We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
hull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Third time I have stayed at this hotel on weekend breaks away, went with some girlfriends the last time and had a chrismas meal with a Queen tribute band for entertainment, we had a wonderful time and the food was great, the staff do a brilliant job in serving hundreds of people and still keeping a smile on their faces. The hotel is central to everything you need and the reception staff are only to happy to oblige , always found all the staff to be warm and pleasant morning noon and night , the only bug bear I have found are the annoying lifts which could do to be bigger or have a more efficient system for such a large hotel but even the lifts won't stop me going back to this welcoming lovely hotel always makes me feel at home .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,466
    1,305
    911
    1,381
See reviews for
684
2,161
291
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Visited the Adelphi last weekend. The hotel is in a fab location only a couple of minutes walk away from the train station, shops and bars. Could not fault the cleanliness in the room. Large sized room, comfy beds, tea making facility and lovely clean fluffy white towels. We ate at Jennys resturaunt twice in our stay. The evening meal was very nice! Plenty of choice with deserts to die for haha! Good choice at breakfast there was everything you could ask for with a cooked breakfast and a selection of continental.
All staff that we came across were all lovely and very helpful!
Only fault about the hotel was that our room was situated right next to the lift which was a bit noisey. So, it did disturb us throughout the night.
Would definatly return to the Adelphi again next year but will be asking for a room thats not next to the lifts.
Looking forward to returning next year thanks to all the lovely staff at the Adelphi! :)

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not next to the lifts as you wont get much sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess xx e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

It is very nice and clean hotel , friendly staff (nothing too much trouble) and excellent location in city centre (close to shops, restaurants, bars and just two minutes walk from Lime Street Station). It s great if you get a cheap deal but wouldn't pay over £100 pounds for it. Check in & check out was really smooth and easy. I will definitely stay again there soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan1111138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

THIS IS THE GREATEST HOTEL EVER !!! The Adelphi hotel is amazing it has clean rooms, good food and friendly staff. Every room was fresh and clean and is definetly cleaned regularly,and the beds were comfy and clean. Every room had a TV for when you get bored, and there is plenty of storage space for clothes and other things.The eating area was nice and clean, and the staff were nice and polite.The food was excellent and ther was plenty of it.This was the best holiday ive ever been on, andi woid certainly go there again. FIVE STARS !!!!

Room Tip: Keep your card to get into your room safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 312bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

The Adelphi is an impressive hotel, huge lobby's and restraunt, marble walled hallways, rooms are very big. But it's quiet tired feeling, it seems like it was an amazing hotel 50 years ago.
We had a good stay here, the one thing that bothered me a lot was the security was terrible. Each night I came in they didn't ask to see room keys or name. And my room key (swipe card) kept on going blank, so I would ask the receptionist (different one each time) to regenerate it, I would just give my room no. and wouldn't even ask my name or anything. I could of gone and asked for any room no. key numerous times.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have stayed at the Adelphi many times in the past, and yes I know this once grand old lady is now well past her best. However we were always made welcome and the staff made up for what the building lacked... Things had certainly changed on our latest visit!!! We had gone for a one night Christmas party which was held upstairs in the banqueting room. There is no lift to this floor and being in a wheelchair I had to use the service lift, which was fine... except it was filthy dirty. The kitchen were using it to deliver food to the party and remove plates etc, As there were 500 of us this took some doing, but to stop anyone else using the lift they had wedged the doors open which meant I was left sitting there for ages until a member of staff could be found to run down the stairs and free it.... After breakfast, we went to check out and because we had booked into another hotel on the waterfront for a couple of nights we left our cases in the luggage room, but a bag full of Christmas presents we placed in reception for safe keeping. Later in the day we went to pick them up to go meet friends but they couldnt be found. Several of the staff remembered seeing them but they didnt know where they had gone... the attidude seemed to be tough luck!!!
That night we were at our hotel and we rang the Adelphi to be told the bag had been found, When I asked if it could be brought to me I was told they didnt have the time or the manpower to chase half way across the city. We got a taxi the next day to pick it it up... it cost me £5 each way. One of the staff told us it was the night manager I spoke to who was " trying to save the hotel a few quid" Well good for him, he has lost our future custom and I will never reccommend the hotel again. I hope the owners are grateful for the £5 you saved them!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exiledscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I was a bit dubious at first because of some of the bad reviews that this place got. The hotel & furnishings do look a little old & tired but they fit in perfectly with the style & period of the hotel. The room we stayed in was fantastic & spacious. There were lots of mirrors in the room to use while getting ready to go out.
The hotel location is ideal, just outside Lime Street Station & only 10 mins walk from the docks area. There are a couple of bars at the hotel to choose from. One was very quiet & peaceful & the other bar was more lively.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzydazzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing