We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea in the Adelphi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My daughter and I went here for afternoon tea here after a recomendation from my mother-in -law. When we arrived there was nothing advertising the event outside the hotel. Inside the reception there was a sigh saying afternoon tea in a room up the stairs. Service was a bit slow and the sandwiches were on thick bread but we did thouroughlt enjoy it. It was £16.00 for the two of us, pot of tea, coffee or drink of your choice, 4 chicken triangle sandwihes & 4 carved ham sandwiches which were lovely. Side salad and crisps, and then we had a cream scone with jam and a strawberry & cream cake/flan. It was lovley to sit in the room with all its grandure we thouroughly enjoyed it and will do it again.
On the way out we nipped to the ladies as you do and there was a poster on the wall which said you could have an all you can eat buffet style lunch for £12.50 each (this is what my mother in law ment) I will certainly try that nect time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,306 - 4,312 of 5,998 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at the Adelphi last week as I was looking for a hotel near to the station. This much I was pleased with, it´s a good location close to all shops, bus and train stations etc etc. I booked online and I thought that 44 quid was a decent price for a single room. When I arrived I noticed that the prices advertised at the hotel were in fact 89 pounds so I thought I´d got a bargain booking online and well in advance. I was wrong. My room, although perfectly acceptable in size and ameneties adjoined the lift shaft and so I was subjected to the constant noise of a creaky old lift. Now, given the clients at this hotel, I knew that using the stairs to reach ones room was completely out of the question. The hotel appeared to attract solely the over 70´s and due to its shockingly outdated decor, it took me back to what an old folks home must have looked like 10 years before the start of the second world war. I was kept awake by the constant strains of the creaky lift. My room (102) should be closed and turned into a storage cupboard. There was no remote control for the TV. Two chaps came up and had a look at the TV and said they would return with a replacement, but they didn´t. I knew they wouldn´t. I get the feeling that this hotel was once a genuine grand establishment as the dining and meeting rooms are huge and impressive, but so dated. And it smells like it too. I did not eat or drink there so I cannot comment on the food but it wouldn´t surprise me if Boiled Cabbage was one of their best sellers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazpacho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is an old hotel and this becomes very apparent once you step inside, it is very dated and dare I say it, it smells a bit, and not in a good way. I spent two nights in the hotel as I was on a weekend break. My room was a single, it was a non smoking room and located right next door to the lift shafts (2 lifts). The noise level was extreme, it was like an earthquake every time the lift moved, which was all the time because there are over 400 rooms in the hotel. The staff; well some were efficient but cold like the reception staff. The bar staff were neither efficient nor friendly. The housekeeper on my floor decided to bang on my door at 8am, not exactly sure why as I hadn’t requested a wake up call and I had booked 2 nights. I had to shout at her not to come into my room as she couldn’t hear me over the roar of the lifts. The room itself was somewhat clean but very dated and very dark. I would recommend that you bring a 60watt bulb just so that you can see where your bed is. I didn’t eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. As the title of this piece suggests, my biggest gripe was with the exchange rate charged by the hotel. I hadn’t actually noticed this at the reception desk when I checked in and paid the balance owed. The balance owed was £109. I paid with my Visa card but without explanation the hotel charged my card in Euro. The exchange rate on the date in question would suggest that I owed €127, however the hotel charged me €131. That’s a nice tidy profit of €4 for the hotel. It is something that all guests should be aware of especially if you are travelling from outside the UK. Please inform the hotel staff that you wish to pay in the local currency £ British Pound. Your credit card company will charge you the normal exchange rate whereas the hotel will charge you an exorbitant exchange rate.

Room Tip: Any room away from the lift shafts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

we booked this hotel through Edwards Coach Holidays 3days and a 99p bar

Excellent location, right in the town centre and we visited Anfield when we were staying

Dinner and breakfast was excellent, buffett style, ample food help yourself

Room Tip: higher floor the quietier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlandCathJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

1 Feb. off to Liverpool with National Holidays 3 days 2 nights all inclusive £99. Bargain price great weekend. Easy pick up and quick journey arrived about 1400, Have stopped before at the Adelphi and knew what to expect. A very grand hotel although getting a little jaded now, room, food and staff warm, hot an friendly in that order. Liverpool is a great place to explore loads of history, attractions and shops for the wife. I can recommend the bus tour which you could hop on and off at various locations with the tickets lasting 2 days. Lots of night life but book early on line for major venues as the sell out quick. Some very good places to eat and plenty of bars. The Wok&Go near the hotel is a great little noodle bar and very reasonable for lunch. Be warned the hotel bar is very popular all day, with it's happy hour until 1700 and with all inclusive guests getting served it sometimes took upto 15 minutes to get a drink. Although it's quite large it soon fills up. We travelled with 16 friends which made it even harder to get seats. All in all through a great weekend and looking forward to the next.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the better as the lifts get very busy. The best rooms are at the front but you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stickman1052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

stayed 4 nights all inclusive,last week in january,massive hotel,staff friendly,rooms,ok,abit tired,but very clean.tea and coffee facilities,plenty of storage,television.food pretty good,everything you want for breakfast,plenty of choice for dinner.bar an d entertainment good,location very good,most places of interest easy walking distance.downside,too many steps and stairs.2 flights of stairs down to restaraunt,then 4 steps to collect food,also 1 flight stairs to bar.lifts were terrible,only take 3 or 4 people,depending on weight,sometimes 20 minute wait in queu,we were on 6th floor,so had no choice to wait.i am disabled,very inconvenient.all in all,good hotel,but not for diabled people

Room Tip: get a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapsamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. Checkin was quick and efficient and even with the mix up over payment the staff at check out dealt with this amazingly.

The hotel is old and therefore has old lifts so the majority of the time we used the stairs this wasnt an issue for us.

The room was clean and tidy a little small for a double room but we saw this as cosy.

The location was really good slap bang in the middle of the city.

All in all I would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,260 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,911 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £37 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing