We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,771)
Filter reviews
6,771 results
Traveller rating
728
1,641
1,507
1,111
1,784
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
1,641
1,507
1,111
1,784
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3,926 - 3,931 of 6,771 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Britannia Adelphi hotel in Liverpool has seen better days. This once splendid hotel has unfortunately fallen into a poor state. On arrival, the 15 minute queue to check in and the fact that only one of the lifts was working resulted in an un-necessary delay before we found our room. The room itself was a good size, with nice clean bed linen and towels, although it was simply furnished. What let it down was the terribly dated bathroom with a linoleum floor and a shower straight out of a school gym changing room! Also, the bedroom window was cracked, and there appeared to be globules of food on the curtains. The high uncontrollable temperature of the room, along with noisy guests in the corridor meant that we did not sleep well. Breakfast the next morning was extremely basic, and the breakfast room was overcrowded and with poor service from the staff. This is all such a shame, as this hotel has so much potential. It has a prime city centre location, only a 2 minute walk from Lime Street train station. The infrastructure of the building is beautiful, with an opulent ball room. However, this hotel is in desperate need of complete refurbishment and facelift, followed by massive recruitment of additional staff - only then will it be able to recapture it's former glory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_Tony2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We attended the hotel for a one night stay. The windows upon arrival were very dirty, a very poor first impression. The whole of the hotel was tired. Stains on the seats in the American Bar, rude bar staff, stains on the upholstery in the room, no shower curtain/screen. Almost impossible to have a shore as the bath was in the middle of room and shower was handheld. Interestingly there was a dripping pipe directly into toilet?
Our mattress was also like lying on bricks.
It is such a shame that for such an impressive building, the hotel is let down by a lack of cleanliness and prehistoric furniture/ appliances.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May12234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When I walked in the Adelphi I felt like I had been transported back in time to post war Britain although a hotel that could be made into something good I was far from impressed. The room had dirt behind the bed that must have been from the hotel was built all in all I'd say for the money stay in a premier inn

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Well currently here and I am disgusted! Have booked in for one night and I can't wait for it to be over. Yes it looks beautiful from the outside and I do like old things but this is a complete joke - it's filthy, stunk of cigarettes even though we asked for a none smoking room ,dated and even the TV came out of another century! Just been moved to another room more this century probably circa 1980 with a modern tv- two plu sockets one working- other couldn't get a plug in it, bathroom dirty, never been cleaned under taps forever,glad its one night! It's sad really there's are some really old features, but it really needs some TLC the money they are taking I'm sure they could put into a refurb! I'm sure the staff much get abuse about the state of the place constantly- come on owners of Britannia start spending some of your money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

just returned from the Adelphi after a short break in Liverpool to celebrate a friends birthday,i had reviewed the hotel on trip advisor before i went and i must be honest a lot of the reviews were correct,for an iconic hotel such as this one (which incidentally is in a excellent location) the bedrooms are in dire need of upgrading,our rooms were around the back of the hotel on the 1st floor,directly in front of our bedroom window was a pitched roof from an extension to the hotel which included various bits of digusting rubbish ( dirty shoes,underwear,toothbrush,book food wrappers,empty pop bottles and shattered glass,needless to say we had no view at all ,the bathroom window had the same "view" but had a rather dingy curtain up to block out the clear glass in the window,however the room was clean (some rather horrible black marks on the carpet which were obvously unremoveable that did not look too, good) but for 2 days it didnt really matter that much to us as the beds and bathroom were clean.
Now,on the plus side,the evening meal in Jennies restuarant was excellent,very tasty ,plenty of choice and very good value for money as was the same for the breakfast so top marks to the chef,i found nearly all the staff friendly and helpful except one sour faced breakfast waitress and the same on reception,but hey you find that everywhere,also the function suites and the massive ship like lounge very elegant, such a shame about the rooms,but who knows maybe in time they will improve,would i return or possibly recommend this hotel,maybe,for what we paid for the weekend it was good value for money and i have stayed in worse in london and paid more money,so never say never.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveller078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews