We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resting on it's name, and thats slipping..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Resting on it's name, and thats slipping..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

As an ex scouser, (now in Ohio..)Returning to see a few local friends, we decided to stay at The Adelphi..I think its a rite of passage, for anyone local.

I knew it was a little dated, a bit tatty, and maybe needed a few air freshners, but no amount of faded ballrooms, grand decor, and cheesy bars, can save this old lady. it needs something major, and the design of such, makes it very difficult. I think it has grade II listing, which doesn't help.

We stayed in room 554. Look for a stain on the wall by the door, nothing from us, we was just as intrigued. Uncomfortable beds, itchy blankets, poor amenities, and a small bathroom, I love the 1930's..I hoped we didn't need a reminder.

It is great value, staff are pleasant, and free wifi. But..that is standard. There are too many places in Liverpool that have raised the bar, for this price bracket.

Sorry Adelphi..you can do better than that.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, hen parties seem to flock here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    1,420
    1,238
    859
    1,285
See reviews for
643
2,065
272
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

me and my fiancé along with a lot of our friends travelled from Yorkshire to a wedding here at the hotel. we stayed for 2 nights and had a beautiful large room (I think it was more like a suite) with a massive bed, a Jacuzzi bath, table and chairs, a separate area with a sofa and tv and a lovely dressing table. the décor is old fashioned however the hotel is 100 years old and steeped in history so if modern boutique is what your looking for it will not be found here. my only qualm was no air con however due to the age of building understandable but with us staying there on the hottest day of the year it would have made a huge difference. the staff were friendly and the food both during the wedding and the breakfast was amazing. have already booked to come back next year for another special occasion of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsM-330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

just back after aweekend break as a couple the hotel could do with some up dates around hotel the room we had was on the 6th floor very old and dated not much room to get in to the bed as got a large shelf at one side so need to be quite slim to get in the breakfest was ok but could not keep up to bring the fryed eggs waited 20 min for a fryed egg no entertainment over weekend but apart from that hotel right in the centre and plenty to do

Room Tip: tip 1st floor or 2second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having booked a sixties music weekend we were really looking forward to our stay until we read the reviews then we were worried as to what we might find. On arrival our first impressions were that is was a building in need of a lot of TLC. Our room was very clean except windows were so dirty we had to open them to see if it was raining. The food was above average, then we were not paying 5 star prices. corridors all had a funny smell, musty and not nice. The bed could do with replacing you could feel the springs which didn't bode well when you wanted a good nights sleep. On the plus side the bar prices are very cheap, a pint of beer for £1.70 and a glass of house wine £1.60. Depending on what entertainment was on offer would determine where we stayed here again. Finally we must say that it is not the best hotel we have stayed in but it is certainly not the worst.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just back from a very enjoyable break to Liverpool.After booking this last minute break I checked the reviews and thought what have we let ourselves in for. when we arrived by coach we were allocated our room keys and hotel details on the coach our cases were delivered within ten minutes .Our room was a 4th floor large courtyard facing room, very quiet away from traffic noise which suited us very much as we live in a very quiet village The room was dated but very clean and all in working order with a plentiful supply of hot water at all times we were very satisfied with the room. The rest of the hotel can only be described as very grande and still maintained to preserve the many original features .The food was very plentiful and hot with a good choice to suit all tastes The Gala dinner served in the banqueting hall was a great touch and entertainment that followed was a great success and a most enjoyable evening The staff were all very helpful we had no complaints with this well located city centre hotel very convenient for the many attractions Liverpool has to offer

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked for a 2 night stay 8th and 9th July 2014. The first room we were allocated was DIRTY, DARK AND DIRE, it was small the furniture was falling appart the windows were painted shut, wallpaper was hanging off walls, the bathroom, where shall I start, I dread to think what some of the stains were, it was bloody awfull. The second room they gave us was SLIGHTLY better, the wallpaper was at least on the walls, it was cleaner but not perfect. The beds are small but comfortable.
The hotel is a beautiful building but needs a MAJOR refurbishment, the carpets stains have stains the painting is awfull and its very dark.
On a positive note breakfast was nice (although cheap items are served)
The staff are all polite and profesional.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevepe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

WARWICKSHIRE
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in , because of its history and how it has kept its original identity over the years .many famous people have stayed here chuchill etc .....the staff are very good and liverpool is a must to visit ,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,776 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing