We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and 99p bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and 99p bar”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

we booked this hotel through Edwards Coach Holidays 3days and a 99p bar

Excellent location, right in the town centre and we visited Anfield when we were staying

Dinner and breakfast was excellent, buffett style, ample food help yourself

Room Tip: higher floor the quietier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlandCathJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    1,450
    1,279
    890
    1,351
See reviews for
675
2,120
286
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

1 Feb. off to Liverpool with National Holidays 3 days 2 nights all inclusive £99. Bargain price great weekend. Easy pick up and quick journey arrived about 1400, Have stopped before at the Adelphi and knew what to expect. A very grand hotel although getting a little jaded now, room, food and staff warm, hot an friendly in that order. Liverpool is a great place to explore loads of history, attractions and shops for the wife. I can recommend the bus tour which you could hop on and off at various locations with the tickets lasting 2 days. Lots of night life but book early on line for major venues as the sell out quick. Some very good places to eat and plenty of bars. The Wok&Go near the hotel is a great little noodle bar and very reasonable for lunch. Be warned the hotel bar is very popular all day, with it's happy hour until 1700 and with all inclusive guests getting served it sometimes took upto 15 minutes to get a drink. Although it's quite large it soon fills up. We travelled with 16 friends which made it even harder to get seats. All in all through a great weekend and looking forward to the next.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the better as the lifts get very busy. The best rooms are at the front but you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickman1052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

stayed 4 nights all inclusive,last week in january,massive hotel,staff friendly,rooms,ok,abit tired,but very clean.tea and coffee facilities,plenty of storage,television.food pretty good,everything you want for breakfast,plenty of choice for dinner.bar an d entertainment good,location very good,most places of interest easy walking distance.downside,too many steps and stairs.2 flights of stairs down to restaraunt,then 4 steps to collect food,also 1 flight stairs to bar.lifts were terrible,only take 3 or 4 people,depending on weight,sometimes 20 minute wait in queu,we were on 6th floor,so had no choice to wait.i am disabled,very inconvenient.all in all,good hotel,but not for diabled people

Room Tip: get a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapsamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. Checkin was quick and efficient and even with the mix up over payment the staff at check out dealt with this amazingly.

The hotel is old and therefore has old lifts so the majority of the time we used the stairs this wasnt an issue for us.

The room was clean and tidy a little small for a double room but we saw this as cosy.

The location was really good slap bang in the middle of the city.

All in all I would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Despite being Liverpool born and bred, this was the first time I stayed in The Adelphi. I have heard many stories about the hotel being past its self-by-date, scruffy and old fashioned, so I was slightly apprehensive to what awaited us. To be fair, none of the above applied during our stay, everywhere was clean and tidy. Our room was on the fourth floor and was massive, four poster bed, en-suite bathroom, all the normal facilities, so cannot fault the room. The room, and indeed the miles of corridors had a resemblance to the hotel from The Shining, and a few people in our party were of the opinion the building is haunted. Happily the only spirits I encountered were the ones I poured down my neck!
Food was fine, quick and enjoyable, the staff were friendly and polite and the prices are reasonable. I only have two minor issues which need mentioning - the lifts are terrible, I know its an old building (100 years+) but they are unreliable, slow and refuse to work if more than three people get in. There is another lift away from the reception but it is poorly signposted. The other issue was two beggars were sat outside the main entrance asking guests for money, we reported this to the receptionist who promptly sent a very young lad out to deal with them (he must have been 16 or 17). Either have a permanent Concierge outside, or get a more older, experienced member of staff to deal with the likes of them, instead of a youngster.
Overall, well worth a trip, in its pomp the Adelphi was a very grand, ornate hotel - yes time has taken a bit of a toll on her, but she still retains some elegance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Had a great 1 night stay, room was huge with traditional fireplace and bathroom fittings. Yes the hotel is looking tired but it is over 100 years old ! but you can feel it's history and sense how grand it was in it's hey day. In a great central location. Real value for money. It's only downside sadly was the breakfast ! Food was great it was just the 20 minutes spent standing holding your plate waiting to get to the one small area hosting the full English breakfast ! It's a busy hotel and the breakfast service area just isn't adequate. Best option take the cheap room only rate then get yourself breakfast in the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Gorgeous hotel with some remnants of the grandeur of old. I went on a coach trip so my experience may be different from normal paying guests. Me and my friend had a twin room which had lovely wooden beds massive original wardrobes, dressing table, sofa, chair, TV, coffee making facilities, trouser press, hairdryer and bathroom with bath and shower. Although you could see how magnificent it would have been it was very tired looking and had some stains on the sofa. The hotel bars and lounge were lovely. The only down side was the buffet style restaurant we had to use as a coach party. Free-for-all springs to mind, although the food itself was very nice. We did get the room very cheap though so I would take that into consideration. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing