We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a wonderful experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful experience ”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Due to work commitments stayed at the Adelphi again.this time a single room on the 5th floor.
Clean room with the basic needs tea and coffee facilities, Internet, TV.
Staff always helpful and friendly.. I actually paid the extra £6 to stay here that another hotel in town centre. Deco is amazing.. In my book a must...

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    1,449
    1,278
    890
    1,347
See reviews for
672
2,119
285
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The worst hotel in a great location. Does the Britannia group not realise that this Gem of a building needs to close for total refurbishment. Then, when the tired infrastructure is sorted they can hire some new staff that can be proud of their job.
I am sure that morale in that hotel must be so low due to the decrepit surroundings.
Britannia needs to spend a serious amount of money on this architectural gem before it falls down!

Room Tip: Don't go in the summer as there is no air conditioning in the rooms and if you open the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, great spaces downstairs just made for a bit of a do. There was a wedding and a party during our stay giving the place a buzz. It was noisy at night but it is a city centre hotel. We stil got a good noghts sleep. Despite the hotel being really busy the staff were friendly and helpful and our room basic but clean. This is a 3 star and certainly looks 'lived in' which we didn't mind, it adds to the character. The amazing architecture and the hotels sense of style more than makes up for any little faults. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst taking part in Coporate Games 2014. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the most popular tourist attractions, shops & pubs ect. Although the hotel is very large the rection service was quick, efficient & very friendly on Friday 27th June 4pm. The entrance and dining areas are very well kept however the rooms are a little tired and would benefit from a once over - they are however clean even if a little old & small.
The room had tea & coffee facilities which were replenished daily.
There was no iron in the room however we really needed one on Saturday 28th June so rang reception to see if there was one available to use. The guy on reception said that there wasn't one available and he didn't know which rooms had them or when they would be returned? Although we thought this a little strange he did say he would contact us once one came available? Within 10 minutes there was a knock on the door and a brand new iron was given to use which they had obviously gone out and purchased as the plug cover was still in place. Now that's what you call service.. Much appreciated!
There are a couple of different bars and a resturant which are all decorated to a much better standard than the bedrooms.
The breakfast was fresh, hot and plentiful - no fresh fruit available though which may be appreciated by a number of guests? Full english breakfast, pastries & cereals all available though..
I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere central to stay whilst in Liverpool which has great service? Yes the bedrooms may be a little tired but for the price is more than sufficient for what you need...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for four nights on our first coach tour holiday. We visit LIverpool regularly but this was our first stay at the Adelphi. I can now say it will be our last stay at this hotel and also our last coach tour if this is the best they have to offer. On arrival, I had to lug two suitcases up the front steps as there is no ramp and my husband's back condition prevents him from any heavy lifting. The foyer and large lounge are very grand but that is where the grandeur stops. I wasn't expecting our bedroom to be other than basic but I was expecting it to be clean. Once out of the lift on the fifth floor there was a permeating smell of mustiness. Our room was no better. It was very hot so we opened the very dirty window, which helped a little. There were holes in the carpet, one side of the double bed was pushed up against the wall, which meant there was only one way in and out and only one bedside table with lamp. The furniture was very shabby and the walls were stained. The bathroom was adequate but the hot water seemed to be almost boiling and the first time I used the shower I nearly scalded myself. After showering, I walked across the bathroom and bedroom in bare feet and had to go back and wash them again as they were filthy from the floor. I made sure I kept my feet covered after that experience. The plumbing was very noisy and sounded like a liner coming into dock on the Mersey every time we flushed the toilet! On opening our note from reception with details of meal times etc, we were shocked to see that we had been allocated breakfast at 7am and dinner at 5pm. These times might suit some people but to us 5pm is not dinner time and as I have to take medication an hour before my an breakfast, getting up at 6am each morning was not an option I relished. We explained our concerns to the restaurant staff and were told that because I had 'dietary requirements' I could choose when I ate. All very well for me but what about the other poor souls? I noticed that some fire doors were propped open with towels whilst the housekeeping was going on. Surely this is not a practice that should occur under any circumstances. The gym and swimming pool facilities were out of action due to refurbishment but we were not informed of this until after we arrived. The food in the restaurant was adequate but very limited in choice. We sampled the hotel entertainment on the first evening and were pleasantly surprised. The entertainment staff were very personable and professional and we enjoyed our evening. The following evening we used the Wave Bar as the Cocktail Bar was full. The Wave Bar is dirty and the furniture is stained and badly worn. The bar staff on the other hand were excellent. The only positives about this hotel are its location, the friendly restaurant and bar staff, the hot (if dangerous) water, clean towels and bed linen. Liverpool and its people are wonderful so don't be put off from going, just stay somewhere other than the Adelphi. A word to the Britannia and Adelphi management, please listen to the many negative as well as the positive reviews and do something to improve what could be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was so easy to get to from Lime Street railway station.The imposing building exuded charm. Reception staff,Jennys restaurant staff and porters very helpful throughout stay. Some fantastic art deco and wonderful lounge area (when open to residents as lots of functions take place here). Rooms were great, got upgraded from singles to 2 doubles with queen sized beds which were so comfortable i wanted to take home with me. Food was of good quality and value for money with full cooked or continental breakfast and 3 course dinner. Shame so much went to waste as was still being put out to serve diners till 10pm. Only 2 gripes: Booked a cabaret break,but did not live up to expectaions (thought would be Warners style). The function room downstairs near Jenny's restaurant was not adequate due to smell of drains, cramped and poor view for singers. Overall enjoyed stay and spent hours admiring decor. And the spa area was undergoing refurb so could not have the swim we had so looked forward to, but we wer refunded for this blip. Well done Brittania for a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Any as are all spacious. Ask for sn upgrade if booked a single though if obvious they are not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fnerjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I think overal you did enjoy your stay apart from 1 or 2 blips. The leisure club is have a major refurbishment and you must come back and stay with us, when it it complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with a coach trip. From entering the hotel, we were impressed how much character there was. The staff from check in to check out were helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and different options available. The room was very clean the beds very comfortable. The hotel is central in location. Speaking to others in the hotel everyone was happy. The hotel because of it's age is never going to be modern but that is what attracted us to it. People booking this hotel would be aware of this, if they arnt happy with this they should consider booking a newer hotel and the price would reflect this.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager1, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello and thankyou so much for your lovely review. We do try very hard to please all our guests and we know this is an impossible task, but we do set our standards high and it is wonderful to know that our efforts have been appreciated by you and your friends. Dont leave it too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing