We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, handy city centre accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent, handy city centre accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I popped over to Liverpool from the Isle of Man to pick up a new push bike and thought I'd make a stay of it. I booked the Britannia Adelphi quite late and was pretty pleased with the £60 I paid for a Friday night stay at such short notice. I booked a single room but got a spacious double on the fourth floor at the front facing towards the city centre. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was a little old fashioned and in a poor state of repair in parts. The shower wasn't especially good but it was decent enough. The hotel was very busy and considering there were lots of Stag and Hen parties staying, both the hotel and my room were pretty quiet. The self service cooked breakfast the following morning was fine and again the breakfast area was pretty busy but I didn't have to wait too long, arriving for breakfast around 9:45am. The staff were friendly and helpful (they kept my push bike behind reception overnight and during the following day so I could go sight seeing without the hassle of my bike). The hotel is very central and a short (5 minute) walk to the city centre and not far from points of interest such as the Cavern and main shopping centre. Its about a 10 or 15 minute walk to the Albert Docks and not far from the ferry terminal either (probably 20 or 25 minutes). I'd certainly recommend the Britannia Adelphi if you are looking for something convenient, decent value and acceptable quality accommodation. It is a little old fashioned, dated and quaint but it definitely did the job for this sort of trip.

Room Tip: My room on the fourth floor at the front had secondary glazing but it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    1,435
    1,259
    878
    1,330
See reviews for
664
2,097
276
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Adelphi and we found it to be a very charismatic hotel it was last year and it didnt disappoint us; its very stylish decoration and chandeliers i could never tire of looking at. Our room was on the first floor and was recently redecorated as it looked shiny and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful; especially when I felt unwell in the dinning hall; I was attended to in both a dignified and professional way by the restaurant manager Denise and the first aider; I cant thank them enough. Would still recommend The Adelphi highly as it central to all the attractions and reading through all the other reviews i had no complaints at all. Thank you The Adelphi for once again making our stay comfortable and enjoyable; yes we will be back again next year

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Grubby Only way to describe it. Cups were very dirty. Phone didnt work toilet kept breaking. Barely see
through the windows, desperately needs updating.shame because location size and building spot on, needs someone with very deep pockets..

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool. Built in 1911 with very grand public rooms (the Sefton Room is styled on the Titanic smoking room). There are chandeliers and ornate ceilings and windows, large dining areas and conference halls. The room we stayed in was very large with small dressing area, settee, table and chairs with an enormous bed which was comfortable with clean white heavy cotton sheets. Unfortunately it is probably best to come as a day visitor and enjoy the facilities - bars, lounge, etc because it is the little things that let the place down. The staff are wonderful and very helpful but they cannot do much about the furnishings and décor in the bedrooms. The furniture is a bit down at heel, with scratches and marks. Draws were falling apart and there were grubby corners. The toilet flush didn't work too well when we arrived and finally gave up the ghost just before we left, and the bathroom fittings were quite old. All in all, the place has character and if you go expecting that you will not be disappointed. We enjoyed our stay but we knew what to expect.

Room Tip: I would pay extra for a large room. Our room was very warm and we only had a tiny window to open (it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel with a coach party the first bedroom we were allocated was dirty with live electric cables showing! We asked to be moved and were given a much better room although the decor could do with being updated as was most of the hotel. Breakfast was acceptable but the evening meals left a lot to be desired in fact the first evening of our stay was awful queuing for food and then to find the choice very limited! Would not return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanatRoseway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review after staying with us recently. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay and would not return, that is such a shame as we have so many guests return to us time and time again. I would just like to refute your comments on live electric cables showing, the health and safety inspector (who make unannounced visits to hotels) would not allow any hotel to operate with such a dangerous practice and neither would our own mainentance or management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here recently. I remember this hotel from the TV programme and always wanted to stay. It has the potential to be a great place but someone needs to invest an awful lot of money in this hotel for it to stand a chance. However I think they make their money by accepting large coach parties. What a great shame, so sad to see such a beautiful building in such a neglected state.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrB666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your comments after staying here recently. I am sorry you appear to be disapointed with your stay, although you dont say why. You couldnt be more wrong in assuming it is coach business that keeps us going. We are an extremely busy corporate and conference hotel mid week and recently had a full house from a Cantenian Conference held over a weekend which was extremely successful. Coach operators are a large part of our business mix, particularly at weekends and we very much appreciate their business but we are not wholely dependant upon it at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Adelphi in Liverpool with a coach holiday and I must say I was really impressed with the huge building , full of glamour from the past , my mind just rolled back through the years . Our bedroom was very spacious and the same for the bathroom , a huge bath available with plenty of hot water . Bedding very clean , furniture rather dated but what do people expect in a hotel of this age . Maybe meal times slightly awkward but food very good , Staff helpful and polite , in other words fully recommended and well done Brittania . Terry & Val . Bridgend . S. Wales

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor , be patient with the lifts , they will eventually turn up ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Terrry and Val and many thanks for your comments after staying with us recently. It is always a delight when guests tell it as it is, with the positive alongside may a little negative, but isnt that life? Your review is MUCH appreciated and a big thank you from us all here. Hope we see you here again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing