We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

teenage son and i where amazed by this hotel, it is breathtakingly beautiful, elegant and amazing, it is slightly fading around the edges a bit but it still has the wow factor about it, we stayed in a twin room which overlooked the town center, the views where lovely, the staff where fab and the whole stay was very relaxing, we will be going back lots

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shanidajo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,466
    1,305
    911
    1,381
See reviews for
684
2,161
291
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Adelphi in June for 1 night as part of a conference I was attending the next day. 3 of us in 3 different rooms. All rooms were extremely outdated, which I wouldn't have minded if they were clean. Put it this way I did not take my shoes off until I was getting in bed.

Sticky surfaces everywhere, unexplained stains up most walls, bathroom floor lifting up, grime around all edges and ledges in bathroom. Only 1 working lamp in all 3 bedrooms, tv remote didn't work. Door knob fell off wardrobe. One of our rooms had a leak in the bathroom.

Unable to access any of the leisure facilities due to "refurbishment", only small notice on the door stated this, nothing when we booked to say this was the case.
Rude abrupt checkin staff, very slow and unhelpful. Checkout staff were much better and friendly,

When we arrived at the hotel, it was FULL of coachloads of OAPS. I wouldn't have minded, but it made the facilities extremely crammed. We walked straight past the bar after poking our heads in and it resembling a scene from cocoon.

Musty damp cabbage smells thoughout the entire hotel. Dirty carpets. All 3 of us slept on top of the bed covers. Pillows were very comfy though. Creaky tiny bed. View from window was a courtyard of extractor fans and other windows.

Breakfast was like a free for all, plates and glasses kept running out and I didn't even bother trying. Having to make do with a cup of tea (no pot offered, they just walk around with a teapot). Cutlery and cups on the tables were all dirty.

I was excited to leave and as soon as I got home had a bath as I felt so dirty. Will NEVER stay here again. Please go to the premiere inn down the road!

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

25 years after our wedding at the Adelphi our son booked us in for our silver wedding. We loved every minute. The beauty was it has hardly changed and held all its original charm and character despite what some other reviewers have said! Yes it may seem dated and some rooms are relatively small but we loved it all. The hotel is wonderful. Staff on reception were so lovely and we were upgraded and gifted drinks because of our celebration. They didn't need to do this but so glad they did as we had one of the fabulous suites complete with jacuzzi bath. Loved sitting in the Grand Lounge with champagne taking in the view , magnificent chandeliers, arches, ambience. Recommended for a real nostalgic break.

Room Tip: Got to book a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mydiane2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Starting with the positives - the location of the hotel was great, a very short walk from lime street station, shops, docks, nightlife etc. There is a large on site car park available at £12 per day - very convenient. The beds in our twin room were reasonably comfortable and the shower was fine. The negatives were around cleanliness and the general upkeep of the hotel. Our room had dirty handprints on the walls and there were used tissues in the bathroom on arrival. There was also some damp in the room, and everything felt as if it had long seen better days. The lifts were very slow and constantly claimed to be overloaded, further compounding the issue. This could be a truly stunning hotel if efforts were made to modernise it. For the purpose of a weekend away where you intend to spend minimal time in your room it is more than fine, but could be so much better. Spa facilities were all shut when we visited so can't comment on these. Breakfast not great but ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piglet-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Due to work commitments stayed at the Adelphi again.this time a single room on the 5th floor.
Clean room with the basic needs tea and coffee facilities, Internet, TV.
Staff always helpful and friendly.. I actually paid the extra £6 to stay here that another hotel in town centre. Deco is amazing.. In my book a must...

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The worst hotel in a great location. Does the Britannia group not realise that this Gem of a building needs to close for total refurbishment. Then, when the tired infrastructure is sorted they can hire some new staff that can be proud of their job.
I am sure that morale in that hotel must be so low due to the decrepit surroundings.
Britannia needs to spend a serious amount of money on this architectural gem before it falls down!

Room Tip: Don't go in the summer as there is no air conditioning in the rooms and if you open the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, great spaces downstairs just made for a bit of a do. There was a wedding and a party during our stay giving the place a buzz. It was noisy at night but it is a city centre hotel. We stil got a good noghts sleep. Despite the hotel being really busy the staff were friendly and helpful and our room basic but clean. This is a 3 star and certainly looks 'lived in' which we didn't mind, it adds to the character. The amazing architecture and the hotels sense of style more than makes up for any little faults. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing