We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloriously Strange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Been to Liverpool many times but never stayed in this landmark hotel until last weekend. Was a bargain we know why now! It was interesting to say the least. Massive room which was spectacular in an outdated sort of way - needs a good update but was interesting. When I tried to put the security chain over the door it did not reach which prompted my husband back to a YouTube clip he had seen about the hotel. We watched it there and then on 3G because the advertised free wifi was never to be found. We realised it was our room (147)!! Come on Britannia hotels it been like that since 2011!!! That's poor. Breakfast was another strange experience alongside the most number of people I have shared breakfast with sardines comes to mind. Terrible breakfast sloppy service but generally I think because the staff were rushed off their feet with the coach holiday brigade.
All in all we got what we paid for - if I won the lottery it would be a fantastic project putting the glamour back in this beautiful building!
Bathroom was dirty loose tiles same as 2011!

Room Tip: Room 147 the security chain does not work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bmartin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review after staying here earlier this month. We do have complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and I am sorry you were not able to locate it during your stay, it worked perefectly well for everyone else as we had no other complaints. We were not aware of the security chain in that bedroom, so thankyou very much for bringing it to our attention. We are an extremely popular hotel and at peak dining times, the restaurant can get quite busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,429 - 3,435 of 6,045 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is very impressive when you first enter. In its day it must have been very plush. However the bedrooms are very tired and in need of a face lift. I would not like to see it modernised as it would lose its character but it does need a lick of paint. Food was plentiful and a good choice to choose from. Very central location and therefore good for sight seeing Liverpool. We stayed here Monday to Friday and enjoyed our time in the lovely city.

Room Tip: Suggest you see the room first before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your somewhat mixed review. I think overal you did enjoy your stay it was just your bedroom you felt needed attention decor wise. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and thought there was a good selection, food does play a big part in a holiday doesnt it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I visited this hotel in Aug 13. To celebrate a friendship of 50yrs. We were treated very well by all staff. Rooms were a little dated but beautiful old world furniture & so clean..recommend anyone visit. Thanks to all staff for making our stay so wonderful..x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello and thankyou for your lovel review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a promotional deal when down for football. Was cheap and rightfully so. Meals were terrible and hotel really needs updating! Only upsides was excellent location and friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Goodness me, its taken you a long time to write your review, maybe it wasnt as bad as you wrote, as it took you so long. We have some excellent deals with Britannia Hotels and I am pleased you were able to stay here as part of one of these excellent offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed last weekend Friday and Saturday what a masive hotel. Yes it is a bit dated in the bedrooms but they we're clean, but the price was right. Evening meals were ok but did not like the breakfasts, the drinks were good and cheap and the bars were very busy so that says it all, and the staff were very good.
All in all we realy enjoyed our stay and we will come back :)
Liverpool is a fantastic place, a must visit is the Liverpool museum and maritime museum.

Room Tip: 1st floor if a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us recently. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but were disappointed with breakfast. I will make sure chef is made aware of this. Liverpool is an amazing city and 1 weekend is not enough to see everything. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First visit to Liverpool, very impressed with the city. Hotel was lovely food good too. Ideal location to visit all the highlights of the city all within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice homely feel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the South tend to be slightly quieter as this hotel is so popular and busy all year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen302Anya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thankyou very much for your review, it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Upon entering this establishment the receptionist didn't even look at me whilst I was recieving my room key the tone of her voice wasn't friendly at all. There was no good morning or greeting of any kind! The film crewe that was there were more pleasent than the staff. Upon getting to my room it all looked very nice and spacious but the dado rail was covered in dust and also in the bathroom was a used shampoo bottle lid so was obvious that hadn't been cleaned which was there the next day after the room was cleaned the next day! So I removed it myself. The radiators were on full I threw the sheets off and was still hot! There was a thermostat in the room but that didn't change the heat wave one bit! I would of opened a window but they didn't open. We were able to stay in the room till 11 am on our departure day at 10 am room service was knocking on our door and said I will come back which is obvious I am still using the room. As we were leaving she shouted our room number and I said yes and that was the most I was spoken to all my stay! Also I didn't know until the last night the hotel had entertainment as it wasn't advertised anywhere. I thought you would at least have some information in the room or on a notice board!! I was gutted with my stay it could of been made so much better just by the staff being more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazza2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. I am sorry you found the staff unfriendly during your stay as most comments on this page have complimented them. I will let housekeeping know of the lack of standard in your bathroom and do apologise for that. The entertainment is arranged by a coach operator who uses a private room for their own guests and is not available for other guests in the hotel, this is why it is not advertised anywhere. Many thanks for taking the time to write though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4,973 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £37 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing