We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fab location nothing else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

room was awful light broken, phone broken and shower broke smelt like residential home and paid £10 for spa and was very very dirty hairs stuck to my feet and my partner cut his foot on a plastic bottle top as he stepped out of the Jacuzzi. We had food included in the price but tried the breakfast once and said never again. The location was great however so if you can get it cheap worth it as great for somewhere to just put your head down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emagre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments after staying with us last month. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here, however, I did try to find your complaint logged in our duty managers book and assume you did mention any of the above during your stay. Our location is ideal and we do have some amazingly good offers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    1,436
    1,260
    878
    1,334
See reviews for
665
2,100
277
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

first off don't be put off by reviews this is a good hotel not a bad one,,its old school with big rooms and its 1950s and 1960s chic..staff are good rooms are massive,,location is superb great pub under the hotel,,food I cannot comment on as we always eat out were ever we go,,its 7 out of ten for cleanliness ,,the tv in the room only gives you 5 or 6 terrestrial channels, ,the bathrooms are good really good with massive big baths and a good shower,,,the location is right in the heart of the city centre saving you a fortune on taxis,,,careful coming back of a night tho as it actually does have doormen on the hotel doors who will not let you in without proof your a guest,,that does work both ways tho,,,its popular with football supporters of a weekend and it does do coach tours,,but it has 6 really big floors with lots of room and all in all its good,,certainly i would use it again with my wife,,

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a bath and a shower you get bigger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thankyou for your comments following your stay with us and particularly your opening line...... We cater for all type of guests here and football fans are only with us when LFC are playing at home which is actually only 19 Saturdays throughout the year. The doormen do a fantastic job, as they do keep out members of the public who try to get in after 11.00pm and who are not resident. I am really pleased you would return to stay with us, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here as one of a stag party over the hotel's centenary weekend. This was clearly a very grand hotel 100 years ago but sadly it isn't now. You can get a feel for how it used to be from the very large marbled reception hall and huge chandeliered ballroom. My room was large and reasonably comfortable but was showing its age. We got a good rate and so it proved to be reasonable value for money. The buffet breakfast was reasonably good in spite of being pretty busy and the basement bar was lively and very good value. One major issue is the noise from the plumbing which was loud enough to wake the most comatose stag or hen. I have used reasonable a great deal in this review and that pretty much sums the hotel up. Its a pity but it could be so much more. However I would return if the room rate was good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14SRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments after staying with us on a stag party. I am surprised at your comments, as out of 900 residents you are the only negative feed back we have received over that particular weekend. You appear to have enjoyed the breakfast, your room was large, you got a good rate, the bar was lively and very good value, I really dont know what more you can expect from a hotel. I was even more surprised when getting to the end of your review, you end it with 'you would return'!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Firstly this hotel is not as bad as people are making out. Yes the heating is on all the time making it very warm. But the room does come with windows, open them! I stayed here for a birthday weekend, when we first arrived at our room, we realised we were missing the shower head, but a quick phone call to reception and the maintenance guy was straight to our room within 10 minutes and fixed it. The staff were very friendly and always greeted us! The rooms are very spacious and are clean and it was a comfortable night there overall. Plus the hotel is pretty much in the centre so perfect location! You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannice_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review after staying with us recently. What lovely comments, I cant thank you enough for taking the time to write about your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and by the sounds of it, you will return. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton-in-Gordano, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We were visiting our home city and booked a night for a bit of nostalgia. The hotel is dated but was very clean and welcoming. The room was also old and past it's prime but comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our free bottle of wine and the happy hour. The location is great for sightseeing beautiful Liverpool. We ate at Hanover Street Social a smashing restaurent. We visited Liverpool 1, Albert Dock, Anglican Cathedral, Catholic Cathedral and the Liverpool Museum as well as sightseeing all the fabulous buildings in the city.
The lounges are numerous and very grand with spectacular chandeliers and comfy sofas.
Breakfast was hearty and set us up for our city walk.
We will return and also join the Reward scheme to take advantage of the Brittania hotels in the UK.
A great value and enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimShaw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Jim and thankyou for your review after staying with us last month. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would return and join our very popular Reward Scheme Club. I hope your comments will encourage others who read it to come and stay and experience us for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Liverpool (the modern ones) & after reading the reviews on the Adelphi I was dreading my first stay here. We stayed from Friday 28th Feb until Sunday 2nd March for their Centenary dinner on the Saturday, which I Have to say to is the best black tie event I have been too ever. Check In not too bad, check out a little slower but as you can imagine everyone is leaving at the same time. Staff on reception friendly enough. The lift is old so can be at times temperamental just be patient. Our room was on the 5th floor. No ceiling lights just 2 big lamps, so do your make up girls the bathroom. The room is dated and yes if you start going round as if your on 'Four In Bed' looking for faults you will, but it was clean, spacious, all the amenities you need for your stay. I thought the shower was an antique but OMG nearly blasted me out of the room is was that powerful, so don't go by first impressions. Breakfast is buffet style with cereals, fruit, breads etc and of course your cooked food, along with fruit juices. There's coffee already on the table & the waitress comes round with the tea (a little slow at times or just walks straight past you) so grab her when you can. The breakfast is as good as what you get at other hotels so not too sure what people are complaining about. The staff whilst we were there were very friendly & helpful and there's no complaints there. Please remember this hotel is 100 years old and yes it could do with some work to bring it up to date but please appreciate this hotel has history. I would stay again as I have no complaints. Location of the hotel is ideal, couple of minutes from Lime Street Station and about a 5-10 minute walk to Liverpool 1 (depending on how quick you walk)

Room Tip: Room 506 is round the corner from the lift so if you are light sleeper you can the workings of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 86lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review after coming to our Centenary Celebrations last weekend. It was a fabulous evening wasnt it, we have had so many thank yous and congratulation letters from everyone it has been a wonderful experience for us all. This week we have Downton Abby lunches on every day and everyone has really dressed for the occasion. Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just done a night at the Adelphi on a KGB deal. It was great value for money. £59 which included our evening meal, breakfast and a bottle of wine. I decided to upgrade our room for £20 and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was huge. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath. Some people would call this hotel old fashioned, but it had a lot of original fixtures from years gone by and was full of character. Our room was clean, well painted and the four poster bed very comfortable and large. I think the bathroom could do with sprucing up but the Jacuzzi bath was great.

Our evening meal was a buffet and included a carvery, salmon, chicken and leek pie and chilli. It was all very nice and great value for the price, especially with the bottle of wine. Breakfast was really good, eat as much as you like.

I would definitely stay there again. Very central location with some great traditional pubs on the doorstep. Just round the corner from Lime Street Station and all the shops.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a larger room as I heard some of the guests complaining that their room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Julie, many thanks for your lovely review. You have commented on every aspect of your stay and I hope others reading it will take heed and come and stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all the staff involved and thank you on behalf of them all. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing