and little entertainment in large function room in basement, long way to walk many stairs but lift available. Bar happy hour 5 to 8pm, very cheap drinks, house spirits and wine very reasonable.

Room Tip: Floor 4 very quite, did not have choice of which side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcgveg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us.
We are in a great location for people visiting Liverpool for shopping, tourist attractions and nightlife.
If you had spoken with the duty manager during your stay we could have had your room re serviced or changed your room for you to ensure you had a more comfortable stay.
It is only with constructive comments as you have made that we can maintain and improve our standards of care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

travelled with national holidays to the adelphi hotel liverpool could not believe the level of service we recieved there had to be at least 400 people seated waiting for a 3 course meal with table service the organisation of the staff was excellent everyone of us were served with red hot food and all had been served a 3 course meal within an hour amazing the deal was inclusive of a 99p bar and the bar staff were so pleasant service at the bar was excellent they made our stay at the adelphi extra special I wish to name these 3 young people and would appreciate it if you were to forward this review to the hotel as i feel they deserve a pat on the back the hotel manager ought to be proud of them it was Abby Phil and Chris thankyou so much we will definitely return in the very near future

Room Tip: stayed in 3 different rooms had no problem with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnmcroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such lovely comments with regards to the hotel and staff members.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Large room clean and comfy bed but very tired and really needs an upgrade.Staff we found were lovely and had no problems.Not enough sign posts of how to find your room and very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
I am happy to hear you had a nice room and comfortable bed, I have passed your comments on to maintenance with regards to signposts for rooms.
It is only with constructive comments such as those you have made that we can continually monitor, maintain and improve our standards of care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I witnessed an arrogant outburst, never of the like have I ever seen from a member of hotel staff in my well travelled life at the Liverpool Britannia Adelphi Hotel. As a result of seeing this and his female Manager's attitude too, never again will I or my family go there or pay to hear and see such an arrogant attitude. This young man virtually snubbed and insulted a visitor from overseas for asking for a tray of tea and he was too busy. He then stormed off shouting after the lady had tried to take his name. Terrible, terrible attitude and arrogance, not what you want to see when on holiday and a shameful display of ignorance and poor staff training and shocking attitude to customers. I wish he could have been filmed! The customer left the building and no doubt she will and should contact Britannia Hotels. The lady Manager was equally as abusive and it did not go unnoticed in the large dining room there. Shame since some of the younger waiters were quite pleasant. Avoid this place, not a nice place to be or to be treated and our table of ten witnessed this arrogance first hand. Appalled at the Adelphi in Liverpool and still talking of our disgust at the way that a customer was treated on Jubilee celebrations. The waiter in question and his female manager should be sacked, he should have gone on the spot for sure. Outbursting publicly when asked for a tray of tea!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very nostalgic and historic building in a great location. However suffers from owners who refuse to upgrade and take as much profit as they can. I remember it from Tv and a called Hotel, it has not changed much from then!

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
We are a very busy 3* city centre hotel that offers good value for money. It is only constant investment from the Britannia group that keeps the hotel's heritage and original features maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing