We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Gala Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Years Eve Gala Dinner”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A crowd of us 25 to be exact stayed at the Adelphi for New Year and booked the Gala Dinner although the dinner was fine we were in Cromptons, a small restaurant with about 30 people no entertainmet and no atmosphere. Last Orders 11 00pm doors locked 11 30pm no where to go after New Year Countdown. Can anyone tell me which room their Gala Dinner was in because it sounds as if we were in a different hotel.


Cath L

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadcathl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,466
    1,305
    911
    1,381
See reviews for
684
2,161
291
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

although the Adelphi does need updating we have just spent a lovely break there.The staff where very helpful and could not do enough for us.The room was clean although the it does require some renovation but the Adelphi has character and the lounge is beautiful..We knew what to expect the food was good service good and the people of Liverpool are the most kindest helpful people one could wish to meet.Yes we will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lell262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were staying at the Adelphi with friends for 4 days over new year arriving on the 30th Dec to 2nd Jan 14 and what a fantastic stay it was. The three course meal on the first night with a complimentary bottle of wine on the table, entertainment a young girl singer then a disco plus a quiz and bingo a bit cheesy but we were in the spirit of the new year. The breakfgast the next morning was buffett style eat as much as you like it set us up for the day didnt eat until the evening meal. The gala dinner was lovely with a free bottle of sparkling bubbly. At 11.45pm we were all asked to go in the large ballroom to join the other parties that were taking place which meant about 2000 people in the room at midnigth and it was amazing everyone enjoyed it and everyone joined in with the singing and hokey cokey. The dinner on new years day was lovely no complaints the food was hot and tasty on all 3 nights were were there. The drinks were very cheap my husband asked the girl to check if she has added it up right ( 2 pints of Tetleys plus 3 halfs of lager £6.75p who can moan at that). The majority of staff were pleasant probably about 2 members of staff out of the whole staff. We were in room 305 and it was amazing a four poster bed 2 large sofas, flat schreen tv, 5 big wardrobes and a dressing table with a seperate bathroom, to get into our room we had a door leading off the corridor into a little foyer so no corridor noise at all, For the price we paid it was amazing and the character of the hotel I wouldnt stay anywhere else, the history is fasinating. It is in an ideal spot for the shops and pubs and the Vines pub over the road is well worth a visit if you like soul and motown music, all in all a great trip visitor should not stay there if they object to a bit of damp or wallpaper coming away at the corner of the ceiling it all adds to the character, the rooms were spotless the bedding spotless toillet and bath spotless. Hopefully it wont be long before we are back for our 3rd stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casseycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We also stayed three nights at new year, the food was not terrible, it was plain, plentiful and very good. It was not thrown down at us, 2 of the three nights were silver service which along with the wine on the table was a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were always cheerful and helpful, especially manager Jason who changed our room from the small one on the fifth floor to a far superior one on the first floor, many thanks to him for that. We have stayed here several times and never found a problem with cleanliness, yes the hotel is dated but that is part of it's character. There will always be those who will search for something to have a moan about but overall it is very good value for money and we will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spent 3 nights here for new year, food terrible, service awful. Staff threw meals down in front of customers and started clearing up when people were still eating. DJ very rude to customers. Served a brandy & lemonade in half pint glass. Lift working sporadically. Hotel looking very sad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Staff friendly service good don't listen to moans and groans some folk never happy in a great spot to explore the best city in Europe ! Love the big ball room stayed in hotels all modern and no character this place has great character and I hope it never changes the staff are the best most friendly this is an honest review this place reflects the city of liverpool warm and friendly and full of character ! Love from glasgow

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasgowbhoyz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland-England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for "Twixmas Break" with National Holidays and only paid £149 each for 3 nights B B and Dinner. To be honest I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised.
Yes long queues in Foyer as many coaches booking in, minor inconvenience really. One lift broken was soon repaired. Staff could not do enough for us, they were all unfailingly friendly and polite. My husband chatted to night porter with beard early one morning who was extremely friendly and helpful.
Room was unbearably hot as heating on 24 hours constant so I asked at reception who turned it off via central computer. No problem.
Breakfasts were fab and evening meals ok for what we paid.
Upon arrival was given room on 6th floor which was changed without a fuss to easily accessable one for my husband who isn't very mobile. We were told that rooms on first floor were best and certainly ours was huge with massive bathroom. Yes could have done with a lick of paint but if this bothers you go to an expensive and souless travelodge !!!!!
Location couldn't be better, right in centre.
Huge success, we will return, thank you to all marvellous staff at Adelphi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing