We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aviod The Adelphi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Lytham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aviod The Adelphi”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We pre booked 3 rooms pre paid for all rooms. On check in I was advised one room had not been paid, so I had to pay again. Shortly after I received a telephone call to say that the hotel had been mistaken a refund had been raised to collect the receipt from reception. Could not the queue was so long. Next morning they could not find the receipt took 15 minutes.
The reception area is not clean the glass is dirty the upholstery is stained, also stained in the American Bar. The secondary double glazing is gammed open you cannot open the windows. It was so hot. We had a double which was a single with a double bed with only 1bed side cabinet. The wallpaper was peeling off all around the room. The other rooms was a single with 2 twin beds and twice the size again very tired as were all 3 rooms. Hair dryers were not present in 2 rooms. There is also a £4.00 charge to use the swimming pool, they say that all hotels charge, I've never come across this. When I complained to Britannia their reply was to justify by saying its a big hotel, no apology. There should be a minus overall rating and that would not be low enough!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    1,450
    1,279
    890
    1,351
See reviews for
675
2,120
286
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Britannia Adelphi hotel in Liverpool has seen better days. This once splendid hotel has unfortunately fallen into a poor state. On arrival, the 15 minute queue to check in and the fact that only one of the lifts was working resulted in an un-necessary delay before we found our room. The room itself was a good size, with nice clean bed linen and towels, although it was simply furnished. What let it down was the terribly dated bathroom with a linoleum floor and a shower straight out of a school gym changing room! Also, the bedroom window was cracked, and there appeared to be globules of food on the curtains. The high uncontrollable temperature of the room, along with noisy guests in the corridor meant that we did not sleep well. Breakfast the next morning was extremely basic, and the breakfast room was overcrowded and with poor service from the staff. This is all such a shame, as this hotel has so much potential. It has a prime city centre location, only a 2 minute walk from Lime Street train station. The infrastructure of the building is beautiful, with an opulent ball room. However, this hotel is in desperate need of complete refurbishment and facelift, followed by massive recruitment of additional staff - only then will it be able to recapture it's former glory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Tony2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Buckshaw Village
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We attended the hotel for a one night stay. The windows upon arrival were very dirty, a very poor first impression. The whole of the hotel was tired. Stains on the seats in the American Bar, rude bar staff, stains on the upholstery in the room, no shower curtain/screen. Almost impossible to have a shore as the bath was in the middle of room and shower was handheld. Interestingly there was a dripping pipe directly into toilet?
Our mattress was also like lying on bricks.
It is such a shame that for such an impressive building, the hotel is let down by a lack of cleanliness and prehistoric furniture/ appliances.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May12234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When I walked in the Adelphi I felt like I had been transported back in time to post war Britain although a hotel that could be made into something good I was far from impressed. The room had dirt behind the bed that must have been from the hotel was built all in all I'd say for the money stay in a premier inn

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Well currently here and I am disgusted! Have booked in for one night and I can't wait for it to be over. Yes it looks beautiful from the outside and I do like old things but this is a complete joke - it's filthy, stunk of cigarettes even though we asked for a none smoking room ,dated and even the TV came out of another century! Just been moved to another room more this century probably circa 1980 with a modern tv- two plu sockets one working- other couldn't get a plug in it, bathroom dirty, never been cleaned under taps forever,glad its one night! It's sad really there's are some really old features, but it really needs some TLC the money they are taking I'm sure they could put into a refurb! I'm sure the staff much get abuse about the state of the place constantly- come on owners of Britannia start spending some of your money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle-upon tyne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

just returned from the Adelphi after a short break in Liverpool to celebrate a friends birthday,i had reviewed the hotel on trip advisor before i went and i must be honest a lot of the reviews were correct,for an iconic hotel such as this one (which incidentally is in a excellent location) the bedrooms are in dire need of upgrading,our rooms were around the back of the hotel on the 1st floor,directly in front of our bedroom window was a pitched roof from an extension to the hotel which included various bits of digusting rubbish ( dirty shoes,underwear,toothbrush,book food wrappers,empty pop bottles and shattered glass,needless to say we had no view at all ,the bathroom window had the same "view" but had a rather dingy curtain up to block out the clear glass in the window,however the room was clean (some rather horrible black marks on the carpet which were obvously unremoveable that did not look too, good) but for 2 days it didnt really matter that much to us as the beds and bathroom were clean.
Now,on the plus side,the evening meal in Jennies restuarant was excellent,very tasty ,plenty of choice and very good value for money as was the same for the breakfast so top marks to the chef,i found nearly all the staff friendly and helpful except one sour faced breakfast waitress and the same on reception,but hey you find that everywhere,also the function suites and the massive ship like lounge very elegant, such a shame about the rooms,but who knows maybe in time they will improve,would i return or possibly recommend this hotel,maybe,for what we paid for the weekend it was good value for money and i have stayed in worse in london and paid more money,so never say never.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blantyre
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and as with other reviews you do get what you pay for. Ok the hotel is very dated and in much need of TLC but the cost to put this establishment right would be beyond most.
Could I make one suggestion ,that the cooked breakfast be plated and served to your table and the cold buffet left on a serve yourself basis. This would stop greedy and inconsiderate customers leaving nothing for others and would give every customer a warm well presented breakfast ,this would also cut down on the waste.You can actually see the frustration on the faces of the staff when trying to replace on the hot servery.My only other real concern is the bar off the main hall where the sixties night took place,lack of stock,lack of selection ,lack of trays and lack of concern. Please put these points right and you may find that people will put up with the hotel not being at it's best , people skills are so important and this is where the Adelphi lets itself down. You can see the Adelphi at one time has been a grand hotel,in the current situation what would her forefathers think.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank agnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing