We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and relatively cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Adelphi, like many others, as part of a package deal with National Holidays. The hotel is excellently located for the centre of Liverpool. The rooms and exterior, although tired, are fairly clean. The bathroom in the room could have done with a major upgrade as the shower was like something out of a black and white film.

The evening meal and breakfast provided were of a high standard. However, the staff were less than helpful when trying to arrange a time for breakfast that was more suitable. We were told that breakfast would be served at 8am and there was no leeway. Obviously it's personal choice, but when on a short-break/holiday I tend to want a lie-in beyond 8am. There was a 99p bar between 6-9pm which had a wide selection of drinks and the bar staff were helpful showcasing what was on offer.

All-in-all I enjoyed my stay at the Adelphi. Between two of us we paid circa £110 for one night for bed, breakfast and evening meal (and including coach travel to and from Middlesbrough).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us in October. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here, but u were disappointed regarding your breakfast timing. Your tour operator requests timings for both breakfast and dinner and we assume this is arranged to coincide with arranged excursions. Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,708 - 3,714 of 6,048 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was a 5 day coach holiday , very affordable, with excursions throw-in to Manchester. The Adelphi is a big beautiful hotel; over 500 rooms, it is quite well organised and run. The staff are fun and very helpful. The breakfast and dinner are very good for what we paid. The rooms all vary in size; ours was quite small and looked out over the mezzanine floor,the radiator did not work,but we did not need it, even though we phoned reception, no one turned up to repair it.My brother had no hot water for 2 -3 days, but we got by. We did enjoy our stay there and would stay there again.
Liverpool is a great city to visit; plenty to do and see, with great Pubs, restaurants and shops; BUT the Liverpudlians make it even GREATER!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetlagged109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello and thank you for your review after staying with us earlier this month. I am pleased you found the staff helpful and the breakfast and dinner enjoyable. If you stay with us again, do request a room on 3 or 4 floor as these rooms are larger, particularly if they overlook the front of the hotel. What a shame your brother had no hot water, I have not encountered this before and I do apologise. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Central - clean but tired - staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast ok - evening meal poor everything frozen or out of a packet BUT it was a cheap deal so in reality I got what I paid for. However, if they turned the heating down to stop the hotel being like a sauna they could afford to have better food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hello and many thanks for your comments after staying here recently. A bit of a mixed review, howver, I think overal you did enjoy your stay. I will let the maintenance manager aware of the heating comment, thank you for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived with a party of 21 people, all pensioners for a "Tinsel and Turkey" break.
Alighting from the coach one lady fell down the steps in front of the hotel. Surely it would not be difficult to ensure that the steps were kept clear of leaves and the installation of a hand rail would also help to prevent accidents.

This hotel is totally unsuitable for any one with walking difficulties as all of the main rooms are accessed via flights of stairs and the lifts were out of order on several occasions during our stay. The entertainment for this break was located in the Kensington suite. In order to get there we had to cross reception area then the hall which is vast (see the publicity photo).After that you have to cross the ballroom and onto a corridor leading to three flights of stairs. Down these stairs and along more corridors to finally arrive at the Kensington suite, exhausted.
The drinks available were all inferior brands. In order to buy recognised brands, guess what? You have to walk all the way back again to another bar.
The "live entertainment" started at approx. 9.00pm and finished shortly after 10.00pm even on "New Year's Eve"!
The staff in the bar were unhelpful and uncaring.
On the plus side the food was acceptable and plentiful in Jenny's restaurant but once again down yet another set of stairs.
Be warned, smoking is allowed in the rooms in this hotel. The first room we were allocated reeked of cigarettes but to be fair the gentleman on reception gave us a non smoking room when we complained. The rooms are dated and the dust on the coffee table was undisturbed from the day we arrived to the day we left. The bath had a patch of enamel the size of a dinner plate missing. Glad we only used the shower!
There are some very serious issues with this hotel mainly to do with staff training but also the general management which could be much improved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenoldie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thankyou for your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry one of the party fell on her way in. The porters work very hard to keep the front on the hotel clean, but at this time of year it can be very difficult to keep on top of leaves blowing from trees. We are an Edwardian building and do conform to the disability discrimination act with regards to the amount of steps in and around the building. We do offer smoking and non-smoking rooms which you could have requested at the time of booking or at check in. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It looks impressive when you enter but is dire need of some tlc,it's obvious that this was a superb Hotel once but sadly it no longer has the charm it deserves.
We stayed there for a theme weekend,on arrival it was not ready to accept guests (2.30pm) and when reception opened it could not cope,the lifts were slow and then they both broke down we were on the 5th floor,on arrival to our room it was dirty,the wallpaper was falling of the walls the bed was two single mattreses on a double bed frame but made up as twin beds.the bathroom floor was very springy and the tv should have been on flog it.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was not bad but the evening meals were plain and tasteless.
I think the staff realised that the Hotel had problems and did thier best to make guests comfortable,
Would we stay there again? only after a total refurbishment.

Room Tip: Dont have one near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thankyou for your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here. This is disappointing to hear, as we do work very hard at the hotel to make everyones stay enjoyable, so I am sorry we did not succeed on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were a bit anxious about the Adelphi, having read so many poor accounts of the hotel the evening before we set off, but can honestly say that we were very pleasantly surprised with all aspects throughout our stay. The staff were motivated and pleasant and we checked in easily to reception in the magnificent entrance hall. Our room was clean, pleasant, and really spacious, with a lovely marble fireplace. We have stayed in a few good hotels, and I would say are not that easy to please, but this one, for us, was great!. We appreciated the space, and also two comfortable chairs in our double room - often there is only one. We loved the old-world feel to the place, and thought the hotel oozed charm. The Adelphi is proud of its history, and I'm so glad so many of the original fixtures and fittings and beautiful ornate decor in the public areas from a by-gone era have remained intact. We were staying on a Groupon Voucher and it was fantastic value for money. We can only speak for our experience which was very good, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: No tip really - our room was 309 on third floor - no view but we were happy with that, as it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thankyou so much for your quite refreshing and lovely review. I too get more than a little anxious when I read (and reply) to some of the reviews here when I know what is being said is being greatly exagerated so I am always delighted when guests like yourselves, come and see for yourselves what we are really like and write an honest comment. I do hope you will visit us again soon, do ask for a room facing the city, the views are fantasic of an evening. Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. The exterior of the building is impressive and the internal décor of the main halls are well maintained. The problem starts with the staff who are incapable of smiling and all appeared fed up- no doubt dealing with customer complaints. We arrived at checking in time of 2pm, only to be told that last nights guests had not yet been checked out and we would have to wait. No- I am really sorry- you can leave your cases here- no you can get a drink in the... fortunately we found the main hall but only one person was taking orders for drinks from over 100 people sitting waiting. She was in fact the most pleasant lady member of staff we met.When the booking in started, we had to wait over an hour in a queue to sign in! The rooms themselves are basic but the furniture and mirror were dusty! Not a good start. We had arranged to eat in the hotel on the first night. Again a long queue and a meal that would not be fitting in a transport café! A selection of meats was a piece of gammon or a meat and potato pie! Coffee afterwards was OK but we needed to change the cups 3 times to find a clean one without lipstick or stains. Breakfast was adequate but again only one buffet was open leading to yet another long queue for food. We had a specific complaint when we left, which I will not mention here. However, rather than an extremely apologetic response, a sour faced lady ( duty manger) reluctantly took our details and after a very long wait, agreed to be in touch with us. There are serious problems with this hotel. It must start with staff being taught to smile and be pleasant, probably by increasing their number to be less under stress. until there are major changes, this is a hotel to avoid, unless you are happy with extremely low standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thankyou for your review, after staying with us recently. I do apologise for the manner in which reception dealt with your check in, I will speak with the reception manager and make sure she lets the staff know the correct manner they should speak with guests. I am sorry you found only 2 choices on our dinner menu, this is most unusual as there are normally a choice of 4 main course. I am sorry you found the staff unpleasant, this is not a comment we are used to hearing and I apologise for that. I disagree that we have low standards and that we should be avoided. We offer great value for money and the majority of our guests enjoy their time spent here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4,975 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £37 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing